This guide is intended as a resource for students and researchers studying Global Healthcare Leadership at Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
This guide contains:
| Books and e-books on global healthcare leadership | Databases for global healthcare research |
|---|---|
|
A selection of titles from the Bodleian Libraries' collections which explore some of the key themes and issues in global healthcare leadership:
See also the Healthcare Management Collection in Business Expert Press, or search the library catalogue SOLO for further resources. |
Links to a range of databases useful for researching and staying up-to-date with the latest insights in the healthcare field from around the world. These are listed under the following headings:
For a full list of business and management databases, visit the Databases tab. |
Leading and Managing Healthcare by
This textbook has been created to support the journey from emerging registered healthcare professional through to becoming a competent frontline care setting manager. It considers the seminal theories and research into leadership and management and places them firmly into the healthcare context providing the reader with thorough and robust guidance in the application of the knowledge base in the subject area.Key features: Integration of theory and practice using Action Points and case studies throughout Includes perspectives from a wide range of healthcare settings and professional groups Each chapter includes ′Guidance on good practice′ showing what high-quality care and effective change looks like Written by a vastly experienced author, practitioner and educator, this latest book from Neil Gopee is essential reading for nursing, health and social care students taking modules on leadership, management and transition to practice in their final year. It is also ideal for newly qualified professionals or those moving into band 5 or 6 roles with managerial responsibilities.
Improving Financial and Operations Performance: A Healthcare Leader's Guide by
The increasing pressure on the bottom line of healthcare provider organizations requires leaders who understand and can adeptly apply the basic principles of effective financial and operations management. To be successful in today's environment leaders must simultaneously improve quality and service while reducing expense. Improving Financial and Operations Performance: A Healthcare Leader's Guide is a collection of proven effective tips, tools, and techniques accumulated from real-world challenges and lessons learned logically organized to provide a straightforward approach to planning, assessing, managing, and monitoring a business enterprise to improve profitability. This book provides a clear, step-by-step how to approach for both new and experienced leaders seeking a leg up in tackling the myriad of common and complex challenges they are facing including conducting a budget variance analysis, managing labor and non-labor productivity and expense, performing a comprehensive financial condition analysis, growing profitable volume and market share, developing an effective business case for improving quality, and evaluating the financial impact of a future project. Written for clinical and administrative leaders working in the trenches, it provides practical and applicable tools with relevant, real-world, and replicable case study examples. The essential value of Improving Financial and Operations Performance: A Healthcare Leader's Guide is improving decision-making effectiveness, enhancing operations efficiency know-how, and developing strong financial management acumen to overcome the challenges in today's healthcare environment.Key Features: Author experience with extensive expertise as a former investor-owned hospital CEO, integrated health system vice president, managing director for the renowned turnaround experts, the Hunter Group, and graduate business school professor in management, finance, and economics.Realistic case examples to apply the key lessons through detailed practical and relevant case studies using clear step-by-step instructions.Calls-to-action at the end of each chapter with critical leadership imperatives to help prioritize and focus efforts on what matters most.Comprehensive glossary of key terms and concepts using plain easy to understand language.Appendices and Excel templates containing easy-to-use plug-and-play financial worksheets, checklists, best practice pathways, and performance assessments.eBook access purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers.
Essentials of Strategic Planning in Healthcare by
An organization may know its current situation down to the last pack of gauze or vial of insulin - but does it know what's in its future? Successful healthcare strategic planning not only needs to measure how well a hospital or health system is currently performing but also must anticipate what lies ahead. Essentials of Strategic Planning in Healthcare is a complete guide to developing and implementing a strategic plan. Starting with an examination of leadership's role in strategic planning and the impact of organizational culture, the book then explores the essential techniques, tools, and data for developing a strategic plan and recommends strategic planning initiatives across the continuum of healthcare services. Taking a futurist perspective, author Jeffrey P. Harrison acknowledges the constant changes in regulatory and quality requirements and the evolving healthcare innovations that strategic planning must consider. A comprehensive case study woven throughout the book allows readers to assume the role of strategic planners and apply what they are learning to the entire strategic planning process. This revised edition includes insight into the modern healthcare system and an exploration of trends in mergers and acquisitions, system growth, and value-based care. Additional updates include: Current data on healthcare spending, hospital statistics, healthcare employment, and the use of healthcare technology; New content on the use of artificial intelligence and big data in healthcare, as well as the benefits of block chain technology; Coverage of future advances in healthcare, including genomics and Medicare for All; Expanded marketing content, including the latest trends in websites, digital outlets, and social mediaIn addition to study questions and practical exercises in each chapter that are linked to the book's case study, this edition also offers online exercises to expand students' learning. Incorporating the latest developments with best practices, this book aims to be the primary resource for university courses in healthcare strategic planning.
Becoming the Change: Leadership Behavior Strategies for Continuous Improvement in Healthcare by
Two renowned experts in healthcare transformation show how leaders are implementing behavior-driven strategies to ensure quality care and create lasting change. Healthcare is in the midst of a massive disruption. With financial structures in tatters and the future uncertain, this is the moment to begin the revolution. But first, leaders need to learn how to support staff at all levels as they make transformational improvements in care. This book demonstrates that real change is very personal and has to start at the top - whether you're an executive, governing board member, manager, or physician. A powerful new approach to healthcare leadership, this book showcases executives in health systems around the world as they: Practice behavior-based solutions to organizational problems; Learn how to support continuous improvement; Be more present in their leadership role; Learn how to reflect and assess themselves as leaders; Achieve better results for patients. Drawing on a wealth of behavioral research, industry case studies, and personal insights from healthcare professionals, the authors explore how change actually happens--from the inside out, top to bottom, throughout the whole organization. You'll learn how healthcare systems led by people who are compassionate, principled, and engaged can undergo profound and lasting transformation. Find proven strategies for cultivating principle-driven behaviors that can turn the remotest possibilities on the healthcare horizon into a new working reality. This is more than a leadership guide to revolutionizing healthcare. This is about being a force for change that makes life better for patients, caregivers, and all stakeholders. If you want to take the lead in making change happen, start with Becoming the Change.
