Business & Management: Terms and Conditions

Permitted usage:

• Access to Bloomberg is limited to current Oxford University faculty, students, and staff.

• You may use the Services solely for educational purposes and may not use the Services for any development purposes or to develop any applications, software or otherwise that could in any way interact or interfere with the performance of the Services

Prohibited usage:

• Do not move, modify, interface, copy, broadcast, reproduce, port or otherwise use or route the Services or any portion thereof with or to any other equipment, network or software

Terms of use:

The Licensor does not provide investment or financial advice or services through the Product(s) or otherwise. Client agrees that the Product(s) and use of it does not and will not constitute an offer or sale of any security, financial product, instrument or trading strategy (or the solicitation or recommendation thereof). Client acknowledges that the Product(s) are not an introduction source for prospective clients, nor is it intended for business advice.

Full T&Cs here

Permitted usage:

• You may watch and listen to streamed video/audio for educational and non-commercial use only within the United Kingdom

• Share and embed programmes, clips and playlists with other authorised users (any embedded videos must always acknowledge the source and title of the programme and the ERA licensing scheme - see text under each video on BoB).

Prohibited usage:

• You may not make copies of the video/audio content

• Use the programmes for non-educational or for commercial use

• Alter or adapt the programmes apart from simple clip creation

• Use BoB from outside the United Kingdom

• Share your personal login credentials with others or make defamatory or abusive comments.

Full T&Cs here

Terms of use:

Subscriber shall not publish or distribute in any medium the CUSIP Database or any information contained therein or summaries or subsets thereof to any person or entity except in connection with internal processing of security transactions.

Citing CRSP

Any dissemination (including by electronic means or in any other form) of the research results made using the Data Files shall include attribution to CRSP as follows.

“Calculated (or Derived) based on data from database name ©YYYY Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP), The University of Chicago Booth School of Business.” 

YYYY being the year the database was published.

Terms of use:

Use of the Data - Licensee may only use the Crunchbase data for research purposes with the goal of publishing that research through an academic journal or major news outlet.

Redistribution of Data - Licensee may publish, share, and distribute analysis and aggregate statistics derived from the Crunchbase dataset. Licensee agrees to notify Crunchbase when any research is published and provide Crunchbase rights to publicize research it its sole discretion.

Permitted usage: 

• Users may download or print limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof, provided the information is used solely in accordance with copyright law.

• Users may create printouts of materials retrieved through the Databases or Services online printing, offline printing, facsimile or electronic mail. All reproduction and distribution of such printouts, and all downloading and electronic storage of materials retrieved through the Databases or Services shall be for internal or personal use. 

Prohibited usage:

• Users may not publish the information.

• Users shall not use the Database or Services as a component of or the basis of any other publication prepared for sale and will neither duplicate nor alter the Databases or Services or any of the content therein in any manner, nor use same for sale or distribution.  

Full T&Cs here

Terms of use:

DataStream is an open-access platform for sharing data for research, informational and educational purposes only. The data made available on   DataStream is intended for research use. 

Terms of use:

• Access is only open to current University staff, students and researchers. Alumni do not have access. 

• Data is extracted for academic and non-commercial research only. 

• The data cannot be shared with anyone else without permission. 

• The data must be stored securely (using an encrypted USB or similar) and be destroyed after it has been used. 

• It is your responsibility to be aware of restrictions regarding publication & copyright of data extracted Refinitiv rules on citation have to be observed.

Permitted usage:

• You may use the Sites and the Content solely for your own personal use and benefit and not for resale or other transfer or disposition to any other person or entity.

Prohibited usage:

• You may not use, reproduce, modify, transfer, exploit, distribute or dispose of any Content for any commercial purposes, whether direct or indirect, in any manner that might compete with our business (including, without limitation, by making Content available to anyone other than a Subscriber where such Content is accessible through subscription only).

Permitted usage:

• You may access, download and print the Information for your own personal use. Please note that excessive downloading is not permitted.  Please take a sensible approach when downloading material (no more than a few articles a day).

