Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries: Caribbean region
A guide to historical and current newspapers and news sources, covering the 17th to 21st centuries. Includes searching tips, outline common problems and lists key resources available to Oxford scholars.
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society, this collection gives scholars access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, cultures and daily life. Featuring more than 140 newspapers from 22 islands, it chronicles the region’s evolution across two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items. Most titles are in English but a number of Spanish, French, and Danish language titles are also provided. Also included are newspapers from the North Atlantic island of Bermuda.
CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL continues to add historical and current newspapers through ongoing digitization and born-digital curation, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.
Colonial British Caribbean Newspapers: a bibliography and directory by Haoward PactorThis book is a milestone achievement in the documentation of the newspapers of the British Caribbean islands, a field that, until now, has been neglected by many scholars. The existing and bygone papers, and several commonly unknown publications, listed in this work provide a wealth of information about these obscure times. No other work, before this one, has been as extensive in its documentation and coverage of the individual papers. Of special assistance is the index, which completes the work. This bibliography seeks to determine the extent of newspaper publications in the British Caribbean colonies and to organize it into a useful form. In the past, researchers have either ignored or given brief and scattered coverage to this information, but with Colonial British Caribbean Newspapers, Pactor hopes to make this information available to scholars. His book lists information about the known newspapers of the British Colonial Caribbean, arranged alphabetically by colony and chronologically within each colony. Dates of publications and names of editors, publishers, and owners are given, if known. The newspapers are also listed in an index. It is hoped that a work of this sort may make access to these newspapers easier for scholarly research and call attention to the need to find and preserve these fragile resources. Historians, sociologists, and mass communication scholars will be especially appreciative of Pactor's efforts.
This book sheds light on the archipelagic relations of two African Caribbean newspapers in the early decades of the nineteenth century and analyzes their medium-specific interventions in the struggle for emancipation and on a white-dominated communication market.
Early African Caribbean Newspapers as Archipelagic Media in the Emancipation Age shows how two African Caribbean newspapers in the early decades of the nineteenth century worked towards emancipation across both material and immaterial lines through medium-specific interventions. More concretely, this book proposes an archipelagic framework for understanding the emancipatory struggles of the Antiguan Weekly Register in St. John’s and the Jamaica Watchman in Kingston. Complicating the prevalent narrative about the Register and the Watchman as organs of the free people of color, this book begins to explore the heterogeneity of Black newspaper print on the liberal spectrum. As such, Archipelagic Media and Early African Caribbean Newspapers makes the case that the Register and the Watchman participated in shaping the contemporary communication market in the Caribbean. To do so, this study engages deeply with the materiality of the newspaper and presents fresh visual material.
Early African Caribbean Newspapers as Archipelagic Media in the Emancipation Age by