History: Home

Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies

Please note that we only have a three user licence for this title so please exit when you have finished!

Manchester Medieval Sources Online is a web-based learning resource containing hundreds of original medieval history documents compiled for the teaching and study of history. It brings quality history source material to the desktops of students and teachers and is designed to be fully integrated with undergraduate courses. This is a one-stop answer for many medieval history students, academics and researchers.

Developed from the Manchester University Press Medieval Sources series, this is an exciting electronic project which will provide a full text delivery system for students, academics, colleges and universities. Bringing a vast array of information together for the first time Medieval Sourcesonline will deliver crucial history documents to the desktop quickly and easily.

Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) provides a large and growing resource of essential medieval and early modern sources online. It is an excellent way to access a large library of books essential to the study of medieval and early modern England, Scotland and Ireland. Includes selections of annals and chronicles, calendars and registers, saints’ lives, Rolls’ Series and HMC reports and Statutes of the Realm.

Scanned from older microfilms, this resource gives access to 13 collections of scanned primary sources which document the rich and evolving cultural, social, political, scientific, and religious life from the 12th to the early 18th centuries. Largely covers British and some European content. Topics include culture, literature, music, history of science & medicine, women studies, domestic life, Reformation and religious history, political history, and global travel.

The sources are largely digitised manuscripts, rare printed works, literary texts, papers of individuals, treatises, correspondence, music scores, advice books, tracts, sermons, recipe books, manuals, travel writing.

The 13 collections are:

• Arthurian Legends and the Influence of French Prose Romance: The Grail, Lancelot, Tristan and related manuscripts from the British Library
• Black Death: Sources concerning the European Plague
• Crown Servants: Papers of Wentworth, Wynns or Gwydir, Lauderdale
• Early music: Music sources from Pembroke College, Cambridge and the National Library of Scotland
• English Clandestine Satire, 1660-1704: Popular Culture, Entertainment and Information in the Early Modern Period
• Foxe and the English Reformation, c1539-1587: Collected manuscript sources from the British Library, London
• The History of Science and Technology. Series One: The Papers of Sir Hans Sloane, 1660-1753 from the British Library, London
• Masculinity: Men Defining Men and Gentlemen. Part 1: 1600-1800, Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford
• Medieval and Early Modern Women
• Orinda: The Literary Manuscripts of Katherine Philips (1631-1664)
• Renaissance Man: The Reconstructed Libraries of European Scholars, 1450-1700 Series One: The Books and Manuscripts of John Dee, 1527-1608
• Spanish Historical Writing About the New World, 1493-1700. From the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University

The Paston Family Papers have long been a subject of both literary and historical interest. They are Britain’s first surviving records of private correspondence, describing everyday life in East Anglia during the Wars of the Roses and the Black Death.

In addition the resource includes four other valuable collections relating to medieval families in Essex, Oxfordshire, Yorkshire and Warwickshire, c1400-1490.

Available printed transcriptions are full-text searchable and displayed alongside the manuscript images for the very first time. We also include a variety of 'further resources', including family trees, an interactive map and a wide range of outstanding visual sources.

This new collection from Adam Matthew Digital presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land although in this it makes no claims to full or even broad coverage: a separate collection, covering crusading and pilgrimage narratives, would be required for that. It features a number of medieval maps such as the famous ‘Beatus’ and ‘Psalter’ maps, individual manuscript illuminations, and some modern translations of key travel texts. It should become an indispensable source for scholars of medieval travel, geography, exploration, trade, literature, and the new field of medieval postcolonial studies.

Click the "Enter databases" button when you get there.

The Monumenta Germania Historica (Release 8-2008) consists of over 500 works divided into five series (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates) and thirty-three sub-series. The entire corpus covers the widest possible range of medieval documentation.

A corpus of historical works, charters, legal texts, letters, political texts, and literature from the European Middle Ages.

Please note that we only have a three user licence for the online version so please exit when you have finished!

The rolls of parliament were the official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I (1272 - 1307) until the reign of Henry VII (1485 - 1509), after which they were superseded by the journals of the lords and, somewhat later, of the commons. The rolls, which amount in total to over four million words, were first edited in the eighteenth century and published in 1783 in six folio volumes entitled Rotuli Parliamentorum ( RP) under the general editorship of the Reverend John Strachey. This new edition reproduces the rolls edited in RP in their entirety, plus those subsequently published by Cole, Maitland, and Richardson and Sayles as well as a substantial amount of material never previously published, together with a full translation of all the texts from the three languages used by the medieval clerks (Latin, Anglo-Norman and Middle English). It also includes an introduction to every parliament known to have been held by an English king (or in his name) between 1275 and 1504, whether or not the roll for that parliament survives.

Published by: Scholarly Digital Editions / The National Archives / The History of Parliament Trust / Boydell and Brewer.

