Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Italian resources
Periodici lucani in microfilm
The National Library of Potenza offers access to digitized newspapers published between 1854 and 1954, the originals of which are owned, for the most part, by the National Central Library of Florence. To date over 132 titles have been digitized.
Key Spanish resources
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Histórica
A database of Spanish journals. The database has a good search facility, allowing searching by author, article title and material type. Full-text searching is also possible for the vast majority of titles. The range of topics is wide, with over 1000 full-text journals covering literature, politics, arts, sciences and local news.
Biblioteca Digital Hispánica
Hosted by the Biblioteca Nacional de España, this portal gives access to the library’s digitised collections. You can browse by document type, including ‘Prensa y revistas’. The majority of the 1,000 plus items are pre-1945.
El País (Madrid)
A daily founded in May 1976. Spain’s largest newspaper. Print edition 1 Feb 1995-6 Nov 2002; web edition 18 Jan 2013 - current in Factiva.
19 Apr 1996-current in Nexis.
El Mundo (Madrid)
Daily founded in October 1989. Second largest newspaper in Spain. 1 June 2002 - current in Nexis
; 2 Jan 1995 - current in Factiva.
La Vanguardia (Barcelona)
Founded in 1881, Catalonia’s leading daily, Spain’s fourth largest. Free access to their entire archive (since 1881). More than 135 years of history, searchable by keyword, date or theme. There is a 30-day moving wall. For current news: 4 May 1997 - current in Factiva.
El Periódico de Catalunya (in Catalan) (in Castilian)
Founded in October 1978, second highest-circulated newspaper in Spain's Catalan-speaking regions. 22 Jan 2008 - 18 May 2018 in Nexis. Print edition 3 May 2001 - 14 June 2018; web edition 23 Sep 2013 - current in Factiva.
A resource giving access to 18 million historic newspaper pages, freely accessible in the public domain. Aims to convert 10 million newspaper pages to full text.
You can search or browse in various ways (title, date, language, library).
Largely for contemporary newspapers (1980s-). Provides essential news for America and Europe with a collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers. Excellent for national but also local, regional newspapers and specialist or professional news.
Much overlap with Nexis UK. If you can't find a newspapers in Factiva, then try also Nexis UK.
Vast database that provides access to over 20,000 news sources from all over the world. Particularly excellent for UK, North American and much of Europe. Its coverage is largely current and recent, but does go back 20 years in some cases. For UK newspapers, generally covers broadsheets from 1980s and tabloids and local/ regional newspapers from more recently. Also include BBC Monitoring Service.
Note: Daily Telegraph starts in 2000. FT is embargoed for 30 days.
Much overlap with Factiva. If you can't find a newspaper in Nexis UK, then try also Factiva.
FBIS – Foreign Broadcast Information Service [1974-1996] : Western Europe
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.
FBIS collections relevant for European studies:
Western Europe, 1974-1996
The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.
FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.
Useful SOLO subject searches
French newspapers -- France -- History
Spanish newspapers -- Spain -- Madrid
Italian newspapers -- Directories