Health Services Planning by
The third edition of Health Services Planning represents a necessary revision of the second edition (2003) and reflects the significant changes that have occurred in the social and health environments, the healthcare field, and the planning endeavor itself. The book reviews the history of health planning (with reference to activities in other countries) before describing the process from start to finish in great detail. The philosophy underlying health planning and its perception, past and present, are reviewed with a particular emphasis on the factors that are making health planning more relevant than ever. The steps in the health services planning process are reviewed and supported by how-to guidance, examples of planning applications, and planning case studies. The various levels and types of planning are described (societal, community, organizational; strategic, business, marketing), and the similarities and differences discussed. New and updated chapters in this edition cover the planning requirements introduced through the Affordable Care Act, the rethinking of the community health needs assessment process, and the implications of the population health movement for health planning: The Social and Health Systems Context for Health Services Planning The Changing Environment for Health Planning The New Community Assessment Process From Community Health Needs Assessment to Population Health Assessment Health Services Planning, 3rd Ed., remains a critical resource for health administration programs, as well as an essential publication for health professionals in both public and private sector healthcare organizations that need to have an understanding of the planning process.
Governing Global Health : who runs the world and why? by
The past few decades have seen a massive increase in the number of international organizations focusing on global health. Campaigns to eradicate or stem the spread of AIDS, SARS, malaria, and Ebola attest to the increasing importance of globally-oriented health organizations. Theseorganizations may be national, regional, international, or even non-state organizations - like Medicins Sans Frontieres. One of the more important recent trends in global health governance, though, has been the rise of public-private partnerships (PPPs) where private non-governmental organizations,for-profit enterprises, and various other social entrepreneurs work hand-in-hand with governments to combat specific maladies. A primary driver for this development is the widespread belief that by joining together, PPPs will attack health problems and fund shared efforts more effectively than othersystems.As Chelsea Clinton and Devi Sridhar show in Governing Global Health, these partnerships are not only important for combating infectious diseases; they also provide models for developing solutions to a host of other serious global health challenges and questions beyond health. But what do we actuallyknow about the accountability and effectiveness of PPPs in relation to the traditional multilaterals? According to Clinton and Sridhar, we have known very little because scholars have not accumulated enough data or developed effective ways to assess them - until now. In their analysis, theyuncovered both strength and weaknesses of the model. Using principal-agent theory in which governments are the principals directing international agents of various type, they take a closer look at two major PPPs-the Global Fund to Fight HIV/AIDS, TB and Malaria and the GAVI Alliance - and two majormore traditional international organizations - the World Health Organization and the World Bank.An even-handed and thorough empirical analysis of one of the most pressing topics in world affairs, Governing Global Health will reshape our understanding of how organizations can more effectively prevent the spread of communicable diseases like AIDS and reduce pervasive chronic health problems likemalnutrition.
Challenging Perspectives on Organizational Change in Health Care by
This volume provides theory and research on organizational change and predominantly features the application of these ideas to the health care domain, broadly defined. It addresses enduring issues in advancing to an effective health care system. The aim of this book is to offer an accessible and readable text aimed at provoking thought and questioning, and aiding creativity. It proffers arguments and ideas which are firmly based in empirical data and evidence, so that the reader may make informed personal evaluations. This book is designed to furnish a comprehensive theoretical basis for understanding organizational change in health care, as well as selected core issues of contemporary and future importance to the provision of effective care within sustainable systems. A series of coherent themes are addressed throughout the book from differing perspectives. However, every chapter has been written to standalone and be read independently. Each offers resources relevant to its' focal topic, in the form of references, case studies and critique. Setting out a future research agenda, the book will be vital reading for organizational change researchers and practitioners in the healthcare industry.
Governing Global Health : challenge, response, innovation by
Recently global health issues have leapt to the forefront of the international agenda and are now an everyday concern around the world. The war for global health is clearly being lost on many fronts and the massive body count is mounting fast. Re-emerging diseases such as polio and tuberculosis, long thought to be on the verge of elimination, are now coupled with the devastation of newly emerging ones such as SARS and avian influenza. In addition, the shock of bioterrorism has given a tragic poignancy to the importance of studying the failure of the global health governance system. Compiled by renowned specialists, this volume studies the global challenges and responses to these issues, as well as the roles of central institutions such as the World Health Organization, the World Trade Organization and the G8. Health practitioners and clinicians seeking a context for their front-line care provision, as well as scholars and students of global health issues, will find the volume highly valuable.
Improving Healthcare Management at the Top by
This book, based on case studies in the healthcare sector, reveals a working strategy that explores a well-kept secret of top management: that a more balanced gender distribution on the boards of healthcare organizations results in an improvement of the organization's overall performance. Organizational success for healthcare institutions depends in part on insuring that an organization's management team possesses and reflects key characteristics that can predict that success. By further linking these characteristics to gender, the research suggests that it is reasonable to assume that an increased if not dominant presence of females on boards will lead to improved performance. In this evolving world environment of an aging population coupled with funding constraints that are applied to healthcare organizations based on performance, healthcare organizations' top management and researchers will find this book a must read. A new perspective emerges as a practical solution for the healthcare organization's survival.
The Handbook of Global Health Policy by
The Handbook of Global Health Policy provides a definitive source of the key areas in the field. It examines the ethical and practical dimensions of new and current policy models and their effect on the future development of global health and policy. Maps out key debates and policy structures involved in all areas of global health policy Isolates and examines new policy initiatives in global health policy Provides an examination of these initiatives that captures both the ethical/critical as well as practical/empirical dimensions involved with global health policy, global health policy formation and its implications Confronts the theoretical and practical questions of 'who gets what and why' and 'how, when and where?' Captures the views of a wide array of scholars and practitioners, including from low- and middle-income countries, to ensure an inclusive view of current policy debates
The checklist manifesto: How to get things right by
Today we find ourselves in possession of stupendous know-how, which we willingly place in the hands of the most highly skilled and hard-working people. Yet avoidable failures are common, and the reason is simple: the volume and complexity of our knowledge has exceeded our ability to consistently deliver it to people correctly, safely or efficiently. Atul Gawande makes a compelling argument for the checklist, which he believes to be the most promising strategy in surmounting failure. He looks at how the checklist has allowed pilots to fly airplanes with more power and range than possible before; and how taking this idea to the complicated world of surgery produced a 90-second checklist that reduced surgical deaths and complications in eight hospitals around the world by more than one-third. Along the way, he will show how checklists (which cost next to nothing) actually work, and why some make matters worse while others make matters better. The Checklist is a fascinating exploration on the nature of complexity in our lives and how we can best overcome it.
Making Sense of Global Health Governance by
The Millennium ushered in renewed interest and investment in global health, in part because of concerns that globalization would intensify the risks of ill-health. But are we taking advantage of emerging opportunities? This book shines a light on the central actors, institutions and mechanisms involved and proposes an agenda for meaningful action.
Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions by
Where Evidence-Based Practice Meets InnovationHealthcare organizations require both innovation and evidence-based practice to build systems that will support the future of improved care. Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions, Second Edition addresses the core competencies and behaviors required to be an innovative leader. This text fulfills the market need for an advanced practice resource focused on how to address new and emerging sources of evidence-based practice that can inform, translate and scale the complexity of leading innovation in healthcare organizations. The Second Edition has been heavily revised and updated to refine the focus on leadership of innovation and place less foundational focus on evidence-based practice process. In addition to a strong revision to the organization and updated content, this unique text features three new chapters discussing workarounds as a source of innovation, performance improvement leadership vs. innovation methodology and the use of evidence in both, and a technology primer for nusing leaders.Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions, Second Edition takes a patient-centered approach, discusses the perspectives on the dynamic of innovation and evidence as well as emerging competencies for leaders of healthcare innovation. To address the core competencies the text is expertly organized into four sections: Section 1 Addresses the current landscape of evidence in innovation, Section 2 Examines new sources of evidence including technology and big data, Section 3 Discusses strategies for measuring innovation at a variety of system levels, and Section 4 Provides strategies to synthesize and disseminate evidence to advance innovation in healthcare.
Agile Implementation: a model for implementing evidence-based healthcare solutions into real-world practice to achieve sustainable change by
Agile Implementation describes the underlying theories and frameworks that explain health delivery systems and lays out the 8 steps of the Agile Implementation Model founded by Malaz Boustani, MD, MPH and Jose Azar, MD. In today's complex healthcare environment, implementing evidence-based care into real-world practices is difficult and time consuming. Even methods that are known to be effective allow for limited flexibility and therefore fail as often as they succeed. Through much study and experimentation, Malaz Boustani, MD, MPH, Jose Azar, MD, and Craig A. Solid, PhD have come to understand how individuals' interactions within the complex social systems of hospitals, clinics, and other care delivery organizations shape the decisions and behaviors of those involved. Upon this foundation and through leveraging theories of behavioral economics, we have developed the Agile Implementation Model, a process for selecting, adapting, implementing, evaluating, sustaining, and scaling evidence-based healthcare interventions. This model acknowledges the uniqueness of each individual facility and considers individuals within the system to be semiautonomous but interconnected. In tandem with illustrative examples, Agile Implementation describes the underlying theories and frameworks that explain health delivery systems and lays out the 8 steps of the Agile Implementation Model. Upon completing Agile Implementation, readers have a better understanding of why certain quality initiatives succeed while others fail and have tangible, actionable tools for implementing effective and sustainable change in the healthcare setting.
How to Implement Evidence-Based Healthcare by
British Medical Association Book Award Winner - President's Award of the Year 2018 From the author of the bestselling introduction to evidence-based medicine, this brand new title makes sense of the complex and confusing landscape of implementation science, the role of research impact, and how to avoid research waste. How to Implement Evidence-Based Healthcare clearly and succinctly demystifies the implementation process, and explains how to successfully apply evidence-based healthcare to practice in order to ensure safe and effective practice. Written in an engaging and practical style, it includes frameworks, tools and techniques for successful implementation and behavioural change, as well as in-depth coverage and analysis of key themes and topics with a focus on: Groups and teams Organisations Patients Technology Policy Networks and systems How to Implement Evidence-Based Healthcare is essential reading for students, clinicians and researchers focused on evidence-based medicine and healthcare, implementation science, applied healthcare research, and those working in public health, public policy, and management.
Knowledge to Action? by
Health services can and should be improved by applying research findings about best practice. Yet, in Knolwedge to Action?, the authors explore why it nevertheless proves notoriously difficult to implement change based on research evidence in the face of strong professional views and complexorganizational structures.The book draws on a large body of evidence acquired in the course of nearly fifty in-depth case studies, following attempts to introduce evidence-based practice in the UK NHS over more than a decade. Using qualitative methods to study hospital and primary care settings, they are able to shed lighton why some of these attempts succeeded where others faltered. By opening up the intricacies and complexities of change in the NHS, they reveal the limitations of the simplistic approaches to implementing research or introducing evidence-based health care.A unique synthesis of evidence, the book brings together data from 1,400 interviews with doctors, nurses, and managers, as well as detailed observations and documentary analysis. The authors provide an analysis, rooted in a range of theoretical perspectives, that underlines the intimate linksbetween organizational structures and cultures and the utilization of knowledge, and draws conclusions which will be of significance for other areas of public management. Their findings have implications for the utlization of knowledge in situations where there is a professional tradition workingwithin a politically sensitive blend of public service, managerial accountability, and technical expertise.Knowledge to Action? will be of interest to Academics, Researchers, and Advanced Students of Organizational Behaviour, Public and Health Management, and Evidence-Based Medicine; and also of particular interest to Practitioners, Clinicians, and Public Health Managers concerned with implementingchange to clinical practice.
Evidence-Based Public Health by
There are at least three ways in which a public health program or policy may not reach stated goals for success:1) Choosing an intervention approach whose effectiveness is not established in the scientific literature2) Selecting a potentially effective program or policy yet achieving only weak, incomplete implementation or "reach," thereby failing to attain objectives;3) Conducting an inadequate or incorrect evaluation that results in a lack of generalizable knowledge on the effectiveness of a program or policy4) Paying inadequate attention to adapting an intervention to the population and context of interestTo enhance evidence-based practice, this book addresses all four possibilities and attempts to provide practical guidance on how to choose, carry out, and evaluate evidence-based programs and policies in public health settings. It also begins to address a fifth, overarching need for a highly trainedpublic health workforce.This book deals not only with finding and using scientific evidence, but also with implementation and evaluation of interventions that generate new evidence on effectiveness. Because all these topics are broad and require multi-disciplinary skills and perspectives, each chapter covers the basicissues and provides multiple examples to illustrate important concepts. In addition, each chapter provides links to the diverse literature and selected websites for readers wanting more detailed information. An indispensable volume for professionals, students, and researchers in the public healthsciences and preventative medicine, this new and updated edition of Evidence-Based Public Health aims to bridge research and evidence with policies and the practice of public health.
Preventable: How a Pandemic Changed the World & How to Stop the Next One by
Professor Devi Sridhar has risen to prominence for her vital roles in communicating science to the public and speaking truth to power. In Preventable she highlights lessons learned from outbreaks past and present in a narrative that traces the COVID-19 pandemic - including her personal experience as a scientist - and sets out a vision for how we can better protect ourselves from the inevitable health crises to come.In gripping and heartfelt prose, Sridhar exposes the varied realities of those affected and puts you in the room with key decision makers at crucial moments. She vibrantly conveys the twists and turns of a plot that saw: deadlier variants emerge (contrary to the predictions of social media pundits who argued it would mutate to a milder form); countries with weak health systems like Senegal and Vietnam fare better than countries like the US and UK (which were consistently ranked as the most prepared); and the quickest development of game-changing vaccines in history (and their unfair distribution).
