A-Z by title - Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This database provides access to over 1,270 newsbooks, newspapers, pamphlets and a variety of other news materials published in England, Ireland and Scotland, plus papers from British colonies in Asia and the Americas. The collection is particularly rich in 18th century London newspapers. All the major titles are included, such as the Daily Courant from 1702 to 1735, the first daily newspaper published in London, and the London Gazette from 1665. Periodicals, such as Tatler (1709-1711) and Spectator (1711-1712), are also included. Also represented are English provincial titles from 1712, Irish newspapers (the earliest being the Dublin Intelligence of 1691), Scottish ones from 1708 onwards, and many 18th century American ones too, including the New England Courant (1721-1723).
17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection Features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian Library. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 have been digitized. This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th and 18th century England.
19th Century US Newspapers This database provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of historical newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from c 500 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

A

Aargau Digital A small but growing digital library of local history materials.offered by the Aarguer Kantonsbibliothek, Switzerland. Content is mostly relevant for the 19th century.
ABC (Madrid) Daily founded in January 1903. Spain’s third largest paper. Hardcopy: Jan.1980-Feb.1993 (incomplete) [microfilm] Shelfmark: Films 1210; Online: 16 May 1997 - current in Factiva;
Afghan Central Press Digital Archive (DA-ACP) The Afghan Central Press collection brings together four national, Kabul-based publications of Afghanistan whose long runs and prominence provide a concentrated vantage point for understanding developments in Afghanistan for much of the twentieth century. The English-language Kabul Times is presented alongside Pushto publications Anīs (انیس, Companion), Hewād (هیواد, Homeland), and Iṣlāḥ (اصلاح, Reform). Together, the archives of these newspapers provide a chronicle of events from the fall of the Kingdom of Afghanistan, the establishment of the People’s Democratic Republic of Afghanistan, the Soviet invasion, the rise of the Mujahedeen, the establishment of the Taliban and Al Qaeda, invasion by the United States and the ensuing period of reconstruction from the view of the capital.
Afghan Serials Collection An essential collection of partisan serials from the Wahdat Library, the most comprehensive private collection of rare newspapers and journals from Afghanistan. The Afghan Serials Collection includes over 45 newspapers and journals published in Persian, Pushto, Arabic, Urdu, and English from the early 1970s to the late 1990s—a critical period for the history of Afghanistan. Documenting the breadth of Afghanistan’s political epochs, the Afghan Serials Collection: Partisan Publications from the Wahdat Library covers the use of the press by many groups that sought to shape Afghanistan’s social and intellectual landscape during this turbulent time. Various ideologies are represented in these publications, published by opposing factions from the Taliban to anti-Taliban groups, to anti- Soviet jihadi and mujaheddin groups to the People’s Democratic Party of Afghanistan.
African American Newspapers series I (1827-1998) Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. These titles published for or by African Americans constitute valuable primary sources for researchers exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this groundbreaking series include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L’Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
African newspapers and newsites
African Newspapers on the internet (ASC, University of Leiden)
AFRINUL (CRL) - Union List of newspapers
Al-Ahram Digital Archive (1875-2020) Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram (الأهرام‎) is one of the most prominent Arabic newspapers in the Middle East, with a legacy as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential national daily. After President Nasser nationalized the Egyptian press in 1960, readers generally considered the paper the de facto voice of the central government. Al-Ahram has long featured contributions from many of the Arab world’s most important literary figures and intellectuals as well as nationalist leaders. It is worth noting that whilst Al-Ahram Digital Archive provides searchable text, the OCR capabilities are still somewhat limited and keyword searches might not pick-up all relevant results. A feature has been included to crowd-source improvements to the OCRed text.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection (1684-1912) The collection provides digital access to the full text of thousands of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, digitised from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society. Titles cover a broad range of subjects and interests related to every aspect of American life and culture, from politics to religion, science, law, literature and the arts.
American Periodicals 1740-1940 Digitised images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Amtspresse Preußens Online access to Provinzial-Correspondenz (PC) (1863-1884), Neueste Mittheilungen (NM) (1882-1894), Teltower Kreisblatt (TK) (1856-1896)
ANNO Historische österrichische Zeitungen und Zeitschriften (Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek) The Austrian National Libraries digital newspaper and periodical portal. This resource covers early modern and modern periods but is particularly strong for the 19th and 20th centuries. Good for local Austrian history. Browse by newspaper or by date.
ARCANUM Newspapers Eastern European Newspaper Archive, containing scientific and professional journals, weekly and daily newspapers, encyclopaedias, and thematic book collections.

Yomidasu Rekishikan (Yomiuri Shinbun) (1874- )
Online newspaper resource on two newspapers from Yomiuri Shinbunsha,
Japan: Yomiuri Shinbun and The Daily Yomiuri. 'Yomiuri Shinbun' DB also
includes built-in dictionaries, such as 'Imidasu' and 'Kokugo, Ei-wa,
Wa-ei jisho', which can all be searched from the text in articles on
screen, with one click.
Dates covered for Yomiuri Shinbun, newspaper in Japanese, is from
Sōkangō (no.1) in 1874 to a day before the current date.

The Atlantic/The Atlantic Monthly, 1857- [BOD 1857- (incomplete)] 1857-1901 also available online via Making of America 1857-2010 also online via UNZ.org 1986- partially available online via ProQuest ABI/INFORM
Australian Newspaper Headlines As well as giving headlines, this is a guide to Australian newspapers covering national and regional titles. Includes New Zealand.

