East Asia - Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries

Key Chinese newspapers

China Core Newspapers Database (CNKI) - English
Alternative names: CNKI Databases ; CCND

Access to Series F, G, H, and J, as well as NE and NF up to 2016 only
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)
This collection of 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers gives an insight to Chinese political and social life from 1832 to 1953. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads. The collection includes major newspapers from Peking, Shanghai and Canton as well as the important missionary publications Chinese Repository and Chinese Recorder.
Old HK Newspapers
Alternative name: Old Hong Kong Newspapers

The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers in Chinese and English. Offers fulltext searching. Coverage 1853 - 1984.

NewspaperSG - Newspapers from Singapore
NewspaperSG collects the archives of about 50 newspapers from Singapore in English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil. This includes the Straits Times (available from 1845-1989).
Wise Search WiseSearch is a Hong Kong based news provider that covers Mainland China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macao. Included are the archives of major Chinese newspapers from the national to the city level. WiseSearch also includes news published online, such as business reports, blogs and social media content.

_______________________________________________________

List of newspapers in China (Wikipedia)

人民日報 = People's Daily (1946 - Present)
Peoples Daily (1946-Present) is directly authorized by the publisher with access to today's issues and back to the first issue in 1946. People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. For the last 78 years, People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. Most importantly, since its inception the newspaper has been the true barometer of the political climate of Chinese society on a daily basis.
Jiefangjun Bao (PLA Daily) (1956- )
The PLA Daily, which started its publication on January 1, 1956, is the authoritative media of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army (PLA) to release military news and comprehensive military-related information and is the official newspaper of the Central Military Commission.
North China Herald (1850-1940)
The North China Herald is the most important foreign source of Chinese news during the period of its publication. The first issue appeared in Shanghai on 3 August 1850. A daily edition appeared from 1 June 1864 with the name The North China Daily News.
Publication ceased on 8 December 1941 with the start of the Pacific War.
Shenbao (1872-1949)
Alternative names: Shen bao (1872-1949) ; Shanghai News (1872-1949)

Joining the Global Public: word, image, and city in early Chinese newspapers, 1870-1910 by Rudolf G. Wagner (Editor)
ISBN: 9780791471173
Publication Date: 2007-07-05
Merry Laughter and Angry Curses: the Shanghai tabloid press, 1897-1911 [ebook] by Juan Wang
ISBN: 9780774823388
Publication Date: 2012-10-23
A Newspaper for China? : power, identity, and change in Shanghai's news media, 1872-1912 by Barbara Mittler
ISBN: 9780674012172
Publication Date: 2004-05-30

Key Japanese newspapers

Nikkei Telecom21
Alternative name: Nikkei Telecom 21

Please note that readers have the right limited to display and print out the contents from this database. Downloading, storing and saving content are prohibited under this licence.
The opening page (in Japanese) takes a while to load. Also note that we only have a three simultaneous user licence so please close your browser when you have finished. Database provides 24-Hour Nikkei News with over 100 stories translated from Nikkei's Japanese newspapers daily, Special features with archives on key economic and political issues affecting Japan. Stock, bond and forex information with the latest reports Corporate database of over 3,300 listed and OTC companies featuring stock quotes, financial highlights and corporate profiles. Online editions of the Japan Economic Almanac Online edition of the Nikkei Weekly. Recently the Nikkei Newspaper Archive (1876-1956) has been added to the database.

_______________________________________________________

List of newspapers in Japan (Wikipedia)

Asahi Shinbun Cross Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチ
Alternative names: X Search ;
In April 2010, online newspaper database "Kikuzo II Visual" has become the largest database which enables the user to search articles carried by The Asahi Shimbun over the past 130 years. Along with "Historical Photo Archives", articles from the Meiji, the Taisho, and the Showa era have been included to the current database. Formerly known as Kikuzo
Japan Times Archives Online (1897-2022), The
Please use the logout button, top right of screen, once finished.
From its inception in 1897(Meiji 30), The Japan Times has been Japan's most widely read English-language daily newspaper, providing very wide coverage of world and domestic news, business and politics.
Japan Times Online (1999-present), The
From its inception in 1897(Meiji 30), The Japan Times has been Japan's most widely read English-language daily newspaper, providing very wide coverage of world and domestic news, business and politics.
Times Supplements, The (1910-1916)
The Times Supplements consist of a series of full-text searchable, geographically-based issues, originally published between 1910 and 1916, as supplements of The Times. The Supplements cover various aspects of (mainly) Japan, Russia and South America. Dedicated issues to WW1, and one-off special issues were also published.
Yomidasu Rekishikan (Yomiuri Shinbun) (1874- )
Online newspaper resource on two newspapers from Yomiuri Shinbunsha,
Japan: Yomiuri Shinbun and The Daily Yomiuri. 'Yomiuri Shinbun' DB also
includes built-in dictionaries, such as 'Imidasu' and 'Kokugo, Ei-wa,
Wa-ei jisho', which can all be searched from the text in articles on
screen, with one click.
Dates covered for Yomiuri Shinbun, newspaper in Japanese, is from
Sōkangō (no.1) in 1874 to a day before the current date.

English language newspapers published in Japan : a union list of holdings "This list is made up of the holdings of the four institutions listed below:Yale University, Harvard University ... Princeton University, Columbia University" - tp.
Publication Date: 1983

Key Korean and Taiwanese newspapers

NK News
NK News is an independent, privately owned specialist information source that focuses on North Korea. The site intends to provide authoritative news, opinion & analysis, research tools, data and subject specialists. The service was established in April 2010 and has staff in Washington DC, Seoul, and London.

_______________________________________________________