Navigating the Healthcare Workforce Shortage: How to Safeguard Your Organization's Most Important Asset by
Healthcare organizations have been beset by a series of harrowing storms. Environmental, market, and demographic conditions had already caused a significant workforce shortage when the COVID-19 pandemic added unprecedented challenges to the mix. Healthcare leaders cannot simply hope the storm will pass but must tackle these issues today. Navigating the Healthcare Workforce Shortage: How to Safeguard Your Organization's Most Important Asset provides simple, practical, and proven strategies for healthcare leaders to address one of the biggest workforce shortages in recent history. The ideas and plans presented are built on real-life examples of organizations that have successfully overcome their workforce challenges. Authors Tresha Moreland and Lori Wightman identify six key levers that healthcare leaders can use to address workforce shortages in their organization. The book delves deeply into the new problems posed by the COVID-19 pandemic and the creativity needed to persevere through them. The six levers covered in this book are: Strengthening organizational resiliency Shaping a better workplace culture Improving employee retention rates Aligning care quality and organizational effectiveness Taking control of internal and external recruitment strategies Preparing the workforce for the future Confronting the healthcare workforce shortage will not be easy. But with some creative thinking, new approaches, and a commitment to change, healthcare organizations can experience a smoother voyage through the storm.
The Tracks We Leave: Ethics and management of dilemmas in healthcare by
Now more than ever, ethical management in healthcare requires more than just a commitment to 'doing the right thing.' It requires the ability to analyze highly complex situations in a volatile environment, to address the myriad needs and concerns of patients and other stakeholders, to thoughtfully evaluate diverse courses of action, and ultimately to choose the right path when the moral 'rules' are not always clear. The Tracks We Leave: Ethics and Management Dilemmas in Healthcare, now in its third edition, provides guidance for current and future healthcare managers as they confront the ethical challenges of their day-to-day work. Structured around a series of real-life cases, the book explores the ethical implications of such topics as: Medical errors; Conflicts of interest; Sexual harassment and gender discrimination; Physician impairment; Emergency preparedness; Workforce reductions; End-of-life decisions. Through a host of relevant, timely scenarios and thought-provoking essays, the book examines ethics as a leadership imperative, describes organizational policies and infrastructure components that support an ethical culture, and presents a framework for ethical analysis that is both comprehensive and pragmatic.
Human: Solving the Global Workforce Crisis in Healthcare by
By 2030, the world will be short of approximately 15 million health workers - a fifth of the workforce needed to keep healthcare systems going. Global healthcare leader and award-winning author, Dr Mark Britnell, uses his unique insights from advising governments, executives, and clinicians inmore than 70 countries, to present solutions to this impending crisis.Human: Solving the Global Workforce Crisis in Healthcare, calls for a reframing of the global debate about health and national wealth, and invites us to deal with this problem in new and adaptive ways that drive economic and human prosperity. Harnessing technology, it asks us to reimagine new modelsof care and levels of workforce agility.Drawing on experiences ranging from the world's most advanced hospitals to revolutionary new approaches in India and Africa, Dr Mark Britnell makes it clear what works - and what does not. Short and concise, this book gives a truly global perspective on the fundamental workforce issues facing healthsystems today.
Challenges and Opportunities in Health Care Management by
This contributed volume draws a vital picture of the health care sector, which, like no other is affected by technology push and stakeholder pull. Innovative product and service solutions emerge, which have to integrate different stakeholders' interests. This book studies current challenges in health care management from different perspectives. Research articles analyze the situation in the health care sector and present solutions in the following areas: the health care system; hospitals; teams in health care; patients' perspectives; assessment of technologies and innovations; and toolkits for organizing health care. All these contributions summarize pressing hot topics in the health care sector, analyze their future potential, and derive managerial implications. Outstanding best practices throughout Europe are presented in the case study section of the book. Consequently, the book closes the gap between science and practical application by addressing not only readers from academia but also practitioners working in the health care industry.
Design Innovation for Health and Medicine by
Design Innovation for Health and Medicine offers an innovative approach for solving complex healthcare issues. In this book, three design experts examine a range of case studies to explain how design is used in health and medicine--exploring issues such as diverse patient needs, an ageing population and the impact of globalisation on disease. These case studies, along with high-profile industry projects conducted by the authors over the past decade, inform a novel framework for designing and implementing innovative solutions in this context. The book aims to assist designers, medical engineers, clinicians and researchers to shape the next era of healthcare.
Digital Innovation for Healthcare in COVID-19 Pandemic: Strategies and Solutions by
Digital Innovation for Healthcare in COVID-19 Pandemic: Strategies and Solutions provides comprehensive knowledge and insights on the application of information technologies in the healthcare sector, sharing experiences from leading researchers and academics from around the world. The book presents innovative ideas, solutions and examples to deal with one of the major challenges of the world, a global problem with health, economic and political dimensions. Advanced information technologies can play a key role in solving problems generated by the COVID-19 outbreak. The book addresses how science, technology and innovation can provide advances and solutions to new global health challenges. This is a valuable resource for researchers, clinicians, healthcare workers, policymakers and members of the biomedical field who are interested in learning how digital technologies can help us avoid and solve global disease dissemination.
Health Innovation and Social Justice in Brazil by
This book examines the construction of an innovation system in Brazil's health industries over the past twenty years. The authors argue that the system has remained active despite the crisis that began in 2014. However, while this crisis has led to cuts in public spending on research and health, it has simultaneously tended to stimulate local production and invention aimed at reducing deficits in the trade in medicines and medical technologies. The contributors highlight a model combining the acquisition of new technologies with social justice and the right to health, and introduce new concepts of the "nationalization" of technologies, innovation through copying and civil society regulation of industrial property and of the medicinal drug market.
Reconfiguring Global Health Innovation by
Reconfiguring Global Health Innovation presents the findings of multi-year research, contrasting experiences of different latecomer countries in building health innovation systems to cater to local needs. It analyses the emerging industrial structures in health innovation as more and more latecomer countries are foraying into what is a highly difficult and technologically intensive sector, with the aim of finding ways and means to balance these promising developments with public health needs worldwide. The bookpresents empirical findings from six countries across Asia and Africa on health innovation, namely, India, Bangladesh, Vietnam, Kenya, Tanzania and Nigeria. The book concludes that the growth of knowledge and the accumulation of capabilities influence the ability of a country to generate wealth.
