Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries: India, South Asia and South East Asia
A guide to historical and current newspapers and news sources, covering the 17th to 21st centuries. Includes searching tips, outline common problems and lists key resources available to Oxford scholars.
The Times of India, founded in 1838 as the Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce, is one of the major English-language newspapers of South Asia. This resource provides searchable full-text access to the title from 1838, including digital reproductions of pages.
The South Asian Newspapers collection covers several countries, including Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal and Pakistan, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, English, Marathi and Nepali. With reportage dating as far back as the 1850s, the South Asian Newspapers collection provides coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Alternative name: South Asian Newspapers, 1864-1922
Online access to a select group of South Asian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries, including such titles as Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Kayasare Hinda (Bombay), Pioneer (Allahabad, India), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).
A list of printed South Asian newspapers, many with extensive holdings, held at the Bodleian. (NB This does not include the many current South Asian newspapers to which we have digital access via commercial news aggregator services such as Nexis UK.)
Founded in 1949, renamed The Bangladesh Observer in 1971. Hardcopy: 1966: MAY:24-1971:FEB:4 (INCOMPLETE) + 2 vols. supplements (1966-1977) and 2 vols. Sunday magazine (1966-1969, + 7 unbound magazines for 1970).
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout