Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key US newspapers and magazines
Listed here are some of the most important and useful newspapers and magazines for US History. Some are available only in print or microform, others can be searched full-text and read online.
For a full list of newspapers held on microform at the VHL, click here. For more detailed information on newspapers and magazines available in Oxford and online, see the following posts from the US Studies Resources at Oxford blog:
See also newspapers on the web.
New York Times. 1851-2014
Major US newspaper and useful for tracking events, people, incidents, etc. Fully digitised and available online from 1851-2014 via ProQuest
Also available online 1980- via Nexis
Washington Post. 1877-1998
Particularly strong for 20th century history.
Also available online 1977- via Nexis
and 1984- via Factiva
San Francisco Chronicle, 1865-1984
Though it was Northern California’s “newspaper of record,” the San Francisco Chronicle’s influence was so far-reaching that it was known as the Voice of the West.
Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
Considered the most influential black weekly newspaper by the advent of World War I, with more than two thirds of its readership base located outside of Chicago.
The New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
One of the leading black newspapers of the 20th century, which reached its peak in the 1940s. The New York Amsterdam News captured the vibrancy and cultural richness of the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, advocated for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and fought against discriminatory employment practices and other civil rights abuses in the 1960s. This resource provides full coverage of seventy years worth of the newspaper's archive.
The Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Pittsburgh Courier was once the most widely circulated black newspaper in the United States during the early 20th century. This resource provides access to more than ninety years of the newspaper's archive, including columns and reports from writers such as W.E.B. DuBois, Marcus Garvey, James Weldon Johnson and Zora Neale Hurston.
Early American Newspapers. 1690-1876
On microfilm. [Guide: VHL: Bib. xPN 4855 .E18 1987]
Collection of colonial and early national period newspapers from all 13 original states. VHL holds Series 1 (79 titles) in microform.
For a full list of newspapers held on microform at the VHL, click hereAvailable online for British Library readers
19th Century US Newspapers
This database provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of historical newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from c 500 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
African American Newspapers (series 1), 1827-1998
Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971
Access to over 130 digitised newspapers published by and for ethnic groups in the United States, particularly those of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.
Vast database that provides access to thousands of news sources from all over the world. Its coverage is largely current and recent, but does go back 20 years in some cases. If you want to restrict your search to US newspapers you can do so by selecting 'US news' in the 'sources' box towards the bottom of the search screen. This will then provide you with a list of available titles to restrict your search further by specific publications if you would like to do so.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection (1684-1912)
The full text of thousands of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, digitsed from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society. Titles cover a broad range of subjects and interests related to every aspect of American life and culture, from politics to religion, science, law, literature and the arts.
American Periodicals 1740-1940
Digitised images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Periodicals Archive Online
An online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, including many US titles, covering 1802-2000. Oxford has access to Collections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7,
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Readers' Guide Retrospective provides access to the archive of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature from 1890-1982, indexing articles in the popular American press by subject, as well as to over three million articles from approximately 375 periodicals, many in full text
The Nation (1865-)
America's oldest and most widely read weekly journal of progressive political and cultural news, opinion and analysis.
Also Microfilm: VHL Micr. USA 90-105 (1865-1901)
Print: VHL Stack (1883-1920)
Print: VHL xAP 2 .N2 (1921-)
National Review, 1955-
Also [VHL Micr. USA 317 1955-1960, 1963-1964, 1980-81]
[VHL xAP 2 .N3545 1991-]
Conservative magazine founded by William F. Buckley, Jr.
The New Republic (1914-)
Also 1914-1947 [VHL: Micr. USA 240]
1947- [VHL: xAP 2 .N624]
1998- online via Oxford University e-Journals
This magazine is widely considered important in changing the character of liberalism in the direction of governmental interventionism, both foreign and domestic.