Health Informatics: Translating Information into Innovation by
This book is the first to approach healthcare informatics from the perspective of innovation. Drawing on the unique pairing of information and innovation, it offers an analysis to help readers rethink information technology, knowledge management, interprofessional collaboration and the generation of wisdom in the context of healthcare. The concept of "translational" research stems from the medical and health sciences, and features bidirectional and recursive information-generation processes involving bed-to-bench and bench-to-bed approaches. Based partly on this, translational systems science has become a new trend within systems sciences, motivated by the need for practical applications that help people by offering holistic systems solutions for complex ideas. Today, numerous innovations are emerging in diversified clinical practices, and there has been a remarkable convergence of new technologies in disciplines like genome therapy, immunotherapy, iPS cells, imaging diagnosis, personalized medicine, molecular targeted drugs, surgical robots, and remote nursing. Innovation is also occurring in health management fields, including health records, insurance reimbursement methods, quality control, and safety. In these areas, big data and machine learning are accelerating innovation. Behind these innovations are the creation, sharing, bridging, and translation of data, information, knowledge, and wisdom, and as such health informatics is critical in promoting health innovations. The book explores the horizons of health informatics, introducing cutting-edge practical cases and theoretical frameworks, including but not limited to fields such as big data, machine learning, drug discovery, interprofessional collaboration, electronic health records, robotics, telenursing, quality improvement, and safety.
Managing Innovation in Healthcare by
Across the world, the demands placed on health systems are growing rapidly. Developed countries face the challenge of providing services to an ageing population with changing health needs, while countries with developing health systems must find ways of ensuring their populations are provided with access to healthcare. Innovative thinking is essential to meet these twin challenges, but innovation is both a cause and cure of many struggles in healthcare -- we need it, but it is hard to manage and the introduction of new technology can lead to higher costs.Using real-life examples and case studies from around the world, this book introduces the latest thinking on understanding and managing healthcare innovation more effectively. It does this from the perspective of governments responsible for shaping health policy, healthcare organisations providing services and juggling competing demands, and from the perspective of the industries that supply the new drugs, devices and other technologies.Managing Innovation in Healthcare is the perfect accompaniment for MSc, PhD and MBA students on health policy, management and public health courses, as well as managers, consultants and policy makers involved in healthcare services in both the public and private sector.
The Innovator's Prescription: a Disruptive Solution for Health Care by
A groundbreaking prescription for health care reform--from a legendary leader in innovation . . . Our health care system is in critical condition. Each year, fewer Americans can afford it, fewer businesses can provide it, and fewer government programs can promise it for future generations. We need a cure, and we need it now. Harvard Business School's Clayton M. Christensen--whose bestselling The Innovator's Dilemma revolutionized the business world--presents The Innovator's Prescription, a comprehensive analysis of the strategies that will improve health care and make it affordable. Christensen applies the principles of disruptive innovation to the broken health care system with two pioneers in the field--Dr. Jerome Grossman and Dr. Jason Hwang. Together, they examine a range of symptoms and offer proven solutions. YOU'LL DISCOVER HOW "Precision medicine" reduces costs and makes good on the promise of personalized care Disruptive business models improve quality, accessibility, and affordability by changing the way hospitals and doctors work Patient networks enable better treatment of chronic diseases Employers can change the roles they play in health care to compete effectively in the era of globalization Insurance and regulatory reforms stimulate disruption in health care
The Digital Pill by
Information technology is changing healthcare in numerous wide-ranging aspects, including significantly improving the overall quality of patient care and therefore helping to reduce limitations in people's daily lives. The Digital Pillreflects on how digital technologies can combat chronic diseases including diabetes, cancer, cardiovascular, respiratory and neurodegenerative diseases as well as mental disorders. Chronic diseases touch every family, generate infinite suffering and cause the lion's share of every countries' healthcare spending across the world. The authors carefully study a broad selection of contemporary companies and healthcare organizations that are shaping digital healthcare. They report pioneering cases from large and small technology, insurance, and pharmaceutical companies as well as healthcare providers of all sorts across the globe and bring forward patterns and corner stones of an affordable and patient centric digital healthcare. The Digital Pillis essential reading for anyone working in, engaged with or interested in understanding the future of healthcare.
Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning in Public Healthcare by
This book discusses and evaluates AI and machine learning (ML) algorithms in dealing with challenges that are primarily related to public health. It also helps find ways in which we can measure possible consequences and societal impacts by taking the following factors into account: open public health issues and common AI solutions (with multiple case studies, such as TB and SARS: COVID-19), AI in sustainable health care, AI in precision medicine and data privacy issues. Public health requires special attention as it drives economy and education system. COVID-19 is an example--a truly infectious disease outbreak. The vision of WHO is to create public health services that can deal with abovementioned crucial challenges by focusing on the following elements: health protection, disease prevention and health promotion. For these issues, in the big data analytics era, AI and ML tools/techniques have potential to improve public health (e.g., existing healthcare solutions and wellness services). In other words, they have proved to be valuable tools not only to analyze/diagnose pathology but also to accelerate decision-making procedure especially when we consider resource-constrained regions.
AI in Health: a leader's guide to winning in the new age of intelligent health systems by
We are in the early stages of the next big platform shift in healthcare computing. Fueled by Artificial Intelligence (AI) and the Cloud, this shift is already transforming the way health and medical services are provided. As the industry transitions from static digital repositories to intelligent systems, there will be winners and losers in the race to innovate and automate the provision of services. Critical to success will be the role leaders play in shaping the use of AI to be less "artificial" and more "intelligent" in support of improving processes to deliver care and keep people healthy and productive across all care settings. This book defines key technical, process, people, and ethical issues that need to be understood and addressed in successfully planning and executing an enterprise-wide AI plan. It provides clinical and business leaders with a framework for moving organizations from the aspiration to execution of intelligent systems to improve clinical, operational, and financial performance.
