Canada - Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries

Key Canadian resources

Factiva
Largely for contemporary newspapers (1980s-). Provides essential news for America and Europe with a collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers. Excellent for national but also local, regional newspapers and specialist or professional news.

Much overlap with Nexis UK. If you can't find a newspapers in Factiva, then try also Nexis UK.
Nexis UK
Vast database that provides access to over 20,000 news sources from all over the world. Particularly excellent for UK, North American and much of Europe. Its coverage is largely current and recent, but does go back 20 years in some cases. For UK newspapers, generally covers broadsheets from 1980s and tabloids and local/ regional newspapers from more recently. Also include BBC Monitoring Service.

Much overlap with Factiva. If you can't find a newspaper in Nexis UK, then try also Factiva.
BBC Monitoring Service (in Nexis UK)
Part of the BBC which monitor news inewspapers, radio, TV and internet) from over 150 countries and translates it into English. Started in 1979 and is ongoing.
The British Colonist
The British Colonist (also called The Daily British Colonist, The Daily Colonist and other variants) was the leading newspaper in Vancouver Island and British Colombia from 1858 until the 1890s. In addition to the daily life of these territories it covers discoveries of gold, the formation of Canada in 1867 and outbreaks of war. Issues from the first on 11 December 1858 until 1970 are now freely available online for research and educational purposes.

Find more newspapers

List of newspapers in Canada (Wikipedia)

Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries: Canada

Key Canadian resources

Find more newspapers

Also useful