Off-campus access: please use VPN. We are working towards remote access via SSO. More information on VPN: http://help.it.ox.ac.uk/network/vpn/index

German and European history of the Middle Ages.

Translated Texts for Historians makes available sources translated from Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian and Armenian, published between 300 and 800 AD. This period, from late antiquity to the early middle ages saw the transformation of the classical world, the beginnings of Europe and of Islam, and the evolution of Byzantium. Each volume provides an expert scholarly translation, with an introduction setting texts and authors in context, and with notes on content, interpretation and debates.

Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies

Please note that we only have a three user licence for this title so please exit when you have finished!

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (BWLD), includes the immediate experiences of 430 women, as revealed in approximately 80,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.

When complete, the collection will include more than 100,000 pages of primary materials spanning more than 300 years. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies.

The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Calendar of State Papers, Colonial

*Contains indexed transcripts and abstracts of accumulated papers relating to North America and the West Indies issued between 1574 and 1739. They include largely correspondence between governors and the secretaries of state, but also memoranda, etc.

Calendar of State Papers, Domestic

*Contains indexed transcripts and abstracts of the accumulated papers of the secretaries of state issues between 1547 and 1704. They contain information on almost every facet of early modern history in the form of letters, petitions, returns, memoranda, orders in council, warrants and newsletters. In progress.

Calendar of State Papers, Foreign

*Contains indexed transcripts and abstracts of the accumulated papers of the secretaries of state relating to foreign affairs. These may be documents produced by the secretaries of state or received by them as a result of their responsibilities in the conduct of British diplomacy abroad. They include correspondence with representatives (English diplomats abroad and foreign diplomats in England), original and draft treaties, letters between heads of state, intercepted despatches and other intelligence, working papers of the secretaries and material relating to military, naval and colonial policy.

Calendars of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland

*Contains indexed transcripts and abstracts of the accumulated papers of the secretaries of state relating to Scotland and Ireland issued between 1547-1588 and 1586-1601 respectively. In progress.

Between 2003 and 2007 Adam Matthew will bring together approximately 50,000 images of original documents relating to Gender Studies. The images will be sourced from about ten different libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core document images from the Bodleian Library, Oxford.

A uniquely exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. With new content uploads occurring on a weekly basis, the database offers a constantly growing treasury of theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, and polemical treatises written by more than 300 Protestant authors.

Like their Protestant counterparts, Catholic authors of the 16th and 17th centuries took advantage of print technology to create a vast treasury of published documents--a legacy that to this day has been but selectively sampled and appreciated. The Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation makes the documentary riches of this era more accessible than ever, adding powerful functionalities that maximize the flexibility with which researchers can search, view, organize, and manipulate this historically important source material. With new content uploads occurring on a regular basis, the database offers a constantly growing treasury of documents, including papal and synodal decrees, catechisms and inquisitorial manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises and systems, liturgical writings, saints' lives, and devotional works.

From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection contains over 96,000 images of titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised edition. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, theology, art and music, politics, and the history of science and medicine.

EEBO Text Creation Partnership is an extension of the EEBO image resource. The project encodes the books in XML with a version of the TEI allowing researchers to do full text and other searches. Already there are around 1500 titles online and with several hundred being added each month it is an increasingly valuable resource. The aim of the EEBO TCP project is eventually to make 25,000 books available in this way.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm, available through its imprint Primary Source Microfilm. In the most ambitious single digitization project ever undertaken, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. When complete, the product will allow full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material, in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides research opportunities in ways previously unavailable to a wide range of data spanning all disciplines. It is one of the largest sources of rare materials ever collected in microfilm and electronic formats. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800. As the eighteenth century opened, the expiration of the strict controls that previously existed over printing, coupled with the birth of the Industrial Revolution, resulted in the proliferation of printing operations across the country and in turn, created an explosion of literacy. For the first time, a large segment of the population was exposed to a vast array of printed material. Social and economic criticism flourished; theories on man and society were set forth and debated.

Electronic Enlightenment has as its foundation major printed editions of correspondence centred on the "long 18th century". From the correspondence itself, the supporting critical apparatus and additional research, the project has developed a set of information categories that creates an intricate network of connections between the documents and enriches Electronic Enlightenment as a digital academic resource. Through such interconnecting and contextualizing categories, Electronic Enlightenment is able to offer the user an unrivalled range and depth of approachs to the documents and people included here.

To date, most of the content of Electronic Enlightenment has been provided by printed editions of correspondences from academic presses worldwide; nevertheless, it is not simply an aggregation of these editions. Rather it is a database of individual letters and correspondents that can be searched or browsed as a complete collection. This is one of the great strengths of Electronic Enlightenment.