B

Balkan Insight Balkan Insight is the leading news site covering the Western Balkans Region. Correspondents are drawn from across the former Yugoslavia and Albania, Bulgaria and Romania and the site is widely regarded as the only source of balanced reporting providing copy in English to international journalistic standards. Balkan Insight's Premium Content, available to all University of Oxford users, offers more detailed analytical content, including investigations, comment and analysis from the countries of the region.
The Bangladesh Observer Founded as The Pakistan Observer in 1949, renamed in 1971 to The Bangladesh Observer which ceased publication in 2010. Hardcopy: April/ June 1974 - Dec. 2004 [imperfect]
BBC Monitoring Service (in Nexis UK) Part of the BBC which monitor news, newspapers, radio, TV and internet) from over 150 countries and translates it into English. Started in 1979 and is ongoing. Available from Nexis UK. Once connected choose the "Sources" tab and then search for BBC monitoring.
Belgian War Press The Centre for Historical Research and Documentation on War and Contemporary Society (Ceges-Soma [French-Flemish acronym]), a federal research institution on wars and conflicts of the twentieth century and their impact on Belgium, launched the Belgian War Press website on 14 December 2012. The Belgian War Press introduces you to hundreds of Belgian newspapers that were written, printed and distributed clandestinely during the two World Wars.
BelgicaPress BelgicaPress is an online resource providing access to nine digitised historical Belgium newspapers between 1831-1970. NOTE: You must register as a user first in order to see any images, even if they are out of copyright. Over 4 million pages have been digitised and are full-text searchable. They cover 1831 to 1970 for the following newspapers: L'Echo De La Presse, Gazet Van Brussel, Het Handelsblad, L'Indépendance Belge (printed in Britain), Le Messager De Gand, De Nieuwe Gids, De Nieuwe Standaard und Het Nieuws Van Den Dag. However, only content before 1919 is freely accessible over the internet. That is still an amazing 1.2 million pages and particularly good news for 19th century and World War I historians. Content after 1919 can only be consulted in Koninklijke Bibliotheek België itself.
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Histórica A database of Spanish journals. The database has a good search facility, allowing searching by author, article title and material type. Full-text searching is also possible for the vast majority of titles. The range of topics is wide, with over 1000 full-text journals covering literature, politics, arts, sciences and local news.
Black Journals [VHL Micr. USA 397-422; catalogued separately on SOLO.]The collections provide a historical record of black Americans and their culture over the first part of the 20th century. Includes some 17 titles including Colored American Magazine, Harlem Quarterly, Race relations, Southern Frontier, etc.
British Library Newspapers, Parts I-V. (1732-1950) Online access to two million fully searchable pages in 48 national and regional titles chosen by leading experts and academics from the holdings of the British Library. From the Glasgow Herald to the Graphic, from the Illustrated Police News to the Preston Chronicle, the collection greatly enhances research into the history, society and culture of the UK from 1800 to 1950. The website also offers contextual essays regarding the role of newspapers in the Victorian age, bibliographic head-notes and a chronological overview.
British Newspaper Archive
Excellent resource for local and regional English newspapers.
Searching is free if you don't have a personal subscription. Oxfordshire County libraries provide free access to the full-text .
British Periodicals (1681-1939) British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. On completion this unique digital archive will consist of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled record of more than two centuries of British history and culture. Provides access to the full-text of nearly 460 British popular and literary periodicals published from the 17th century to the early 20th century. Includes amongst others the Anti-Slavery Reporter, London Review, Royal Magazine or Gentleman’s Monthly Companion, some religious titles such as The Wesleyan-Methodist Magazine. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, architecture, drama, the fine arts and the social sciences.

C

CAMP (Cooperative Africana Materials Project) The Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP) promotes the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa and collects newspapers as well as other materials such as journals, government publications, personal and corporate archives, and the personal papers of scholars and government leaders. The Bodleian is a member of CAMP and can borrow microfilms from CAMP holdings.
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876 Fully searchable 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers which are useful for studying colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. Most of these newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Spanish-, French-, and Danish-language titles are also provided. Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Also found within this resource are newspapers from Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region and integrally related to this region.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975) Considered the most influential black weekly newspaper by the advent of World War I, with more than two thirds of its readership base located outside of Chicago.
China Core Newspapers Database (English) Collects academic and informative documents from core newspapers in China since 2000. Access is available for content up to 2016.
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This collection of 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers gives an insight to Chinese political and social life from 1832 to 1953. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads. The collection includes major newspapers from Peking, Shanghai and Canton as well as the important missionary publications Chinese Repository and Chinese Recorder.
Christian Science Monitor [RSL 1975-2000 (Weekly international edition), 2005-]Also online via Nexis UK 1980-
Chronicling America Provides access to thousands of digitised pages of a wide range of newspapers from 1860-1922, as well as bibliographic information about newspapers published in the United States from 1690 to the present, including listings of libraries in the States that have copies.More information on VHL resources blog.
Compact Memory: German-Jewish Periodicals and Newspapers from the 18th to 20th centuries Search through more than 100 Jewish language newspapers and periodicals published in the German-speaking world between 1806 and 1938. Browse through issues of individual titles by date, or search within titles or across newspapers by article title, article keyword, or author. A full-text search is being developed.
Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report/CQ Weekly
[VHL xJK 1 .C15 1953-2007]
Also available online 1983-
To search past issues, choose 'Advanced search' > 'Show all sources' and select congress.
Correio da Manhã (Lisbon)
Daily, founded in 1979. Has large circulation, considered a bit like the Daily Mail. Online: 2008 to current in Factiva (some gaps, not premium content); 22 June 2012 - current in Nexis.
Corriere della Sera (Milan)
Broadsheet founded in 1876. Hardcopy: 1876:mar./dic-1945/1946 [microfilm] shelfmark: Film 817; v.65:n.127(1940:magg.:27)-v.66:n.5(1941:magg.:06) shelfmark: N. 2368 a.5; 1972-1990 [microfilm] shelfmark: Films 817; Online: Archive (1876-2017) [note: only searching is free]; 1997- in Factiva
La Croix
Founded in 1880 as a Roman Catholic newspaper. Online: 1880-1994 in Gallica. From 2005 in Factiva. From 1995 in Nexis.
Couranten
The Couranten Corpus comprises the seventeenth-century Dutch newspapers available on Delpher. The oldest surviving newspapers were published in 1618.
more...less...
This sizeable corpus currently contains the contents of 13 newspapers, 109.532 articles and 18.926.425 words. The information in these newspapers is of interest to researchers of various disciplines, ranging from historians to historical linguists, literature scholars and art historians.

In the future, transcriptions of newly digitised newspapers from the seventeenth century and newspapers from the eighteenth century will be added to the Couranten Corpus.
Cumhuriyet Digital Archive (1924-2020) Established in May 1924, Cumhuriyet (“The Republic”) is the oldest secular Turkish daily newspaper and is widely considered one of the last remaining opposition newspapers in Turkey. Founded by journalist Yunus Nadi Abalıoğlu at the initiative of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, Cumhuriyet was the first newspaper of the Turkish Republic and promoted a belief in democracy, secularism and the rule of law. It is one of the most influential newspapers in Turkey and is regarded by domestic and foreign readers as a reliable source for impartial, intelligent news reporting.

D

Daily Express, 1900- A daily national middle-market tabloid newspaper in the UK. It is the flagship of Express Newspapers, a subsidiary of Northern & Shell. It was first published as a broadsheet in 1900 by Sir Arthur Pearson. Its sister paper, the Sunday Express, was launched in 1918. Express Newspapers also publishes the Daily Star and Daily Star Sunday.
The Daily Mail
Founded in 1896. Hardcopy: 1896:Feb.-1945:Dec. & 1975: Mar/Apr - 2008:Mar.28-31 [partly microfilm]. From 1981 online in Factiva.
Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2016
From 1981 online in Factiva.