Prohibited usage:

• To reproduce, distribute, display, sell, publish, broadcast or circulate the Information to any third party, nor make the Information available for any such use

• Redistribute, publish or use the Information or any derived content (including charts from the Information) in any commercial news or information service, nor permit any third party to do the same

• Use the Information or the attached Codes in conjunction with any systems or applications that enable any program trading (including without limitation algorithmic trading programs), data mining, text mining, or trend analysis function, or that integrate news with customer relationship management, order management, trading, or portfolio management tools or systems, or mid- or back-office applications;

• Do not remove, conceal or alter any copyright notices contained in the Service. 

• Do not create or store in electronic form any shared library or archive of Information which could be used as a research application.

• Do not store any Information for more than 30 days or share the individual password provided by Dow Jones to you pursuant to which you are enabled to access the Service with any third party.

You agree to comply with any additional restrictions notified by means of any on-screen notices contained within an article of Information to which the additional restriction relates.

Permitted usage:

• Authorised Users are permitted to retain Insubstantial Amounts of Data that has been used by Authorised Users for research purposes until such a time as the research has been peer-reviewed and published.

Prohibited usage:

• Sharing of FactSet IDs or passwords is not permitted.

• Authorised Users are required to login to the information system using the Individual School Network ID before being able to launch the Service from the dedicated library PCs and access the Service. 

• Authorised Users shall not be allowed shared or to share credentials.

• All of the Service licensed under this Schedule are licensed exclusively for educational and academic user and shall not be used in connection with any investment, financial advice, fund or endowment management or any other business purpose.

Full T&Cs here

Terms of use:

• You may download, save or print out limited excerpts of data contained in the licensed Information solely as required by it in pursuance of its permitted use of the licensed Information as set out in the table above. You are not entitled to download any credit ratings, nor copy, save or print out, on any one occasion or in a series of occasions, any data contained in the licensed Information so as to obtain a version of all or a substantial part of such data.

• Client shall not, and shall procure that none of its Affiliates or their respective employees and consultants shall, use the Information to create a product which (a) competes with Moody’s or any of its licensors or (b) provides the same or substantially similar functionally, content or features to such Information, as applicable.

• The above license includes access for the specified number of users (“Users”), noted above next to each product and/or service at the Permitted Site. Each User is assigned a specific password to access and use the products and/or services described above (the "Information", as further defined in the Terms of Agreement). The Information and associated password(s) may only be used on behalf of the Client.

Permitted usage:

• Feel free to download as many reports and as much data as you like, there is no limit.

• Feel free to encourage your colleagues to have access to the Fitch Connect platform, there is no limit to the number of users in the Said Business School/Oxford University (because it is an Enterprise License)

• Feel free to internally redistribute content to internal colleagues

Prohibited usage:

• Please do not redistribute content to individuals external to the Said Business School/Oxford University

• If Fitch Solutions content is used within assignments please kindly source the content as “Fitch Solutions content”

• Please do not use Fitch Solutions content in the University Publications that go to external parties (outside of the Said Business School/Oxford University). Please check with Fitch Solutions before doing so, to receive approval for the redistributed content.

• Please do not copy and paste ratings and database these as there may be manual errors. Please instead use the excel download functionality.

We are the owner or the licensee of all intellectual property rights in our site, and in the material published on it. Those works are protected by copyright laws and treaties around the world. All such rights are reserved.  Reproduction of part or all of the contents of any of these pages is prohibited except to the extent permitted below. 

Terms of use:

• You may print off one copy

• You may download extracts, of any page(s) from our site for your personal use and you may draw the attention of others within your organisation to content posted on our site.

Terms of use:

• The Content on this Site is for your personal use only and not for commercial exploitation.

• You may not decompile, reverse engineer, disassemble, rent, lease, loan, sell, sublicense, or create derivative works from the Site or the Content. The use of any network monitoring or discovery software to determine the site architecture, or extract information about usage, individual identities or users is prohibited.