Deep Medicine : how artificial intelligence can make healthcare human again by
A Science Friday pick for book of the year, 2019. One of America's top doctors reveals how AI will empower physicians and revolutionize patient care Medicine has become inhuman, to disastrous effect. The doctor-patient relationship--the heart of medicine--is broken: doctors are too distracted and overwhelmed to truly connect with their patients, and medical errors and misdiagnoses abound. In Deep Medicine, leading physician Eric Topol reveals how artificial intelligence can help. AI has the potential to transform everything doctors do, from notetaking and medical scans to diagnosis and treatment, greatly cutting down the cost of medicine and reducing human mortality. By freeing physicians from the tasks that interfere with human connection, AI will create space for the real healing that takes place between a doctor who can listen and a patient who needs to be heard. Innovative, provocative, and hopeful, Deep Medicine shows us how the awesome power of AI can make medicine better, for all the humans involved.
Artificial Intelligence in Behavioral and Mental Health Care by
Artificial Intelligence in Behavioral and Mental Health Care summarizes recent advances in artificial intelligence as it applies to mental health clinical practice. Each chapter provides a technical description of the advance, review of application in clinical practice, and empirical data on clinical efficacy. In addition, each chapter includes a discussion of practical issues in clinical settings, ethical considerations, and limitations of use. The book encompasses AI based advances in decision-making, in assessment and treatment, in providing education to clients, robot assisted task completion, and the use of AI for research and data gathering. This book will be of use to mental health practitioners interested in learning about, or incorporating AI advances into their practice and for researchers interested in a comprehensive review of these advances in one source. Summarizes AI advances for use in mental health practice Includes advances in AI based decision-making and consultation Describes AI applications for assessment and treatment Details AI advances in robots for clinical settings Provides empirical data on clinical efficacy Explores practical issues of use in clinical settings
The Divide: A brief guide to global inequality and its solutions by
‘There’s no understanding global inequality without understanding its history. In The Divide, Jason Hickel brilliantly lays it out, layer upon layer, until you are left reeling with the outrage of it all.’ - Kate Raworth, author of Doughnut Economics
· The richest eight people control more wealth than the poorest half of the world combined.
· Today, 60 per cent of the world’s population lives on less than $5 a day.
· Though global real GDP has nearly tripled since 1980, 1.1 billion more people are now living in poverty.
For decades we have been told a story: that development is working, that poverty is a natural phenomenon and will be eradicated through aid by 2030. But just because it is a comforting tale doesn’t make it true. Poor countries are poor because they are integrated into the global economic system on unequal terms, and aid only helps to hide this.
Drawing on pioneering research and years of first-hand experience, The Divide tracks the evolution of global inequality – from the expeditions of Christopher Columbus to the present day – offering revelatory answers to some of humanity’s greatest problems. It is a provocative, urgent and ultimately uplifting account of how the world works, and how it can change for the better.
The health gap: The challenge of an unequal world by
In Baltimore's inner-city neighborhood of Upton/Druid Heights, a man's life expectancy is sixty-three; not far away, in the Greater Roland Park/Poplar neighborhood, life expectancy is eighty-three. The same twenty-year avoidable disparity exists in the Calton and Lenzie neighborhoods of Glasgow, and in other cities around the world. In Sierra Leone, one in 21 fifteen-year-old women will die in her fertile years of a maternal-related cause; in Italy, the figure is one in 17,100; but in the United States, which spends more on healthcare than any other country in the world, it is one in 1,800. Why? Dramatic differences in health are not a simple matter of rich and poor; poverty alone doesn't drive ill health, but inequality does. Indeed, suicide, heart disease, lung disease, obesity, and diabetes, for example, are all linked to social disadvantage. In every country, people at relative social disadvantage suffer health disadvantage and shorter lives. Within countries, the higher the social status of individuals, the better their health. These health inequalities defy the usual explanations. Conventional approaches to improving health have emphasized access to technical solutions and changes in the behavior of individuals, but these methods only go so far. What really makes a difference is creating the conditions for people to have control over their lives, to have the power to live as they want. Empowerment is the key to reducing health inequality and thereby improving the health of everyone. Marmot emphasizes that the rate of illness of a society as a whole determines how well it functions; the greater the health inequity, the greater the dysfunction. Marmot underscores that we have the tools and resources materially to improve levels of health for individuals and societies around the world, and that to not do so would be a form of injustice. Citing powerful examples and startling statistics ("young men in the U.S. have less chance of surviving to sixty than young men in forty-nine other countries"), The Health Gap presents compelling evidence for a radical change in the way we think about health and indeed society, and inspires us to address the societal imbalances in power, money, and resources that work against health equity.
Epidemic Illusions: on the coloniality of global public health by
A physician-anthropologist explores how public health practices--from epidemiological modeling to outbreak containment--help perpetuate global inequities. In Epidemic Illusions, Eugene Richardson, a physician and an anthropologist, contends that public health practices--from epidemiological modeling and outbreak containment to Big Data and causal inference--play an essential role in perpetuating a range of global inequities. Drawing on postcolonial theory, medical anthropology, and critical science studies, Richardson demonstrates the ways in which the flagship discipline of epidemiology has been shaped by the colonial, racist, and patriarchal system that had its inception in 1492. Deploying a range of rhetorical tools and drawing on his clinical work in a variety of epidemics, including Ebola in West Africa and the Democratic Republic of Congo, leishmania in the Sudan, HIV/TB in southern Africa, diphtheria in Bangladesh, and SARS-CoV-2 in the United States, Richardson concludes that the biggest epidemic we currently face is an epidemic of illusions--one that is propagated by the coloniality of knowledge production.
Feminist Global Health Security by
When Zika made headlines in 2016, images of women cradling babies affected with microcephaly spread across the media and pulled on heartstrings. But, as this book argues, whilst this outbreak was about women and babies, this outbreak also highlighted the lack of gendered considerations inglobal health security. The policy response to Zika focused on limiting the spread of the virus through domestic and civic cleaning to remove mosquitoes and by asking women to defer pregnancy. Both of these actions are inherently gendered, placing the burden of responsibility for stemming the spreadof disease on women.By taking Zika as its primary case but also touching on COVID-19, Feminist Global Health Security asks what the policy response to disease outbreaks tell us about the role of women in global health security. More broadly, what would global health policy look like if it were to take gender seriously,and how would this impact global disease control? Beyond raising questions of gender equity, Clare Wenham also considers global health security's lack of consideration for sustainability in epidemic preparedness and response. Wenham argues that global health security in general has thus far lacked asubstantive feminist engagement, with the result that the very policies created to manage an outbreak of disease disproportionately fail to protect women. We know that women have biological pre-disposition and social vulnerability to contracting a number of infectious diseases, making them moresusceptible to infection. Yet, the dominant gender-blind policy narrative of global health security has created pathways which focus on protecting the international spread of disease and state economies, rather than protecting those who are most likely to be affected. As such, the state-basedstructure of global health security provides the fault line for global health security's failure to engage women.This book highlights the ways in which women are disadvantaged by global health security policy, through engagement with feminist international relations concepts of visibility, social and stratified reproduction, intersectionality, and structural violence. Wenham argues that it was no coincidencethat poor, Black women living in low-quality housing were the most affected by the Zika outbreak and will continue to be so amid all epidemics, until meaningful engagement with gender is incorporated into global health security. As many news reports have made clear during COVID, there has been arecent sea change in thinking about the secondary effects of infectious disease control policy on women. However, we have yet to see this reflected in global health policy.
