Oxford LibGuides: Business &amp; Management: Getting Started

Finding books for business & management

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for business & management and printed books, including the main collection at the Sainsbury Library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit the books page of this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for business & management but you can find more information on the journals page of this guide.

Academy of Management Journal
A peer-reviewed academic journal covering all aspects of management. Published by the Academy of Management.
California Management Review
A quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal on management. Published at the University of California since 1958.
The Economist
An international weekly newspaper printed in magazine-format and online. It focuses on current affairs, international business, politics, and technology.
Harvard Business Review
A general management magazine, published by Harvard Business Publishing (a wholly owned subsidiary of Harvard University).
MIT Sloan Management Review
A peer -reviewed quarterly journal aimed at business executives, published at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for business and management below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

ABI/INFORM Global
- This link opens in a new window
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Includes The Wall Street Journal, The Economist and The Financial Times.
Alternative names: ABI Inform Global ; ABI Global Package

Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal.
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Business Source Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly business database, providing more than 1,200 scholarly business journals back to 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and videos.
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300+ journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Ultimate is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, 14,800+ case studies, investment research reports, 8,700+ industry reports, 2,400+ market research reports, 1,200+ country reports, 1,100,000+ company profiles/records, 5,400+ SWOT analyses, 140,000 Associated Press & business and economics videos, and more.
Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Mergent provides financial details of over 25,000 active and inactive global companies. It also has over 300,000 historical annual reports and executive profiles. It also includes the Investext analyst report collection, which provides research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses and consulting firms. Includes both current and historical reports.
Mergent provides financial details of over 25,000 active and inactive global companies. It also has over 300,000 historical annual reports and executive profiles
S&P Capital IQ Pro
- This link opens in a new window
S&P Capital IQ combines information on companies, markets, and people worldwide with tools for analysis, financial modelling, market analysis, screening, targeting, and relationship and workflow management. Extra username/password is required for this resource, please email library@sbs.ox.ac.uk for an account.
S&P Capital IQ Pro platform puts a world of information at your fingertips, allowing you to make strategic business decisions with conviction, speed, and laser-focused insight.
Wharton Research Data Services
- This link opens in a new window
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) is a cross-database financial research tool, developed by the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Individual accounts for WRDS are available for all members of the University of Oxford, and faculty can request the setup of classroom accounts for teaching purposes. Click on Account Request to request an account setup. Please email library@sbs.ox.ac.uk with any enquiries.
Subscription includes elements of Boardex, Compustat, CRSP, Execucomp, IBES, and IvyDB US (OptionMetrics).
Alternative name: WRDS

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) is a cross-database financial research tool, developed by the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Individual accounts for WRDS are available for all members of the University of Oxford, and faculty can request the setup of classroom accounts for teaching purposes. Click on Register to request an account setup. Please contact library@sbs.ox.ac.uk with any enquiries.
Subscription includes Boardex, Compustat, CRSP, Execucomp, IBES, IvyDB US (OptionMetrics), Mergent FISD, FTSE Russell, Refinitiv Insiders Data, Refinitiv Institutional Holdings, Refinitiv Mutual Fund Holdings, RepRisk, Reuters DealScan, SDC Mergers & Acquisitions and New Issues, and SNL Banking and FIG Data.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for databases at Oxford. You can filter by topic, language and more.

Bodleian Business Librarian

Hal Kirkwood

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

Sainsbury Library
Said Business School
University of Oxford

Subjects: Business, Business + Management Studies

For further help

Email:
library@sbs.ox.ac.uk

Phone:
+44(0)1865 288 880

Website:
www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/business

Video inductions:

https://libguides.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/sainsburylib -induction

Related guides

Key libraries

Sainsbury Library
The Sainsbury Library is Oxford University's main teaching and research business & management library.
Social Science Library
The Social Science Library (SSL) is one of the University of Oxford's busiest lending and reference libraries, supporting staff and students in the Social Sciences Division.

Business & Management: Getting Started

Purpose of this guide