Hot Topics: Megaprojects/Major Projects: Databases

Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal.

Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.

Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals and newsletters.

Search more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.

BMI provides country risks, market insights, analysis, and forecasts across 200+ markets and 20+industries. A bulk data export tool allows for downloading 15,000 indicators into Excel.

Replaces data formerly available in Fitch Connect.

EMIS delivers news, company and financial data direct from more than 70 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Africa. It gives emerging market specialists worldwide one-stop Internet access to mission-critical information straight from the local markets and from over 10,500 publications. Whether they are looking for current news, hard-to-get company and industry information, financial markets data or macroeconomic analysis, EMIS offers the definitive solution for convenient access of emerging markets business intelligence.

Updated daily, our sources are categorized, archived, indexed and fully searchable via a uniquely intuitive and customizable interface. Supporting 20 languages, the service is designed for speed and ease of use. Over 2250 institutional clients rely on EMIS every day to research companies, investigate industries and track developments that impact their business.

Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva's unrivalled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.

Factiva's innovative, XML-based and Web services-enabled technology platform provides access to this rich content collection via Factiva's role-specific products or through customized enterprise, group or personal solutions. Executives, information professionals, marketers, salespeople, and other professionals can easily monitor and understand the latest news, market trends, and business challenges relevant to them directly from the Microsoft Office and job-specific applications they use every day.

FAME is a database that contains information for companies in the UK and Ireland. FAME contains information on 3.4 million companies, 2.4 million of which are in a detailed format.

For the top 2.4 million companies the reports typically include: contact information including phone, e-mail and web addresses plus main and other trading addresses, activity details, 29 profit and loss account and 63 balance sheet items, cash flow and ratios, credit score and rating, security and price information (listed companies only), names of bankers, auditors, previous auditors and advisors, details of holdings and subsidiaries (including foreign holdings and subsidiaries), names of current and previous directors with home addresses and shareholder indicator, heads of department, shareholders, news plus access to the scanned image of the latest annual returns and reports. In addition to the existing ratios you can also create your own that you can display in the reports and also use in your searches and analyses.

FitchRatings PRO provides access to Fitch credit ratings data and research on over 20,000 entities and transactions. The database includes fundamental data and analytics on over 36,000 banks.

Replaces data formerly available in Fitch Connect.

Global Finaeon contains stock market, economic, and financial time-series data covering up to 200 countries and over 20,000 historical or current data series. Historic data includes stock markets from 1690, exchange rates from 1590, interest rates from 1700, commodities from 1500, and inflation from 1264. Data can be downloaded in ASCII or Excel formats.

GlobalData Explorer is a source for market research reports, analytics, products, and cities across an array of industries. Profiling major companies, industries, and geographies. Emphasis is on major industry sectors.

This database contains annual reports for over 800 US companies (1844-current), which are available through searchable pdf images. The collection includes digital reproductions of over 1.3 million pages found in more than 43,000 reports. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date.

IBISWorld is a market research database providing access to both UK and global industry reports. Also includes Canada Industry Reports (NAICS).

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

Originally conceived as a project at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR began as an effort to ease the increasing problems faced by libraries seeking to provide adequate shelf space for the long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Mergent provides financial details of over 25,000 active and inactive global companies. It also has over 300,000 historical annual reports and executive profiles

UK database of market reports in key areas of retail, leisure and finance.

The news coverage offered by Nexis UK - Global news and business information service has over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data. The complete, fully customisable, online news and business research service bringing together in a single source, all news, financial and business information licensed by LexisNexis for the academic market from around the globe.

Main Economic Indicators

The OECD produces annual, quarterly and monthly data for around 3,800 economic indicators. The variables cover national accounts, industrial production, employment, prices, business trends and trade. The dataset also includes the OECD's leading indicators (key variables that signal changes in the business cycle). Runs from January 1960 to the current month.

OECD Structural Analysis (STAN)

This portfolio includes four databases each useful at different units of analyses. The STAN indicatorsÆ industry list is based upon ISIC revision 3 and covers 65 sectors where detailed information varies across country, indicator, and coverage: STAN fills the gap between Industrial survey data (microdata) and National level aggregate statistics (macrodata). You can use STAN to analyse industrial structure and the evolution of industrial performance (e.g. import penetration, investment per employee, export market shares) within and across countries. The databases are updated on an annual basis and run from 1970 onwards.

OECD National Accounts

The OECD National Accounts presents a series of databases all containing data related to national accounts and its components including comparable statistics for key indicators. Countries covered vary but generally include OECD countries and a select group of non-OECD countries. The database is updated on a quarterly and annual basis and runs from 1955.

Main Science and Technology Indicators

The 149 Main Science and Technology Indicators provides final or provisional results and government forecasts covering such topics as resources devoted to research and development, patent families, the technology balance of payments, and international trade in highly Research and Development intensive industries.

Measuring Globalisation 2001

The Measuring Globalisation Statistics database contains figures on foreign affiliates (inward investment) by investing country in the manufacturing sector covering variable

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics. It is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data with online access provided for all publications and statistics released since 1998.

The iLibrary covers 17 key themes including development, economics, governance, trade and social issues, migration and health. As of March 2013 content includes 5 billion data points across 42 databases; 44,630 tables and graphs; 8,330 ebook titles; 30,280 chapters; and 1,920 key tables.

Please note that we do not have access to IEA statistics through OECD iLibrary.

Alternative name: Formerly known as Zephyr.
 

ZEPHYR is a database of M&A, IPO and venture capital deals, with pan-European transactions dating back to 1997 and US deals from 2001.

Oxford Reference Online brings together over 450 reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. It includes English and bilingual dictionaries, English grammar and usage guides, quotations and subject-specific reference works.

It is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-colour maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies.

Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) is an integrated online information system providing business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It includes statistics, full market reports and comment on emerging industry, country and consumer trends.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes content from PQDT UK & Ireland (aka Index to Theses) with abstracts going back to 1716.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

PsycINFO provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier. Dissertations constitute approximately 12% of the database. APA is currently adding approximately 8,100,000 references annually through weekly updates.

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Retail Insight (formerly Planet Retail) is provided by a leading retail analyst firm, and provides global insight, analysis, news and data covering more than 9,000 retail operations across 211 markets.

If you are outside the University network or on Eduroam, please use the VPN for access.

Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.

Elsevier's full-text platform, ScienceDirect, now offers over a quarter of the world's STM (Science, Technical and Medical) articles integrated with a growing range of authoritative books, including reference works, handbooks and book series.

More than 2,000 journals and hundreds of books from Elsevier are available on Science Direct.

Archive of social science papers including legal papers.

Viewing papers on the SSRN website does not require registration. You can register an account on SSRN using an .ox.ac.uk email address to subscribe to eJournals for email alerts in the following networks:

• Economics Research Network
• Financial Economics Network
• Legal Scholarship Network
• Management Research Network

Alternative name: WRDS
 

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) is a cross-database financial research tool, developed by the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Individual accounts for WRDS are available for all members of the University of Oxford, and faculty can request the setup of classroom accounts for teaching purposes. Click on Register to request an account setup. Please contact library@sbs.ox.ac.uk with any enquiries.

Subscription includes Boardex, Compustat, CRSP, Execucomp, IBES, IvyDB US (OptionMetrics), Mergent FISD, FTSE Russell, Refinitiv Insiders Data, Refinitiv Institutional Holdings, Refinitiv Mutual Fund Holdings, RepRisk, Reuters DealScan, SDC Mergers & Acquisitions and New Issues, and SNL Banking and FIG Data.