Health Without Borders by
This book discusses globalization and its impact on human health. The population of the world grew from 1 billion in 1800 to 7 billion in 2012, and over the past 50 years the mean temperature has risen faster than ever before. Both factors continue to rise, as well as health inequalities. Our environment is changing rapidly, with tremendous consequences for our health. These changes produce complex and constantly varying interactions between the biosphere, economy, climate and human health, forcing us to approach future global health trends from a new perspective. Preventive actions to improve health, especially in low-income countries, are essential if our future is going to be a sustainable one. After a period of undeniable improvement in the health of the world's population, this improvement is likely to slow down and we will experience- at least locally - crises of the same magnitude as have been observed in financial markets since 2009. There is instability in health systems, which will worsen if preventive and buffering mechanisms do not take on a central role. We cannot exclude the possibility that the allied forces of poverty, social inequalities, climate change, industrial food and lack of governance will lead to a deterioration in the health of large sectors of the population. In low-income countries, while many of the traditional causes of death (infectious diseases) are still highly prevalent, other threats typical of affluent societies (obesity, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases) are increasing. Africa is not only affected by malaria, TB and HIV, but also by skyrocketing rates of cancer. The book argues that the current situation requires effective and coordinated multinational interventions guided by the principle of health as a common good. An entirely competition-driven economy cannot - by its very nature - address global challenges that require full international cooperation. A communal global leadership is called for. Paolo Vineis is Chair of Environmental Epidemiology at Imperial College. His current research activities focus on examining biomarkers of disease risk as well as studying the effects of climate change on non-communicable diseases. "From morality to molecules, environment to equity, climate change to cancer, and politics to pathology, this is a wonderful tour of global health - consistently presented in a clear, readable format. Really, an important contribution." Professor Sir Michael Marmot Director, Institute of Health Equity University College London Author of "The Health Gap" "This book is a salutary and soundly argued reminder that the 'common good' is not simply what remains after individuals and groups have appropriated the majority of societal resources: it is in fact the foundation on which any society rests and without which it collapses." Rodolfo Saracci, International Agency for Research on Cancer, Lyon, France
A History of Global Health : interventions into the lives of other peoples by
A sweeping history explores why people living in resource-poor areas lack access to basic health care after billions of dollars have been invested in international-health assistance. Over the past century, hundreds of billions of dollars have been invested in programs aimed at improving health on a global scale. Given the enormous scale and complexity of these lifesaving operations, why do millions of people in low-income countries continue to live without access to basic health services, sanitation, or clean water? And why are deadly diseases like Ebola able to spread so quickly among populations? In A History of Global Health, Randall M. Packard argues that global-health initiatives have saved millions of lives but have had limited impact on the overall health of people living in underdeveloped areas, where health-care workers are poorly paid, infrastructure and basic supplies such as disposable gloves, syringes, and bandages are lacking, and little effort has been made to address the underlying social and economic determinants of ill health. Global-health campaigns have relied on the application of biomedical technologies--vaccines, insecticide-treated nets, vitamin A capsules--to attack specific health problems but have failed to invest in building lasting infrastructure for managing the ongoing health problems of local populations. Designed to be read and taught, the book offers a critical historical view, providing historians, policy makers, researchers, program managers, and students with an essential new perspective on the formation and implementation of global-health policies and practices.
Globalization and Health by
Contemporary globalization has had tremendous impact on health equity across the globe. However, no volume has systematically analyzed the relationship between globalization and global trends in health outcomes. This book consolidates and updates the findings of a global research project undertaken by the Globalisation Knowledge Network (GKN) of the World Health Organization¿s Commission on Social Determinants of Health. Chapters examine such questions as: How has trade liberalisation affected the social determinants of health? How has globalization affected food security, nutrition and equitable access to water and sanitation? How well do present global governance structures take account of the health equity effects associated with the social determinants of health? This landmark volume will be a necessary addition for researchers and scholars studying the field of globalization, health and social policy, and public health across the social sciences.
Comparative Health Systems by
The standard classifications of health systems don't allow for the complexity and variety that exists around the world. Federico Toth sets out a new framework for understanding the many ways in which health systems can be organized and systematically analyses the health systems chosen by 27 OECD countries. He provides a great deal of up-to-date data on financing models, healthcare spending, insurance coverage, methods of organizing providers, healthcare personnel, remuneration methods for doctors and hospitals, development trajectories and recent reforms. For each of the major components of the healthcare system, the organizational models and the possible variants from which individual countries can ideally select are defined. Then, based on the organizational solutions actually adopted, the various national systems are grouped into homogeneous families. With its clear, jargon-free language and concrete examples, this is the most accessible comparative study of international healthcare arrangements available.
In search of the perfect health system by
Winner of the first prize in the Health and Social Care category at the BMA Medical Book Awards 2016.With chapters on 25 different countries, this practical and succinct guide to the world's major health systems explores what lessons can be drawn from each to improve health worldwide. Each chapter is an essay designed to give the reader essential knowledge of the history, strengths, weaknesses and lessons of each health system and provide a truly global health perspective – all in the time it takes to drink a cup of coffee.Whether a healthcare manager or a student studying health systems, this accessible and engaging book provides a fascinating insight in to how health care is delivered around the world.
Cuban health care : the ongoing revolution by
How the Cuban health care system became the blueprint for accessible medical care around the world. Quiet as it's kept inside the United States, the Cuban revolution has achieved some phenomenal goals, reclaiming Cuba's agriculture, advancing its literacy rate to nearly 100 percent – and remaking its medical system. Cuba has transformed its health care to the extent that this “third-world” country has been able to maintain a first-world medical system, whose health indicators surpass those of the United States at a fraction of the cost. Don Fitz combines his deep knowledge of Cuban history with his decades of on-the-ground experience in Cuba to bring us the story of how Cuba's health care system evolved and how Cuba is tackling the daunting challenges to its revolution in this century.Fitz weaves together complex themes in Cuban history, moving the reader from one fascinating story to another. He describes how Cuba was able to create a unified system of clinics, and evolved the family doctor-nurse teams that became a model for poor countries throughout the world. How, in the 1980s and ‘90s, Cuba survived the encroachment of AIDS and increasing suffering that came with the collapse of the Soviet Union, and then went on to establish the Latin American School of Medicine, which still brings thousands of international students to the island. Deeply researched, recounted with compassion, Cuban Health Care tells a story you won't find anywhere else, of how, in terms of caring for everyday people, Cuba's revolution continues.
