This guide is intended for students and researchers studying China at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for Chinese, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.
China and the Modern World: Imperial China and the West, Part II, 1865–1905
Digitized in two parts from the FO 17 series of British Foreign Office Files held at the UK National Archives, Part II of Imperial China and the West provides General Correspondence relating to China from 1865–1905. Here, scholars will find material relating to the internal politics of China and Britain, their relationship, and the relationships among other Western powers— keen to benefit from the growing trading ports of the Far East—and China’s neighbours in East Asia, South Asia, and Southeast Asia. The FO 17 series provides a vast and significant resource for researching every aspect of China-West relations during the nineteenth century, ranging from diplomacy and war, to trade, piracy, riots and rebellions within China, international law, treaty ports and informal empire, transnational emigration, and translation and cross-cultural communication.
We now have access to complete collection of 2636 yearbook titles with 30309 volumes, including the most recent titles. There is also an English interface with datamining function for statistical analysis.
2636种、30309册统计年鉴(资料),共31574182个数据条目和42153993条时间序列
Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Chinese studies and printed books, including the main science collection in the KB Chen China Centre library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our book page and e-Book page of this guide.
Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Chinese studies below, but take a look at other pages of this guide for more titles.