• You may not use any robot, spider, other automatic software or device, or manual process to monitor or copy our Site or the Content without our prior written permission.

• You may not use this Site to transmit any false, misleading, fraudulent or illegal communications. You may not copy, modify, reproduce, republish, distribute, display, or transmit for commercial, non-profit or public purposes all or any portion of the Site, except to the extent permitted above. 

Permitted usage:

• Customers may use, access, copy, store, display and create derivative works of (collectively "use") the Data for its internal business purposes and may use minor portions of Data, as part of reports, or separately given to clients of Customer, whether in electronic or other present or future media.

• Customer may only use the Software to access the Data. Except as set forth herein,

Prohibited usage:

• Customer may not use, sell, modify, publish, distribute, or allow any third party access to the Data, any portion thereof or the Software.

• Customer may not directly or indirectly, decompile, disassemble or otherwise reverse engineer the Software.

Terms of use:

Prohibited uses include - 

• Systematically make copies, electronic or otherwise, of multiple extracts of the information included in the Services for any purpose.

• Provide, by electronic means or otherwise, to a user at another library or elsewhere, a retained copy of any part of the information included in the Services.

• Mount or distribute any part of the information comprised in the Services on any electronic network or otherwise, including without limitation the Internet and the World Wide Web or otherwise publish, broadcast or display any such information in public.

Mintel’s explicit prior written permission must be obtained in order to:

• Use the whole or any part of the information comprised in the Services for any Commercial Use

• To distribute the information comprised in the Services to anyone other than Authorised Users

• Publish, distribute or make available the information comprised in the Services, works based on the information comprised in the Services or works which combine it with any other material, other than as expressly permitted in these Terms and Conditions.

Terms of use:

You must be a current student, member of faculty or member of staff of the Subscriber to use this service. For the avoidance of doubt, alumni are not authorised users.

Prohibited uses include:

• No form of commercial use of market reports, articles, written materials and data is permitted.

• You may not publish, re-distribute or make available to third parties any such content which you extract from this service, whether by itself or as part of any work or other material.

Permitted usage:

• Online Research Services. Services designed to facilitate online research may be used for Customer’s internal research or educational purposes as outlined below provided that doing so does not violate an express provision of this Agreement

• Research and Analysis. Customer and its Authorized Users are permitted to display and use reasonable portions of information contained in the Service for educational or research purposes, including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis.

• Digital and Print Copies. Customer and its Authorized Users may download or create printouts of a reasonable portion of articles or other works represented in the Service for own internal or personal use as allowed under the doctrines of "fair use" and "fair dealing”.  All downloading, printing and/or electronic storage of materials retrieved through the Service must be retrieved directly from the on-line system for each and every print or digital copy.

• Scholarly Sharing. Customer and its Authorized Users may provide to a third party colleague minimal, insubstantial amounts of materials retrieved from the Service for personal use or scholarly, educational research use in hard copy or electronically, provided that in no case is any such sharing done in a manner or magnitude as to act as a replacement for the recipient's or recipient educational institution's own subscription to either the Service or the purchase of the underlying work.

Prohibited usage:

Restrictions. Except as expressly permitted above, Customer and its Authorized Users shall not:

• Remove any copyright and other proprietary notices placed upon the Service or any materials retrieved from the Service by ProQuest or its licensors. 

• Circumvent any use limitation or protection device contained in or placed upon the Service or any materials retrieved from the Service

• Perform automated searches against ProQuest’s systems (except for non-burdensome federated search services), including automated “bots,” link checkers or other scripts

• Provide access to or use of the Services by or for the benefit of any unauthorized school, library, organization, or user Publish, broadcast, sell, use or provide access to the Service or any materials retrieved from the Service in any manner that will infringe the copyright or other proprietary rights of ProQuest or its licensors.

