Germany, Austria and Switzerland - Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries

Key Austrian newspaper resources

ANNO Historische österreichische Zeitungen und Zeitschriften (Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek)
The Austrian National Libraries digital newspaper and periodical portal. This resource covers early modern and modern periods but is particularly strong for the 19th and 20th centuries. Good for local Austrian history. Browse by newspaper or by date.
List of newspapers in Austria (Wikipedia)

Deutsches Zeitungsportal / German Newspaper Portal Provides access to digitised historical newspapers from German cultural and scientific institutions, covering 1671 to 1950. A sub-portal of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (German Digital Library), it collates newspaper holdings and collections. You can search full-text or find newspapers via title, place of publication or publication date.
Zefys Zeitungsinformationssystem ZEFYS provides currently more than 281.990 issues from 192 historical newspapers from Germany and foreign newspapers in German. Largely useful for 19th and early 20th century.
Compact Memory: German-Jewish Periodicals and Newspapers from the 18th to 20th centuries Search through more than 100 Jewish language newspapers and periodicals published in the German-speaking world between 1806 and 1938. Browse through issues of individual titles by date, or search within titles or across newspapers by article title, article keyword, or author. A full-text search is being developed.
digiPress - Das Zeitungsportal der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek Digital newspaper portal of the Bavarian State Library, Germany. Emphasis is on Bavarian newspapers but others from e.g. Berlin are also selectively present. Covers newspapers from the 17th century to the early 20th century. Options include to select by newspaper title, full-text search or search by date.
Fuggerzeitung / Fugger newsletters The term Fuggerzeitungen is used in the German-speaking world as a general synonym for sixteenth-century handwritten newsletters which were attached to correspondence of the Fugger family, a 15th and 16th century merchant and banking family based in Augsburg. The project has indexed by place, people, and topic these newsletters. They cover the years 1568 to 1605. The news are largely on politics and war.
Historic German Newspapers Online (EuroDocs) Includes newspapers in Germany. The emphasis is on historical newspaper holdings; lists of current online editions can be found in the Internet Public Library and elsewhere. General news is the main focus; specialized, narrow, trade or niche newspapers are not well represented. Fairly good coverage of different regions and towns.
Illustrierte Magazine der Klassischen Moderne A rich and aesthetically top-rate German source for the history of the period between the wars with regard to everyday life, culture, communication, design and photography. Our website offers the complete inventories of "Querschnitt", "UHU", "Kriminal-Magazin", "Jüdische Magazin", "Auto-Magazin" and "Revue des Monats", furthermore all issues of the years 1928-1933 of four more titles. Ten of the most important German-language magazines of the period with roughly 650 issues, with 75,000 printed pages and more than 50,000 illustrations have for the first time been compiled virtually and made available to both researchers as well as to readers interested in cultural history.
Innsbrucker Zeitungsarchiv zur Deutsch- und Fremdsprachigen Literatur A digital newspaper collection for literary criticism and literature in the German-speaking world. Includes contributions published in 6 regional daily & weekly newspapers and in 47 other political and cultural magazines, entertainment magazines and magazines of the German-speaking countries (Germany, Austria, Switzerland, South Tyrol, Liechtenstein and Luxembourg).
Literarische Expressionismus Online Literarische Expressionismus Online provides online access to 151 journals, yearbooks, collections and anthologies of the early 20th century (1910-1930) with almost 79,000 full text pages. Important not only for German literature but also a wide range of subjects including art, film, history, music, politics and theology.
Zeitungsausschnitte Literaturhaus Wien A bibliographical tool to search One million newspaper articles and small pamphlets (theatrical programs, book covers, publishing brochures, announcements, etc.) since the 1960s, of which 800,000 in paper form, and historical special collections (some dating back to 1800). Since 1997, the newspaper clippings have been digitized and can only be used at the Literaturhaus. Daily, weekly and monthly newspapers and magazines of the entire German-speaking area are evaluated for content on Austrian authors, literary and cultural enterprises, cultural policy, and linguistics.
Zeitungen des 17. Jahrhunderts A resource giving access to digitised 17th century German-speaking newspapers. This is by no means comprehensive. Coverage for Hamburg, Vienna, Frankfurt, Cologne Nuremberg, Bremen and many more.
Zeitschriften der deutschen Aufklärung A digital collection of 160 review and literary journals from the Enlightenment period.

____________________________________________________

Deutsche Presse : biobibliographische Handbücher zur Geschichte der deutschsprachigen periodischen Presse von den Anfängen bis 181 by Holger Böning Bd. 1.1. Hamburg von den Anfängen bis 1765 / Holger Böning, Emmy Moepps -- Bd. 1.2 Hamburg, 1766-1795 -- Bd. 1.3. Hamburg, 1796-1815 -- Bd. 2. Altona, Bergedorf, Harburg, Schiffbek, Wandsbek / Holger Böning, Emmy Moepps -- Bd. 3. (2 v.) Braunschweig--Wolfenbüttel, Hildesheim, Goslar / Britta Berg, Peter Albrecht. T. 1. Braunschweig; T. 2. Blankenburg, Clausthal, Goslar, Helmstedt, Hildesheim, Holzminden, Schöningen, Wolfenbüttel --
ISBN: 9783772815898
Publication Date: 1996-
Handbuch der Deutschen Exilpresse 1933-1945 by Lieselotte Maas Bd. 1. Bibliographie A-K.--Bd. 2. Bibliographie L-Z.--Bd. 3. Nachträge. Register. Anhang
ISBN: 9783446120594
Publication Date: 1976-01-01