The Daily Mail is a well-known British daily tabloid newspaper, whose circulation figures have consistently been among the highest in Britain since its publication. This resource provides access to more than 100 years of this publication. The archive is an invaluable source for all manner of projects on British and world history, politics, society, culture, publishing, and much more. In its aim to represent the working middle-class and actively campaign for particular causes, it provides an important vocal alternative perspective to other newspapers. The resource also includes fully scanned and digitised copies of the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which were edited and produced on the White Star and Cunard liners between Southampton and New York between 1923 and 1931. Because there were no legal deposit requirements for these unique off-shore editions of the newspaper, which differ in many ways from that days printed Daily Mail, they are not held in any Legal Deposit library.

The resource can be viewed in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories and images that capture 20th century culture and society.

This resource was acquired in February 2018 thanks to a generous donation by the Daily Mail and General Trust.
Daily Mirror (1903-2000) Originally a “newspaper for women by women”, the Mirror was first in the world to carry photographs; at its height, it had the largest daily UK circulation. Apart from providing more populist or extreme views, advertising, for instance, gives a fascinating insight into its intended readership. Again, much is covered, from politics, economics, social affairs to cultural affairs.
Daily Star, 2000- A daily tabloid newspaper published from Monday to Saturday in the UK since 2 November 1978. On 15 September 2002 a sister Sunday edition was launched.
Daily Star Sunday (2002-) A weekly tabloid newspaper published in the United Kingdom. It was launched as a sister title to the Daily Star on 15 September 2002. The Daily Star Sunday is published by Express Newspapers, which along with the Daily Star also publishes the Daily Express and Sunday Express.
Daily Telegraph
Founded in 1855. Hardcopy: July /Dec 1856-Sept 1937 [microfilm] - 1969:Oct.:21-. Online: 2000- in Factiva.
See also Telegraph Historical Archive 1855-2016
Delpher - Boeken Kranten Tijdschriften A portal giving access to over 8 million digitised images of Dutch newspapers, starting in the 1620s but being strongest in the 19th and 20th centuries. You can search by keyword but also use some visualised browsing features by date and by title.
Deutsches Zeitungsportal / German Newspaper Portal Provides access to digitised historical newspapers from German cultural and scientific institutions, covering 1671 to 1950. A sub-portal of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (German Digital Library), it collates newspaper holdings and collections. You can search full-text or find newspapers via title, place of publication or publication date.
more...less...
Launched in October 2021, this resource has 247 newspapers, 591,837 newspaper issues and a total of 4,464,846 newspaper pages from nine libraries. In the long run it should provide access to all digitised historical newspapers which are held in German cultural and scientific institutions.
Diário de Notícias (Lisbon)
Daily, founded in December 1864. Online July 2021 - current in Factiva.
digiPress - Das Zeitungsportal der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek Digital newspaper portal of the Bavarian State Library, Germany. Emphasis is on Bavarian newspapers but others from e.g. Berlin are also selectively present. Covers newspapers from the 17th century to the early 20th century. Options include to select by newspaper title, full-text search or search by date.

E

Early American Newspapers. 1690-1876
On microfilm. [Guide: VHL: Bib. xPN 4855 .E18 1987]. Collection of colonial and early national period newspapers from all 13 original states. VHL holds Series 1 (79 titles) in microform. For a full list of newspapers held on microform at the VHL, click here. Available online for British Library readers
East African Newspapers The twentieth and early twenty-first centuries were a time of great change for Africa. In East Africa, this time witnessed the growth of decolonization as independence movements swelled, and local, autonomous self-governance took hold throughout the region. This period was also punctuated by famine, drought, political uprisings, border disputes, and war as countries worked to navigate the post-colonial landscape. The East African Newspapers collection provides insight into this region during this critical time, featuring key newspapers from the region from the 1940s to the mid 2010s. This collection includes over 800,000 pages total from three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda).
Ebony
[VHL 300.42 s. 15 1945-1954, 1958-2008]
Online via Nexis UK 1984-
Online via Google Books 1959-2008
Les Échos
Founded in 1908. Online: from 1997 in Factiva.
The Economist (Online)
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2020) Provides authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. The Economist incorporated the Bankers' Gazette and Railway Monitor from 1845 to 1932, it also described itself as "a political, literary and general newspaper". The database covers 8,000 issues and more than 600,0000 pages, offering full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers (via the browse by date option). Maps, images and financial tables can be searched separately. The international coverage of the Economist is well known, but it’s worthwhile remembering that social and cultural aspects are also reported on, such as theatre reviews.
Eighteenth Century Journals A digital collection of 18th century journals published between 1693 and 1799, including many rare or ephemeral titles drawn from the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Centre, University of Texas at Austin. The journals are invaluable to the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century, including crime, sport, advertising, the theatre; fashion; politics, revolution; agriculture; social issues and society life. There are also polemics, poetry, letters to the press, reviews of drama and novels, contemporary adverts and essays on almost every conceivable topic.
EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971 Access to over 130 digitised newspapers published by and for ethnic groups in the United States, particularly those of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.
Ethnic NewsWatch Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990. Alongside the current module, the complete collection also includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Europeana Newspapers A resource giving access to 18 million historic newspaper pages, freely accessible in the public domain. Aims to convert 10 million newspaper pages to full text. You can search or browse in various ways (title, date, language, library).
Expresso (Lisbon)
Weekly, founded in January 1973. Online: 2013- current in Factiva