• Text mine, data mine or harvest metadata from the Service

• Communicate or redistribute materials retrieved from the Service or Download all or parts of the Service in a systematic or regular manner or so as to create a collection of materials comprising all or a material subset of the Service, in any form.

Permitted usage:

• You may download and use certain Content that is purposely and expressly made available by S&P Global for downloading from this Website (such as product sheets or articles), provided that you: (i) do not remove any proprietary notice or disclaimer language in any copies of such documents, (ii) use such information only for your personal, non-commercial informational purpose and do not copy or post such information on any networked computer or broadcast it in any media, (iii) make no modifications to any such information, and (iv) do not make any representations or warranties relating to same.

Prohibited usage: 

• Download, upload, post, transmit, publish, or distribute any material that infringes, violates, breaches or otherwise contravenes the rights of S&P Global or any third party, including any copyright, trademark, patent, rights of privacy or publicity or any other proprietary right

• Interfere with or disrupt the use of this Website by any other customer or user or reverse look-up, trace or seek to trace any information on any other user of or visitor to this Website, or any other customer of S&P Global, including any S&P Global account not owned by you

• Download, upload, post, transmit, publish or distribute any material or information that constitutes or encourages conduct that would constitute a criminal offence, give rise to other liability, or otherwise violate applicable law.

• You may not use any linking, deep-linking, framing or page-scraping technology, robots, spiders or other automatic devices, programs, algorithms or methodologies.

Terms of use:

• Users are granted a nonexclusive, non-transferable, limited right to access and use for research purposes the Online Services and Materials made available to you. The rights granted exclusively to Authorised Users. 

• Commercial use, distribution, or publication are strictly prohibited. To the extent permitted by applicable copyright law and unless limited or prohibited by separate written agreements signed by both parties,

• Users may make copies of Authorised Printouts and distribute Authorised Printouts and copies provided that you retain all copyright and other proprietary notices.

Full T&Cs here

Terms of use:

You are authorized to use the WRDS’ information and services only if you are an authorized user of WRDS' services and agree to these Terms of Use, which constitute a legally binding agreement between you and WRDS. 

In addition, you agree as follows:

• Use of the WRDS services is governed by and restricted under the Subscription Agreement between the host entity or institution (the "Subscriber") and WRDS.

• You must protect the confidentiality of your WRDS username and password.

• You may not reveal, disclose, transfer or share your username and password with anyone, including without limitation a co-author or other collaborator.

• You may not post login information on public webpages, including online syllabi, class websites, social media, message boards, or other similar web environments. 

SHARING YOUR WRDS ACCOUNT CREDENTIALS (username and password) IS GROUNDS FOR IMMEDIATE TERMINATION OF YOUR WRDS ACCOUNT.

Users must access the WRDS database by the following methods:

1. Through the WRDS website via a registered WRDS account
2. Through the WRDS website via our Access Pass Program ("Daypass")
3. Via SSH to the WRDS Cloud (WRDS' high-performance Linux computing cluster)
4. SAS, R, Python, Matlab, Stata, or similar connecting remotely to the WRDS database.

• Users are not permitted to script or otherwise automate the login to the WRDS website or the running of queries to download data from the website. Automation is permitted on the WRDS Cloud server.

• Actions to access non-subscribed data or features are prohibited. These may include but not are not limited to modifying user name or institution, editing the website, and bypassing the front-end website to interact with the web server directly.

• All users will be prompted to agree to the WRDS Terms of Use on an annual basis.

• You may only have one designated and current Subscriber affiliation. If you should have two affiliations, your most current affiliation will support the account for your WRDS access. 

• The Subscriber entity or institution may place additional restrictions on use of and access to the WRDS services. All users must learn about and honor restrictions your entity or institution may place on users of the WRDS services and any use of the licensed data that is accessed through the WRDS services.

• User agrees to place the following acknowledgement in all publications or other communications prepared using the WRDS services: 'Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) was used in preparing [identify research piece]. This service and the data available thereon constitute valuable intellectual property and trade secrets of WRDS and/or its third-party suppliers.'