Frankfurter Allgemeine [Zeitung
Founded in 1949. Hardcopy: Nr.1(1965:Jan.)-Nr.303(1971:Dez.) and 1972:Jan.-1993:Nov.
Frankfurter Rundschau Founded in 1945.
Der Spiegel
Online: archive from 1947- via their website (free access upto 2013). Also available online from 1996 via Factiva .
Founded in 1947 as a weekly news magazine, based in Hamburg. Well known for its investigative journalism. A gallery of covers is available.
Süddeutsche Monatshefte
Founded in 1904. Hardcopy: Jan. 1904 - Sept. 1936. [microfilm]. Online: selections in archive.org.
Süddeutsche Zeitung
Online from 3 Jan 1994.
Founded in 1904. Hardcopy: 1989:Juli 1/2 - 1989:Dez.30/31-1990:Jan.1 [incomplete holdings]
Vossische Zeitung (Berlinische Zeitung von Staats- und Gelehrten Sachen)
A Berlin-based renowned liberal newspaper, founded in 1721 and ceased in 1934. Hardcopy: 1932, nr. 490, 547, 552, 570; 1933, nr. 122-125, 143, 151. Online: 1918-1934 via Zefys.
Die Welt
Founded in 1949. Online: 1999- in Nexis.
Die Welt am Sonntag
Available online from 1997 via Nexis.
Die Zeit: Wochenzeitung für Politik, Wirtschaft, Handel und Kultur
Online via Nexis.
A weekly newspaper, founded in 1946. Hardcopy: Jahrg.44:Nr.29 (1989:Juli 14) - Jahrg.44:Nr.48 (1989:Nov.24); last six months (term-time only)

Key Swiss newspaper resources

Aargau Digital
A small but growing digital library of local history materials.offered by the Aarguer Kantonsbibliothek, Switzerland. Content is mostly relevant for the 19th century.
e-newspaperarchives.ch (Switzerland)
Online access to titles digitized by the Swiss National Library and its cantonal partners. Include e.g. St.Galler Zeitung 1831 - 1881, Le Journal de Genève, l Grigione italiano 1852 – 2011, Die Ostschweiz 1874 - 1900, Zuger Volksblatt 1861 - 1900, etc.
List of newspapers in Switzerland (Wikipedia)
Neue Zürcher Zeitung
Available via Factiva or Nexis.
Hardcopy: 28 Jan 1915-11 Jan 1916, Dec 1939-Dec 1964 [imperfect]; 1965:1/172(1965:Jan)-1994:Dec [microfilm]
Le Temps
Provides full-text for the following three French Swiss newspapers: Gazette de Lausanne (1798-1998), Le nouveau quotidien (1991-1998), Journal de Genève (1826-1998)

Austria - Germany - Switzerland

Useful SOLO subject searches

German newspapers -- History -- 20th century
Berlin (Germany) -- Newspapers
Austrian newspapers -- Bibliography
Press -- Austria -- History -- 20th century

Also useful

Europeana Newspapers A resource giving access to 18 million historic newspaper pages, freely accessible in the public domain. Aims to convert 10 million newspaper pages to full text. You can search or browse in various ways (title, date, language, library).
Factiva Largely for contemporary newspapers (1980s-). Provides essential news for America and Europe with a collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers. Excellent for national but also local, regional newspapers and specialist or professional news. Much overlap with Nexis UK. If you can't find a newspapers in Factiva, then try also Nexis UK.
Nexis UK Vast database that provides access to over 20,000 news sources from all over the world. Particularly excellent for UK, North American and much of Europe. Its coverage is largely current and recent, but does go back 20 years in some cases. For UK newspapers, generally covers broadsheets from 1980s and tabloids and local/ regional newspapers from more recently. Also include BBC Monitoring Service. Note: Daily Telegraph starts in 2000. FT is embargoed for 30 days. Much overlap with Factiva. If you can't find a newspaper in Nexis UK, then try also Factiva.
FBIS – Foreign Broadcast Information Service [1974-1996] : Western Europe The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years. FBIS collections relevant for European studies: Western Europe, 1974-1996 The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.

Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries: Germany, Austria and Switzerland

Key Austrian newspaper resources

Key German newspaper resources

Key Swiss newspaper resources

Useful SOLO subject searches

Also useful

Suggested reading

Zeitungen Vor der Zeitung: die Fuggerzeitungen (1568-1605) und das frühmoderne Nachrichtensystem

Deutsche Zeitungen des 17. Bis 20. Jahrhunderts

Famas Medium: zur Theorie der Zeitung in Deutschland zwischen dem 17. und dem mittleren 19. Jahrhundert

Krisenwahrnehmungen in Deutschland um 1900 - Zeitschriften als Foren der Umbruchszeit Im Wilhelminischen Reich

German Soldier Newspapers of the First World War

Totengräber der Demokratie : Kommunisten, Faschisten und Nationalsozialisten in der Deutschschweizer Presse von 1918-1923