F

Factiva Largely for contemporary newspapers (1980s-). Provides essential news for America and Europe with a collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers. Excellent for national but also local, regional newspapers and specialist or professional news. Much overlap with Nexis UK. If you can't find a newspapers in Factiva, then try also Nexis UK
more...less...
For help, see Factiva user guide.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) 1974-1996 [selections] The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years. Oxford has access is to the following geographical collections: Middle East and North Africa, 1974–1987 Near East and South Asia, 1987–1996 South Asia, 1980–1987 Sub-Saharan Africa, 1974–1980 and Africa, 1987–1996 Eastern Europe, 1974–1996 Latin America, 1974-1996 Soviet Union, 1974-1991 Central Eurasia, 1992-1996 Western Europe, 1974-1996 The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.
Le Figaro
Founded in 1826. Hardcopy: 1 May 1829-31 Dec. 1831 and 1966:Jan.-1990:Dec.. Online: 1854 until
1942 in Gallica. From 1996 available online in Factiva and Nexis.
Financial Times (1888-2010) Founded in 1888, The Financial Times Historical Archive provides an online, fully-searchable facsimile run of the London edition of the FT. Each item in this complete collection is categorized by both subject and topic, with every individual article, advertisement and market listing included and searchable for retrieval individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day. Post-2010 issues can be found in Nexis. Note there is a 30-day embargo.
The Financial Times Online Access to subscriber-rated content and a Power Search facility that gives access to 8 years of the FT, along with 22 million articles from 500 of the world's leading business press publications. This resource requires you to register before use.
Fortune
[BOD 1930-1943, 1953-1959, 1963-1978]
Online via Business Source Complete 1992-
Frankfurter Allgemeine [Zeitung]
Founded in 1949. Hardcopy: Nr.1(1965:Jan.)-Nr.303(1971:Dez.) and 1972:Jan.-1993:Nov.
Frankfurter Rundschau Founded in 1945.
Fuggerzeitung / Fugger newsletters The term Fuggerzeitungen is used in the German-speaking world as a general synonym for sixteenth-century handwritten newsletters which were attached to correspondence of the Fugger family, a 15th and 16th century merchant and banking family based in Augsburg. The project has indexed by place, people, and topic these newsletters. They cover the years 1568 to 1605. The news are largely on politics and war.

G

Gallica: La presse coloniale sur Gallica Access to 29 digitised 19th and 20th century French colonial newspapers including Revue de l'histoire des colonies françaises (1913-1931), Revue de l'Orient (1843-1865), etc.
Gallica: local and regional newspapers Digitised historical French newspapers for the following regions: Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine - Aquitaine - Limousin Poitou-Charentes - Auvergne Rhône-Alpes - Bourgogne Franche-Comté - Bretagne - Centre Val de Loire - Corse - Hauts-de-France - Ile-de-France - Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrenées - Normandie - Outre-mer - Pays de la Loire - Provence-Alpes-Côte-d'Azur
Gallica - newspapers Gallica gives the full text of several important French newspapers including Le Figaro (1826-1942), Le temps (1861-1939), L'humanité (1904-1944)
Gazeta de Lisboa (Lisbon)
Published between 1715 and 1820. Hardcopy: no.1(1751:Jan.)-no.52(1751:Dec.); no.1(1758:Jan.)-no.52(1758:Dec.); selection online 1715-1726, 1728-1752, 1754, 1756-59, 1761-62, 1778-1790, 1810 (Hemeroteca Digital)
Le gazetier universel: ressources numériques sur la presse ancienne The Gazetier universel is a virtual library of the press of the Ancien Régime. It gives online access to more than 320 French language periodicals of the 17th and 18th centuries. It is regularly updated. To access a particular item click on the name of the library providing the digitized version.
La gazette (de France)
The first weekly French newspaper founded by Théophrast Renaudot in Paris in 1631. Incomplete set of scans for 1631-1792
Gazette de Leyde, ou, Les Nouvelles extraordinaires de divers endroits Published between 1611 and 1811 in Leiden (Leyde). Digitised scans for 1750-1793.
Google News Archive
Allows you to browse the thousands of pages of newspapers digitised by the Google Books project directly.
See this blog post for more guidance on searching and navigating the archive.
Granma Weekly Review [official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Cuba.]
year 1:no.1(1966:Feb.20)-year 6:no.52(1971:Dec.26); reel no.7(1972)-reel no.10(1975);1976-1988,1991
Cont. as Granma international 1991-1995
Guardian (1821-2003) / Observer (1791-2003)
Founded in 1821 as the Manchester Guardian, becoming The Guardian in 1959 (and moving to London in 1964), The Guardian is an important British newspaper which gives readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past 200 years. Originally the voice of Manchester’s liberal industrial middle classes, in the past fifty years its readership has included an increasing proportion of public sector workers, and the newspaper has a reputation for following a liberal/ social democratic political stance. Ownership of the newspaper passed to a trust in 1936. Although it’s a national newspaper, you can see that reports from the provinces are included. Advertising likewise provide a fascinating insight into daily life and economic history as well as business histories. Post-2003 issues can be found in Nexis or Factiva.

H

Harper's Magazine
Formerly Harper's Monthly Magazine, Harper's New Monthly Magazine
[BOD 1880- (European edition pre-1917)]
[EFL 1880-1903, 1908-1909]
Online via Making of America 1850-1899
Online via Hathi Trust (various 19th century volumes)
Harper's Weekly [VHL Stack 1861-1865]Noted for its Civil War coverage
Historic German Newspapers Online (EuroDocs) Includes newspapers in Germany. The emphasis is on historical newspaper holdings; lists of current online editions can be found in the Internet Public Library and elsewhere. General news is the main focus; specialized, narrow, trade or niche newspapers are not well represented. Fairly good coverage of different regions and towns.
Historical Newspapers Online (United States)
L'Humanité
Founded in 1904 by Jean Jaurès & has communist leanings. Online: 1904 to 1944 in Gallica. From 2007 in Factiva.

I

ILISS Guide to African Newspapers
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) Founded in 1842, this resource providers researchers with access to 150 years of British social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising, graphic design and politics, as well as those interested in genealogy. With its debut in 14 May 1842, the ILN became the world’s first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, marking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events – including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts and science – with coverage in the first issue ranging from the Great Fire of Hamburg to Queen Victoria’s fancy dress ball at Buckingham Palace.
Illustrierte Magazine der Klassischen Moderne A rich and esthetically top-rate German source for the history of the period between the wars with regard to everyday life, culture, communication, design and photography. Our website offers the complete inventories of "Querschnitt", "UHU", "Kriminal-Magazin", "Jüdische Magazin", "Auto-Magazin" and "Revue des Monats", furthermore all issues of the years 1928-1933 of four more titles. Ten of the most important German-language magazines of the period with roughly 650 issues, with 75,000 printed pages and more than 50,000 illustrations have for the first time been compiled virtually and made available to both researchers as well as to readers interested in cultural history.
The Independent Historical Archive 1986-2016
From 19 September 1988 online in Nexis.