Health systems, health, wealth and societal well-being: Assessing the case for investing in health systems by
How can we improve health, wealth and societal well-being by investing in health systems? How can we ensure that health systems are sustained in the future? How can we monitor, manage and improve performance so that health systems are as effective and efficient as possible? This book looks at health systems from a new perspective. By reviewing the complex relationship between health systems, health and wealth, it argues that health systems need not be, as is often believed, simply a drag on resources but rather can be part and parcel of improving health and achieving better economic growth. Aiming to assist policy-makers as they assess the case for investing in health systems, Health Systems,Health, Wealth and Societal Well-being reviews the evidence on: The contribution of health systems to better health and to economic growth The ways that investment in better health can save future health costs as well as boosting economic growth How we can create equitable, sustainable health systems fit for the 21st century
Healthcare Without Borders by
Cuba has more medical personnel serving abroad - over 50,000 in 66 countries - than all of the G-7 countries combined and more than the World Health Organization. For the last five decades, they have been a leading force in the developing world, providing humanitarian aid (or "cooperation," as Cuba's communist government prefers) and initiating programs for preventative care and medical training. In Healthcare without Borders, John Kirk examines the role of Cuban medical teams in disaster relief, biotechnology joint ventures, and in the Latin American School - the largest medical faculty in the world. He looks at their responses to various crises worldwide, including the 1960 earthquake in Chile, the Chernobyl disaster in the Ukraine, the earthquake that wracked Haiti in 2010 and the subsequent cholera outbreak, and the 2014 Ebola epidemic in West Africa. Kirk issues an informative and enlightening corrective for what he describes as the tendency of the industrialized world's media to ignore or underreport this phenomenon as one of the positive aspects of the ongoing Cuban revolution. In the process, he explores the philosophical underpinnings of human rights and access to medical care at the core of Cuba's medical internationalism programs and partnerships.
Understanding Global Health, 2E by
A complete introductory review of global health--updated to reflect the latest issues and challenges The first edition of Understanding Global Health set a new information standard for this rapidly emerging subject. Written by a remarkable group of authors and contributors, this comprehensive, engagingly written text offers unmatched coverage of every important topic--from infectious disease to economics to war. Created with the non-specialist in mind, Understanding Global Health explores the current burden of disease in the world, how health is determined, and the problems faced by populations and health care workers around the world. The second edition has been thoroughly updated to include the most current information and timely topics. New chapters cover such topics as human trafficking, malaria and neglected tropical diseases, surgical issues in global health, and mental health. Every chapter includes Learning Objectives, Summary, Study Questions, and References and, in many instances, practical case examples. Thorough coverage of every important subject, including: Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and Surveillance Nutrition Primary Care in Global Health Tuberculosis and HIV/AIDS Education and Careers in Global Health Aging Populations and Chronic Illness Global Health Ethics
Global Health Economics: Shaping Health Policy in Low- and Middle-Income Countries by
This book contains a collection of works showcasing the latest research into global health economics conducted by leading experts in the field from the Centre for Health Economics (CHE) at the University of York and other partner research institutions. Each chapter focuses upon an important topic in global health economics and a number of separate research projects. The discussion delves into health care policy evaluation; economic evaluation and the application of analysis methods; health equity and universal health coverage; consideration of cost-effectiveness thresholds and opportunity costs in the health sector; health system challenges and possible solutions; economics of health workforce planning; and others. Case study examples from a variety of low- and middle-income countries (LMIC) settings are also showcased in the final part of this volume.The research presented seeks to contribute toward increasing understanding on how health care systems can be enhanced to improve the welfare of LMIC populations. It is strongly recommended for public health policymakers and analysts in low- and middle-income country settings and those affiliated to international health organizations and donor organizations.
Health Economics by
Health Economics: An International Perspective is the only textbook to provide a truly international, comparative treatment of health economics. Offering an analysis of health systems across borders, the fourth edition of this key text has been updated and revised to take account of changes in a host of countries. This edition features an expanded introduction, providing better grounding for many of the examples that come in subsequent chapters and making it easier for non-health care experts to see the links between the theory, the examples and the health care system components. It also boasts a restructured format, dividing the book into two broad sections: the first focuses on ideas and principles, along with evidence on their applications in the health sector, whereas the second focuses on introducing core tools and techniques used in applied health economics research. Further updates to this edition include: two new chapters on applied econometrics; a new chapter on equity, focusing on equity in access to health care, paying particular attention to how access and need for health care are defined and measured in applied research; a new chapter on emerging issues for health systems that are emanating from a series of global transitions both within (e.g. demographic change, epidemiological change, the global resolution on universal health coverage) and without the health sector (e.g. economic transitions). Throughout the text, examples and illustrations are taken from a wide range of settings and world regions, providing a unique overview of the performance of different health systems.
Economic Analysis in Healthcare by
Economic Analysis in Health Care, Second Edition is intended as a core textbook for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students of health economics. The authors provide comprehensive coverage of the field of economics in health care and the evaluation of health care technologies. This edition has been fully revised with up-to-date case studies from the UK, Europe and the Rest of the World. It includes a new chapter on health care labour markets and contains new material integrated throughout the text on the economics of public health. Adopts an international perspective towards topics in health economics Creates a useful balance of theoretical treatment and practical application throughout the book Focuses on both market-related and economic evaluation aspects of health economics
Applied Econometrics for Health Economists by
"Applied Econometrics for Health Economists" introduces readers to the appropriate econometric techniques for use with different forms of survey data, known collectively as microeconometrics. The book provides a complete illustration of the steps involved in doing microeconometric research. The only study to deal with practical analysis of qualitat
Elementary Economic Evaluation in Health Care by
There is a growing reliance on all health care workers to understand and practice economic evaluation. This comprehensive book written in jargon-free language provides a basic introduction to the subject. It succeeds in explaining both the principles of economic evaluation and how to use them. The second edition has been revised throughout and now includes a chapter on decision making, which explains the tools of systematic reviewing so bringing the book right up to date.