Skip to main content

Classics and Ancient History: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying Classics and Ancient History at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for Classics and Ancient History, including ebooks, ejournals, bibliographic databases.

Contacts

Charlotte Goodall
tel: +44 (0)1865 288049
email: charlotte.goodall@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Searching the Libraries

SOLO - Search Oxford Libraries Online 

ORA: Oxford University Research Archive

Other links

Bodleian iSkills - workshops in information discovery and research tools

Research and Resources Guides -  a wide range of research, resource and library guides are available from our  LibGuides service.

Collection overview, Key resources etc

The study of Classics and Ancient History in Oxford University is supported by two major research libraries - the Bodleian Library and the Sackler Library. Anyone studying or researching classical subjects in Oxford should expect to make use of both libraries. In addition to the physical resources, printed books, papyri and manuscripts that we hold in Oxford, we also have access to a large number of online databases, ebooks and electronic journals to support research and teaching in Classics and Ancient History. 

 

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Principal collections

The Bodleian Library is home to one of the world's greatest collections of classical scholarship. In the Bodleian Library, the open shelf provision for classics is situated in an area of the Lower Reading Room. The aim of today's open shelf collection is to complement and facilitate research and teaching in classics, specifically in the areas of Greek and Latin literature and language.

 

The Sackler Library is home to the main research collections in Ancient History, Classical Archaeology, Numismatics and Papyrology (as well as other non-classical subjects), and there is a good collection of texts and commentaries of ancient authors and monographs on classical literature and languages in the library also. The Sackler is home to the Classics Lending Library (a short-term lending library, aimed at undergraduates).

 

The majority of books in the Sackler Library are on open shelves. Many of the books and periodicals in the collection may be borrowed, although major reference works and most editions of classical authors are confined to the library.

 

Sackler Library Sub-Collections

Major Subject Areas    
Find out more about the Sackler's different subject areas and their locations in the library.

Special Collections    
The Sackler Library holds a number of different special collections including the Wind Collection, Haskell Collection, Rare Book Room, Library of Oxford Architectural and Historical Society and Sackler Archives.

Contacts

Classics Librarian:

Charlotte Goodall

charlotte.goodall@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

+44(0)1865 288049

 

Libguide created by Charlotte Goodall