Ever since it was launched in 1986, The Independent has enjoyed a reputation for quality and innovation, something Andreas Whittam-Smith and his two co-founders, Stephen Glover and Matthew Symonds, made as a guiding principle when they conceived the idea of a new, upmarket British newspaper.
The Independent on Sunday
Hardcopy: 1990:Jan.:28-no.1359(2016:Mar. 20); 1990-2016 in Factiva and Nexis. Ceased in 2016.
Índice de publicações periódicas digitalizadas Part of HEMEROTECA DIGITAL, The Hemeroteca Municipal de Lisboa (HML) is a digital library of the periodical press in Portugal and was created by the Municipal Library of Lisbon.
Innsbrucker Zeitungsarchiv zur Deutsch- und Fremdsprachigen Literatur A digital newspaper collection for literary criticism and literature in the German-speaking world. Includes contributions published in 6 regional daily & weekly newspapers and in 47 other political and cultural magazines, entertainment magazines and magazines of the German-speaking countries (Germany, Austria, Switzerland, South Tyrol, Liechtenstein and Luxembourg).
International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1888-2013 Sold in over 160 countries and read worldwide, the International Herald Tribune is one of the most innovative and original newspapers, famous for its objective and clear coverage. Bringing an international perspective, it provides a valuable counterpoint to the Anglo-American press, adding a new dimension to research. The International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 features the complete run of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.
Irish Newspaper Archives & Radical Irish Newspaper Archive INA provides access to over the archive of 110+ Irish national and regional newspapers, covering over 300 years of Irish culture, history, and politics. It includes, for instance, Freeman’s Journal, Irish Press and Irish Independent, but also regional publications such as the Dublin Evening Post. The Radical Irish Newspaper Archive includes 100+ titles covering a broad sweep of nationalist, republican, feminist, and socialist publications covering mostly the revolutionary period 1913–23. This collection will also be useful to researchers of the post-independent Ireland.
The Irish Times (1859-2015) / Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958) Founded originally as a moderate Protestant Irish nationalist newspaper, it was a predominantly Unionist until the 1930s. It is an important source for studies on Irish history and culture, but also Irish views on international events. The Irish Times passed into the ownership of a trust in 1974.

J

The Japan Times Archives Online (1897-2014) From its inception in 1897(Meiji 30), The Japan Times has been Japan's most widely read English-language daily newspaper, providing very wide coverage of world and domestic news, business and politics.
The Japan Times Online (1999-present) Access to post-1998 articles from Japan's most important English-language daily.
Jara'id - A Chronology of Nineteenth-Century Periodicals in Arabic (1800-1900) This is a useful catalogue list of most periodicals published in Arabic or in Arabic and in another language or in Arabic written in a different script during the period from 1800 to 1900. This services does not make a distinction between newspaper (jarīda or ṣaḥīfa) and magazine (majalla), which were often both called simply jūrnāl during the period covered. Please note that digitized versions of the newspapers are not included.
Jiefangjun Bao (PLA Daily) (1956- ) The PLA Daily, which started its publication on January 1, 1956, is the authoritative media of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army (PLA) to release military news and comprehensive military-related information and is the official newspaper of the Central Military Commission.

K

Kavkaz Digital Archive (DA-KVZ) – (Global Press Archive Platform)
Kavkaz Digital Archive (DA-KVZ) – (Universal Database Platform) The newspaper Kavkaz (Кавказ, The Caucasus) was published during 1846-1918. It was the first Russian-language newspaper in the Caucasus, published in Tiflis (Tbilisi), Georgia. The main purpose of the newspaper was, on the one hand, to promote the Russian culture and Russian influence in the Caucasus, and on the other hand “to acquaint the Russian public with the life, habits and traditions of the tribes populating the province of the Caucasus.” Kavkaz published official documents of the Russian Empire, as well as many historical, cultural and archeological writings by prominent public and cultural figures of the local intelligentsia. Kavkaz Digital Archive is available on the Universal Database (UDB) platform and the Global Press Archive (GPA) platform; they provide a slightly different viewing experience but include the same content.
Kranten in Krantenbankzeeland Contains a collection of newspapers from Zeeland (westernmost province of the Netherlands) compiled by the Zeeland Library. The digital collection includes only selected regional newspapers.

L

Latin American Newspapers (1805-1922) This important online collection provides more than 30 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere, the collection offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the region between 1805 and 1922.
Libération Founded in 1973. The Taylor Institution Library currently subscribe to the paper version of this weekly (term-time only) and it is to be found in the MLF (Teaching Collection).
La Libre Belgique (La Libre) Founded in founded in 1884 and one of Belgium's most important French newspaper.
Life
[BOD 1936-1938, 1944-1955]
Online via Google Books1953-1972
The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 under its director-general, Lord Reith. It was developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks, initially on radio, but in later years television as well, and was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine Radio Times. The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. In addition to commenting on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, the Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books.
Literarische Expressionismus Online Literarische Expressionismus Online provides online access to 151 journals, yearbooks, collections and anthologies of the early 20th century (1910-1930) with almost 79,000 full text pages. Important not only for German literature but also a wide range of subjects including art, film, history, music, politics and theology.

M

Magazines on Google Books
Browsable access to a range of magazines digitised as part of the Google Books project.
See this blog post for guidance on searching and navigating the site.
Mercure de France
Founded as Mercure galant in 1672. Hardcopy: selected years. Online for 1672 to 1674, 1678 to 1682 and 1890 à 1935 in Gallica
Mercure françois The Mercure françois is often seen as a precursor to the modern newspaper. Published since 1605 and from 1611 onwards by the Richer brothers in Paris, the Mercure françois covered important political, religious and international news providing chronological accounts of these events and including detailed reports. Digitised scans for 1605-1643.
Il Messaggero (Rome) Broadsheet founded in 1878. Has regional editions.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers Premium Collection (CRL-WIDE1) The MENA Premium collection package complements the freely available Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers Open Access collection. Comprising five prominent in-copyright newspapers from across the region, the MENA Premium collection spans the period of 1956-2019 and represents a collaboration between East View and the publishers of each title to make current, in-copyright material available to a global audience. MENA Premium Collection Titles include al-Akhbār (االخبار ,Lebanon, 2006-2019), al-Dustūr (الدستور ,Jordan, 1967-2000), al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية ,Egypt, 1962-1986), al-Riyāḍ (الرياض ,Saudi Arabia, 1972-1996) and Filasṭīn (فلسطين ,Israel/Palestine, 1956-1967).
Le Monde
France most important daily newspaper. Founded in 1944. Hardcopy: 1946-1985 (microfilm). 2006-2010 available in Business Source Ultimate
El Mundo (Madrid)
Daily founded in October 1989. Second largest newspaper in Spain. 1 June 2002 - current in Nexis; 2 Jan 1995 - current in Factiva.