Time (Magazine). 1923-
[BOD Stack P.D01925 1943-]
Also available online via Business Source Complete 1990-
The Atlantic/The Atlantic Monthly, 1857-
The New Yorker
[BOD 1925- (1925-1946 on microfilm)]
Online via Factiva 1995-
Online via Gale Cengage Shakespeare Collection 2002-
US News & World Report
[VHL xJK 1 .U65 1948-2010 (ceased publication in print)]
Formerly United States News: [VHL xJK 1 .U65 1940-1947]
Online via Nexis UK 1975-
Online via Business Source Complete 1990-2010
Online via ABI/INFORM 2010-
Formerly Harper's Monthly Magazine, Harper's New Monthly Magazine
[BOD 1880- (European edition pre-1917)]
[EFL 1880-1903, 1908-1909]
Online via Making of America
Online via Hathi Trust
(various 19th century volumes)
[BOD 1949- (incomplete; international, Atlantic ed 1958-)]
Online via Nexis UK 1975-
Online via Business Source Complete 1990-2012
Online via Factiva 1994-
Online via ABI/INFORM 1998-2012
[VHL 300.48 s. 11 1948-1982]
Online via vLex 1993-
[BOD 1930-1943, 1953-1959, 1963-1978]
Online via Business Source Complete 1992-
Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report/CQ Weekly
[VHL xJK 1 .C15 1953-2007]
Also available online 1983-
To search past issues, choose 'Advanced search' > 'Show all sources' and select congress.
Ethnic newswatch. 1960s-
Covers U.S. ethnic and minority newspapers and other periodicals, many not in library print collections.
[VHL Micr. USA 397-422; catalogued separately on SOLO.]
The collections provide a historical record of black Americans and their culture over the first part of the 20th century. Includes some 17 titles including Colored American Magazine, Harlem Quarterly, Race relations, Southern Frontier, etc.
International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933
57 women’s magazine and journal publications covering the late eighteenth century to the 1930s, mainly from the US and UK.
Niles’ Register / Niles’ Weekly Register / Weekly Register. 1811-1849
[VHL Stack: 300.23 s. 9 v.1-75]
A leading weekly news magazine with a large national circulation, founded by Hezekiah Niles in 1811. As an
indexed and relatively comprehensive summary of events during the 1811–1849 period, the Register is considered the paper of record for its age and has long been an important resource for historians. The Register kept close track of economics, technology, science, medicine, geography, archaeology, the weather, and many stories of human interest.
[VHL Stack 1861-1865]
Noted for its Civil War coverage
Christian Science Monitor
[RSL 1975-2000 (Weekly international edition), 2005-]
Also online via Nexis UK 1980-
Complete digital archive of American Vogue from 1892-present
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2014
In more than 8,000 issues since first publication in 1843, The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. With objective authority, clarity and wit, The Economist presents the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. Because of its global editorial perspective, it is read by more of the world's political and business leaders than any other magazine.
1997- also available via economist.com
Newspaper and magazine archives on the web
Provides access to thousands of digitised pages of a wide range of newspapers from 1860-1922, as well as bibliographic information about newspapers published in the United States from 1690 to the present, including listings of libraries in the States that have copies.More information
on VHL resources blog.
Google News Archive
Allows you to browse the thousands of pages of newspapers digitised by the Google Books project directly.
See this blog post
for more guidance on searching and navigating the archive.
Wikipedia list of online newspaper archives
Comprehensive list of newspaper archives available online, both free and subscription-only.
Newspapers.com [SUBSCRIPTION REQUIRED FOR FULL ACCESS]
Over 800 newspapers from the 1700s-2000s. The site can be searched for free and a 7-day free trial is available, but thereafter full content is only available to paid subscribers.
Independent Voices: an Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Magazines on Google Books
Browsable access to a range of magazines digitised as part of the Google Books project.
See this blog post
for guidance on searching and navigating the site.
Newspapers on fold3.com (Formerly footnote.com)
Approximately 4 million pages of digitised newspapers available via the fold3.com website. Not all content is available to view freely or without signing up.
Online catalogue of digitised historical newspapers from the United States and Caribbean, hosted by the University of Florida. It currently links through to over 1000 titles and is expanding.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Free web resources - newspapers
Finding US newspapers elsewhere in the UK
Between them, libraries in the UK hold quite a wide range of US newspapers, so if you can't find things here in Oxford or online, you may well be able to track them down in other libraries. The best starting place is the British Library, and you can search their newspaper catalogues online.
Quite a few other libraries in the UK also have varying collections of US newspapers. The best way to find these is to search COPAC.