The content of Electronic Enlightenment is planned to grow by several thousand letters a year: additional content will include both new print editions and correspondence never previously edited. The network of external links to leading resources, from Chambers' Cyclopaedia to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, will continue to expand. The functionality of Electronic Enlightenment will also be enhanced in line with developments in online database technology.

Provides full-text access to a selection of travel accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850. Scanned materials include mss, printed works and visual materials, esp. letters, diaries and journals, account books, printed guidebooks, published travel writing, paintings and sketches, architectural drawings and maps. Also includes an online version of John Ingamells (comp.), Dictionary and Archive of Travellers in Italy 1701-1800 (1997).

The travel accounts highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. They are also useful for the study of daily life in the eighteenth century, e.g. transportation, communications, money, social customs, health, sex or food and drink). The material covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent. It is an excellent resource for the study of Europe’s urban spaces.

The International Historical Statistics (IHS) series is a key resource providing access to statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. It is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts dating back to 1750. This edition provides updated statistics to 2010 – covering 260 years and cover Europe, The Americas, but also Africa, Asia and Oceania. There are vital statistics and statistics for population, labour force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport and communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Statistical analysis can be conducted across both time and geopolitical boundaries. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.

The collection is an interdisciplinary resource. It will be of interest to academics, researchers and students in sociology, politics, history, economics, business, environment, international relations, geography and statistical studies.

Martin Luther (1483-1546) is one of the central figures in German and European history; a theologian, whose work changed the course of world history. Apart from his influence on faith and theology, and the cultural and political changes taking place in the western world during the 16th century, his contribution to the development of a unified German language is particularly outstanding.

Luthers Werke on the World Wide Web reproduces the Weimar Edition (Weimarer Ausgabe) in electronic form. The Weimar Edition, which is regarded as a monumental work in the field of theology and the German language, was first published in 1883 and includes 127 volumes.

"The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850" provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.

Scanned from older microfilms, this resource gives access to 13 collections of scanned primary sources which document the rich and evolving cultural, social, political, scientific, and religious life from the 12th to the early 18th centuries. Largely covers British and some European content. Topics include culture, literature, music, history of science & medicine, women studies, domestic life, Reformation and religious history, political history, and global travel.

The sources are largely digitised manuscripts, rare printed works, literary texts, papers of individuals, treatises, correspondence, music scores, advice books, tracts, sermons, recipe books, manuals, travel writing.

The 13 collections are:

• Arthurian Legends and the Influence of French Prose Romance: The Grail, Lancelot, Tristan and related manuscripts from the British Library
• Black Death: Sources concerning the European Plague
• Crown Servants: Papers of Wentworth, Wynns or Gwydir, Lauderdale
• Early music: Music sources from Pembroke College, Cambridge and the National Library of Scotland
• English Clandestine Satire, 1660-1704: Popular Culture, Entertainment and Information in the Early Modern Period
• Foxe and the English Reformation, c1539-1587: Collected manuscript sources from the British Library, London
• The History of Science and Technology. Series One: The Papers of Sir Hans Sloane, 1660-1753 from the British Library, London
• Masculinity: Men Defining Men and Gentlemen. Part 1: 1600-1800, Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford
• Medieval and Early Modern Women
• Orinda: The Literary Manuscripts of Katherine Philips (1631-1664)
• Renaissance Man: The Reconstructed Libraries of European Scholars, 1450-1700 Series One: The Books and Manuscripts of John Dee, 1527-1608
• Spanish Historical Writing About the New World, 1493-1700. From the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University

The Proceedings contain accounts of trials which took place at the Old Bailey. The crimes tried were mostly felonies (predominantly theft), but also include some of the most serious misdemeanours. The first published collection of trials at the Old Bailey dates from 1674, and from 1678 accounts of the trials at each session (meeting of the Court) at the Old Bailey were regularly published. Inexpensive, and targeted initially at a popular rather than a legal audience, the Proceedings were produced shortly after the conclusion of each sessions and were a commercial success. With few exceptions, this periodical was regularly published each time the sessions met (eight times a year) for 160 years. In 1834 it changed its name, but publication continued until 1913.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (BWLD), includes the immediate experiences of 430 women, as revealed in approximately 80,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.

When complete, the collection will include more than 100,000 pages of primary materials spanning more than 300 years. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies.

The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

The Churchill Archive provides access to nearly 800,000 documents such as speeches, private letters, telegrams, manuscripts and government transcripts. Accompanying the resource are specially-commissioned articles, as well as reading lists and bibliographies. Readers can search the collection by topic, by person, by place or by period. This resource is relevant for students and researchers of modern history, politics and international affairs.

Between 2003 and 2007 Adam Matthew will bring together approximately 50,000 images of original documents relating to Gender Studies. The images will be sourced from about ten different libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core document images from the Bodleian Library, Oxford.