N

Nashriyah: digital Iranian history This project led by the University of Manchester Library provides digital versions of Iranian newspapers and periodicals many of which have previously been difficult to access. The provision of this collection supports the work of students and researchers interested in modern and contemporary Iranian history by enabling them to explore key events as they happened. The collection’s main coverage is: the premiership of Mohammad Mossadegh and the August 1953 coup d'état against his government (1950-53), the 1979 Revolution, and the late 1990s/early 2000s ‘reform era’ of former President Mohammad Khatami. Containing more than 12,000 pages, the collection is freely accessible without restriction.
The Nation (1865-) America's oldest and most widely read weekly journal of progressive political and cultural news, opinion and analysis. Also Microfilm: VHL Micr. USA 90-105 (1865-1901) Print: VHL Stack (1883-1920) Print: VHL xAP 2 .N2 (1921-)
National Journal
1977- Print VHL xJK 1 .N28
2011- online via www.nationaljournal.com
1996-2016 online via Factiva (Search for 'National Journal' as source)
National Review, 1955- Also [VHL Micr. USA 317 1955-1960, 1963-1964, 1980-81] [VHL xAP 2 .N3545 1991-] Conservative magazine founded by William F. Buckley, Jr.
La Nazione (Florence) One of Italy's oldest broadsheet newspapers, founded in 1859.
Neue Zürcher Zeitung
Available via Factiva or Nexis.
Hardcopy: 28 Jan 1915-11 Jan 1916, Dec 1939-Dec 1964 [imperfect]; 1965:1/172(1965:Jan)-1994:Dec [microfilm]
The New Republic (1914-) Also 1914-1947 [VHL: Micr. USA 240] 1947- [VHL: xAP 2 .N624] 1998- online via Oxford University e-Journals This magazine is widely considered important in changing the character of liberalism in the direction of governmental interventionism, both foreign and domestic.
New York Magazine
[VHL 349.28 s. 3 1969-1970]
Online via Google Books1975-1997
The New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) One of the leading black newspapers of the 20th century, which reached its peak in the 1940s. The New York Amsterdam News captured the vibrancy and cultural richness of the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, advocated for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and fought against discriminatory employment practices and other civil rights abuses in the 1960s. This resource provides full coverage of seventy years worth of the newspaper's archive.
New York Times (1851-2019)
Major US newspaper and useful for tracking events, people, incidents, etc. Fully digitised and available online from 1851-2014 via ProQuest
Also available online 1980- via Nexis and Factiva.
The New Yorker [BOD 1925- (1925-1946 on microfilm)]Online via Factiva 1995-Online via Gale Cengage Shakespeare Collection 2002-
Newspapers.com [SUBSCRIPTION REQUIRED FOR FULL ACCESS] Over 800 newspapers from the 1700s-2000s. The site can be searched for free and a 7-day free trial is available, but thereafter full content is only available to paid subscribers.
Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) Online catalogue of digitised historical newspapers from the United States and Caribbean, hosted by the University of Florida. It currently links through to over 1000 titles and is expanding.
Newspapers on fold3.com (Formerly footnote.com) Approximately 4 million pages of digitised newspapers available via the fold3.com website. Not all content is available to view freely or without signing up.
NewspaperSG - Newspapers from Singapore NewspaperSG collects the archives of about 50 newspapers from Singapore in English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil. This includes the Straits Times (available from 1845-1989).
Newsweek [BOD 1949- (incomplete; international, Atlantic ed 1958-)]Online via Nexis UK 1975-Online via Business Source Complete 1990-2012Online via Factiva 1994-Online via ABI/INFORM 1998-2012
Nexis UK Largely for contemporary newspapers (1980s-). Vast database that provides access to over 20,000 news sources from all over the world. Particularly excellent for UK, North American, Australia and much of Europe. Its coverage is largely current and recent, but does go back 20 years in some cases. Also includes the BBC Monitoring Service. For UK newspapers, generally covers broadsheets from 1980s and tabloids and local/ regional newspapers from more recently. (Note: Daily Telegraph starts in 2000. FT is embargoed for 30 days) Nexis overlaps with Factiva but the two also have unique content. If you can't find a newspaper in Nexis UK, then try also Factiva. &nbsp
Nikkei Telecom21 Database provides 24-Hour Nikkei News with over 100 stories translated from Nikkei's Japanese newspapers daily, Special features with archives on key economic and political issues affecting Japan. Stock, bond and forex information with the latest reports Corporate database of over 3,300 listed and OTC companies featuring stock quotes, financial highlights and corporate profiles. Online editions of the Japan Economic Almanac Online edition of the Nikkei Weekly. Recently the Nikkei Newspaper Archive (1876-1956) has been added to the database. Note: The opening page (in Japanese) takes a while to load. Also note that we only have a three simultaneous user licence so please close your browser when you have finished.
Niles’ Register / Niles’ Weekly Register / Weekly Register. 1811-1849 [VHL Stack: 300.23 s. 9 v.1-75]A leading weekly news magazine with a large national circulation, founded by Hezekiah Niles in 1811. As anindexed and relatively comprehensive summary of events during the 1811–1849 period, the Register is considered the paper of record for its age and has long been an important resource for historians. The Register kept close track of economics, technology, science, medicine, geography, archaeology, the weather, and many stories of human interest.
NK News NK News is an independent, privately owned specialist information source that focuses on North Korea. The site intends to provide authoritative news, opinion & analysis, research tools, data and subject specialists. The service was established in April 2010 and has staff in Washington DC, Seoul, and London.
North China Herald (1850-1940) The North China Herald is the most important foreign source of Chinese news during the period of its publication. The first issue appeared in Shanghai on 3 August 1850. A daily edition appeared from 1 June 1864 with the name The North China Daily News. Universally acclaimed as the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s. Publication ceased on 8 December 1941 with the start of the Pacific War. In English.
NRC handelsblad
Founded in 1970 this is a daily evening newspaper published in the Netherlands. Hardcopy: Jaarg. 9:no. 77(1979)-1994:no.9. [microfilm]. Online: from 1990 in Nexis.

O

Old HK Newspapers The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers in Chinese and English. Offers fulltext searching. Coverage 1853 - 1984.

P

El País (Madrid) A daily founded in May 1976. Spain’s largest newspaper. Print edition 1 Feb 1995-6 Nov 2002; web edition 18 Jan 2013 - current in Factiva. 19 Apr 1996-current in Nexis.
The Pakistan Observer Founded in 1949, renamed The Bangladesh Observer in 1971. Hardcopy: 1966: MAY:24-1971:FEB:4 (INCOMPLETE) + 2 vols. supplements (1966-1977) and 2 vols. Sunday magazine (1966-1969, + 7 unbound magazines for 1970).
Le Parisien
Founded in 1944. Hardcopy: 1953-57 [incomplete holdings].
People's Daily archive (1946-2012) With publication started in June 1946 and a current circulation of 3 million, People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China For the last 70 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. Most importantly, since its inception the newspaper has been the true barometer of the political climate of Chinese society on a daily basis.
Periodici lucani in microfilm The National Library of Potenza offers access to digitized newspapers published between 1854 and 1954, the originals of which are owned, for the most part, by the National Central Library of Florence. To date over 132 titles have been digitized.
El Periódico de Catalunya (in Catalan) (in Castilian)
Founded in October 1978, second highest-circulated newspaper in Spain's Catalan-speaking regions. 22 Jan 2008 - 18 May 2018 in Nexis. Print edition 3 May 2001 - 14 June 2018; web edition 23 Sep 2013 - current in Factiva.
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957 The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957—all digitized from originals in full colour. Picture Post’s innovative use of photo-journalism captured the imagination of the British people, with readership at its peak estimated at 80% of the population. In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness.
The Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) The Pittsburgh Courier was once the most widely circulated black newspaper in the United States during the early 20th century. This resource provides access to more than ninety years of the newspaper's archive, including columns and reports from writers such as W.E.B. DuBois, Marcus Garvey, James Weldon Johnson and Zora Neale Hurston.
The Progressive
[VHL 300.48 s. 11 1948-1982]
Online via vLex 1993-
Público (Lisbon and Porto)
Daily founded in March 1990. Online: 2011 - current in Factiva.
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 From 1841 to 1992, Punch was the world's most celebrated magazine of wit and satire. From its early years as a campaigner for social justice to its transformation into national icon, Punch played a central role in the formation of British identity—and how the rest of the world saw the British nation.

R

La Republicca (Rome)
Broadsheet founded in 1976. Online: 2005- in Factiva
Réseau francophone des bibliothèques numériques Gives access to a range of digital libraries (some of them with collections of digitized newspapers) including Gallica.

S

San Francisco Chronicle (1869-1984) Though it was Northern California’s “newspaper of record,” the San Francisco Chronicle’s influence was so far-reaching that it was known as the Voice of the West. With colorful reporting and commentary on news ranging from the aftermath of the Gold Rush to the effects of World War II to the counterculture boom of the 1960s, the Chronicle offers an unparalleled glimpse into the issues and events that shaped the West Coast for over a century.
The Scotsman (1817-1950) The Scottish national newspaper which is published in Edinburgh. It was launched in 1817 as a liberal weekly newspaper. It is an important source of information for Scottish/Celtic studies, world history, literature and the arts, foreign policy, conflict resolution, and migration studies.
Shenbao (1872-1949) / Shen Bao (1872-1949) Established in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic in 1949. The newspaper was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, was written by Chinese reporters for Chinese readers.
Le Soir
The other important French-language Belgium daily newspaper, founded in 1887. Hardcopy: Jan. 1980-Sept. 1988 only [microfilm]
Il Sole 24 Ore (Milan) Broadsheet founded in 1965.
South African newspapers on the internet (Stanford University)
South Asian Newspapers The South Asian Newspapers collection covers several countries, including Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal and Pakistan, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, English, Marathi and Nepali. With reportage dating as far back as the 1850s, the South Asian Newspapers collection provides coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the 19th and 20th centuries. This is an open access resource.
South Asian Newspapers: Historical Newspapers from South Asia (Readex) Online access to a select group of South Asian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries, including such titles as Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Kayasare Hinda (Bombay), Pioneer (Allahabad, India), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).
The Spectator (1828-2000) An important British weekly magazine which is generally considered to be right-of-centre and conservative. It focuses largely on political and cultural aspects. One feature of this database is that you can look at the spread of your search term in the different publication dates.
Der Spiegel
Online: archive from 1947- via their website (free access upto 2013). Also available online from 1996 via Factiva .
Founded in 1947 as a weekly news magazine, based in Hamburg. Well known for its investigative journalism. A gallery of covers is available.
La Stampa (Turin) prev. Gazzetta Piemontese (1867-1894)
Online archive (9 Feb 1867- 2005); Hardcopy: 1862-65 shelfmark: P.L00208; 1992- in Nexis
Süddeutsche Monatshefte
Founded in 1904. Hardcopy: Jan. 1904 - Sept. 1936. [microfilm]. Online: selections in archive.org.
Süddeutsche Zeitung
Online from 3 Jan 1994.
Founded in 1904. Hardcopy: 1989:Juli 1/2 - 1989:Dez.30/31-1990:Jan.1 [incomplete holdings]
Sunday Express (2000-) A tabloid newspaper launched in 1918, the Sunday Express is a sister publication to the Daily Express. Express Newspapers also publishes the Daily Star and Daily Star Sunday.
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2016 Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own remit and perspective on the news.
e-newspaperarchives.ch (Switzerland) Online access to titles digitized by the Swiss National Library and its cantonal partners. Include e.g. St.Galler Zeitung 1831 - 1881, Le Journal de Genève, l Grigione italiano 1852 – 2011, Die Ostschweiz 1874 - 1900, Zuger Volksblatt 1861 - 1900, etc.
The Sydney Morning Herald In Oxford: Hardcopy 1843-1971, Microfilm: 1972-1995. Available online 1842 until (and including) 1954 (Trove) and from 1986 (Factiva).

T

The Telegraph Historical Archive 1855-2016
From 2000- in Factiva.
The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 has over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years
De Telegraaf Founded in 1893, the largest Dutch daily newspaper.
Le Temps Provides full-text for the following three French Swiss newspapers: Gazette de Lausanne (1798-1998), Le nouveau quotidien (1991-1998), Journal de Genève (1826-1998)
Time Magazine Archive (1923-2000) The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000. Focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects, the Time Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.
The Times Digital Archive (1785-2019) Arguably the most important British national paper. The subscription doesn’t include Sunday Times and supplements. You can find much information on cultural affairs, such as a plays and operas, Law reports and court circulars, etc. Supplementary research tools are useful, helping you for instance with old currency.
The Times Supplements (1910-1916) The Times Supplements consist of a series of full-text searchable, geographically-based issues, originally published between 1910 and 1916, as supplements of The Times. The Supplements cover various aspects of mainly South America, Russia and then Japan. Dedicated issues to World War I and one-off special issues were also published.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2019) This rich, easy-to-navigate database is ideal for students and researchers of English literature and other humanities or social science subjects. Unparalleled opportunities for tracking the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th century are now possible in a powerful digital environment. More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the TLS are available, and-for the first time-the identities of anonymous contributors are disclosed.
The Times of India (1838-2010) Founded in 1838 as the Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce, is one of the major English-language newspapers of South Asia
Trove Digitized Newspapers (1803-1955) (Australia) Newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s to the mid-1950s, when copyright applies. The first Australian newspaper, Sydney Gazette and New South Wales Advertiser, published in Sydney in 1803, is included in the service. Newly digitised articles are added daily.