Documents on British Policy Overseas provides users with access to a wide range of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office. Selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, Documents on British Policy Overseas includes many documents specifically de-classified for inclusion in the series. The resource contains three distinct collections, which together form a continuous exploration of British foreign policy and diplomatic history: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914; Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas.

This collection of primary source documents offers a rich seam of information on subjects such as: Daily life and routines in the army and auxiliary services; Trench warfare and Conditions in the trenches; Food and supplies; Battles and warfare; Training and discipline; Weapons and equipment; Camaraderie and friendship; Death; Health and medicine; Thoughts on the enemy. More complex themes of faith, morale, citizenship, mortality, masculinity, race and class can also be explored.

Material includes Diaries and journals; Letters; Personal narratives and reminiscences; Trench literature and soldiers' journals; Postcards; Scrapbooks and albums; Photographs and 360° views of personal items and objects; Sketches and paintings; Ephemera; Sheet music; Photographs; War art; Cartoons and comics; Propaganda and recruiting posters; Trench maps

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.

Oxford has access is to the following geographical collections:

• Middle East and North Africa, 1974–1987
• Near East and South Asia, 1987–1996
• South Asia, 1980–1987
• Sub-Saharan Africa, 1974–1980 and Africa, 1987–1996
• Eastern Europe, 1974–1996
• Latin America, 1974-1996
• Soviet Union, 1974-1991
• Central Eurasia, 1992-1996
• Western Europe, 1974-1996

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.

FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.

The International Historical Statistics (IHS) series is a key resource providing access to statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. It is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts dating back to 1750. This edition provides updated statistics to 2010 – covering 260 years and cover Europe, The Americas, but also Africa, Asia and Oceania. There are vital statistics and statistics for population, labour force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport and communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Statistical analysis can be conducted across both time and geopolitical boundaries. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.

The collection is an interdisciplinary resource. It will be of interest to academics, researchers and students in sociology, politics, history, economics, business, environment, international relations, geography and statistical studies.

This collection brings to life the teeming streets of Victorian London, inviting students and scholars to explore the gin palaces, brothels and East End slums of London in the 19th century. From salacious ‘swell’s guides’ to scandalous broadsides and subversive posters, the material sold and exchanged on London’s bustling thoroughfares offers an unparalleled insight into the dark underworld of the city. Children’s chapbooks, street cries, slang dictionaries and ballads were all part of a vibrant culture of street literature.

This is also an incredible visual resource for students and scholars of London, with many full colour maps, cartoons, sketches and a full set of the essential Tallis’ Street Views of London – resource for the study of London architecture and commerce. Also includes George Gissing's famous London scrapbooks from the Pforzheimer Collection, containing his research for London novels such as New Grub Street and The Netherworld.

"The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850" provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.

This is a collection of all the material from the Mass Observation Archive. It includes the entire File Report sequence 1937-1972, access to all of the Day Surveys, Directives and Diaries, 1937-1967, Mass Observation Publications 1937-1965 and 87 Topic Collection (e.g. e.g. Smoking Habits 1937-1965, etc.). The Worktown Collection includes material of a major study of the towns of Bolton (Worktown) and Blackpool (Holidaytown).

The resource also includes interactive maps, bibliographic resources and essays on various aspects of Mass Observation.

Useful for the study of social history, sociology, etc., of modern Britain, it covers topics such as abortion, old age, crime, eating habits, shopping, fashion, dance, popular music, coal mining, adult education, sex, reading, ethnic minorities, and the decline of Empire. It is a resource that will be welcomed by historians, literary scholars, sociologists, anthropologists and political scientists.

The Proceedings contain accounts of trials which took place at the Old Bailey. The crimes tried were mostly felonies (predominantly theft), but also include some of the most serious misdemeanours. The first published collection of trials at the Old Bailey dates from 1674, and from 1678 accounts of the trials at each session (meeting of the Court) at the Old Bailey were regularly published. Inexpensive, and targeted initially at a popular rather than a legal audience, the Proceedings were produced shortly after the conclusion of each sessions and were a commercial success. With few exceptions, this periodical was regularly published each time the sessions met (eight times a year) for 160 years. In 1834 it changed its name, but publication continued until 1913.

With all collections enabled, HCPP now includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.

We have access to the following collections:

* 18th century (1688-1834)

* 19th century (1801-1900)

* 20th century (1901-2003/04 session)

* Hansard 1803-2005 the official record of the debates in the House of Lords and Commons.

Both Houses of Parliament, the Commons and the Lords, produce parliamentary papers. Although HCPP is a collection of Commons papers, some from the Lords are also included. This is because the Lords often presented papers to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees. These reports were then included in the House of Commons Papers, and therefore appear in HCPP.