U

L'Unità
Founded by Antonio Gramsci in 1924. It ceased in 2014, restarted 2015 but ceased again in 2017. Hardcopy: anno.43:n.22(1993:giugno:07);anno.46:n.15(1996:apr:22).
US News & World Report [VHL xJK 1 .U65 1948-2010 (ceased publication in print)]Formerly United States News: [VHL xJK 1 .U65 1940-1947]Online via Nexis UK 1975-Online via Business Source Complete 1990-2010Online via ABI/INFORM 2010-

V

La Vanguardia (Barcelona)
Founded in 1881, Catalonia’s leading daily, Spain’s fourth largest. Free access to their entire archive (since 1881). More than 135 years of history, searchable by keyword, date or theme. There is a 30-day moving wall. For current news: 4 May 1997 - current in Factiva.
Vogue Archive Complete digital archive of American Vogue from 1892-present

Voices from wartime France, 1939-1945 [microform] : clandestine resistance and Vichy newspapers from the British Library Newspaper Library at Colindale, London by Robert Tombs, Isabelle Tombs (eds)
ISBN: 9780753658857
Publication Date: 2003

Vossische Zeitung (Berlinische Zeitung von Staats- und Gelehrten Sachen)
A Berlin-based renowned liberal newspaper, founded in 1721 and ceased in 1934. Hardcopy: 1932, nr. 490, 547, 552, 570; 1933, nr. 122-125, 143, 151. Online: 1918-1934 via Zefys.

W

Wall Street Journal, 1984-
Also BOD microfilms 1986-2000
Washington Post. 1877-1998 Particularly strong for 20th century history. Also available online 1977- via Nexis and 1984- via Factiva.
The Weekly Gleaner
available online from 2002-2017.
Welsh Newspapers Online (1844-1919) Free online resource from the National Library of Wales where readers can discover millions of articles from the Library’s rich collection of historical newspapers. You can search and access over 250,000 pages from 24 newspaper publications up to 1919 and will grow to over 1 million pages as more publications are added. Newspapers include Aberystwyth Observer, South Wales Star, Aberdare Times, Celt (Bala) and many others.
Die Welt
Founded in 1949. Online: 1999- in Nexis.
West Indian gazette and Afro-Asian-Caribbean news
(Nov.1959-Feb.1965) [microform]
Wikipedia list of online newspaper archives Comprehensive list of newspaper archives available online, both free and subscription-only.
Wise Search WiseSearch is a Hong Kong based news provider that covers Mainland China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macao. Included are the archives of major Chinese newspapers from the national to the city level. WiseSearch also includes news published online, such as business reports, blogs and social media content.
World News Connection Archive 1995-2013 Provides access to over 1 million newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines, from around the world and translated into English by the US Government. The service ceased in 2013.
World newspaper Archive: African Newspapers, 1800-1922 [Not in Oxford but readers registered with the British Library can have remote access. This may be temporarily disrupted following the cyberattack on the BL in Nov 2023.] An online collection provides more than 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring English and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. African Newspapers offers unparalleled coverage of the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples between 1800 and 1922. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative updates, letters, poetry, advertisements, matrimony and death notices, this unique collection chronicles the evolution of cultures and countries across Sub-Saharan Africa during a time of drastic change. From repercussions of the Atlantic slave trade, life under colonial rule and the results of the Berlin Conference to the emergence of Black journalism, the Zulu Wars and the rejection of Western imperialism, these newspapers provide a wide range of viewpoints on diverse cultures. Key publications as the East African Standard, Mombasa Times & Uganda Argus (Kenya), Leselinyana la Lesutho (Lesotho), Central African Times (Malawi), Beira Post (Mozambique), Lagos Standard (Nigeria), Mafeking Mail and Protectorate Guardian (South Africa), Sierra Leone Weekly News (Sierra Leone), Uganda Herald (Uganda), Buluwayo Chronicle (Zimbabwe) and more than 50 others.

Y

Yomidasu Rekishikan (Yomiuri Shinbun) (1874- )
Online newspaper resource on two newspapers from Yomiuri Shinbunsha,
Japan: Yomiuri Shinbun and The Daily Yomiuri. 'Yomiuri Shinbun' DB also
includes built-in dictionaries, such as 'Imidasu' and 'Kokugo, Ei-wa,
Wa-ei jisho', which can all be searched from the text in articles on
screen, with one click.
Dates covered for Yomiuri Shinbun, newspaper in Japanese, is from
Sōkangō (no.1) in 1874 to a day before the current date.

Z

Zefys Zeitungsinformationssystem ZEFYS provides currently more than 281.990 issues from 192 historical newspapers from Germany and foreign newspapers in German. Largely useful for 19th and early 20th century.
Die Zeit: Wochenzeitung für Politik, Wirtschaft, Handel und Kultur
Online via Nexis.
A weekly newspaper, founded in 1946. Hardcopy: Jahrg.44:Nr.29 (1989:Juli 14) - Jahrg.44:Nr.48 (1989:Nov.24); last six months (term-time only)
Zeitschriften der deutschen Aufklärung
Zeitungen des 17. Jahrhunderts A resource giving access to digitised 17th century German-speaking newspapers. This is by no means comprehensive. Coverage for Hamburg, Vienna, Frankfurt, Cologne Nuremberg, Bremen and many more.
Zeitungsausschnitte Literaturhaus Wien A bibliographical tool to search One million newspaper articles and small pamphlets (theatrical programs, book covers, publishing brochures, announcements, etc.) since the 1960s, of which 800,000 in paper form, and historical special collections (some dating back to 1800). Since 1997, the newspaper clippings have been digitized and can only be used at the Literaturhaus. Daily, weekly and monthly newspapers and magazines of the entire German-speaking area are evaluated for content on Austrian authors, literary and cultural enterprises, cultural policy, and linguistics.

Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries: A-Z by title

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

M

N

O

P

R

S

T

U

V

W

Y

Z