Japanese Studies: Home

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Japanese studies and printed books, including the main special collections in the Weston Library and the Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our Books page of this guide.

• SOLO

  Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

• SOLO user guide

  If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO. You can find a longer list on the Journals page of this guide.

• Journal of Japanese Studies
  The journal is a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary forum for communicating new information, interpretations and research on Japan. 
   
• Monumenta Nipponica 
  The journal is an English-language peer-reviewed journal that publishes outstanding research and translations as well as book reviews.
   
• Japan Forum
  The leading European journal in the multidisciplinary field of Japanese Studies, publishes original research in subject areas ranging from archaeology, language, literature, philosophy and culture to history, economics, politics, international relations and law.
   
• SOLO

  Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ejournals at Oxford. You can filter by topic, publisher and more.

Oxford subscribes to many databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. Find key databases for Japanese Studies in the Databases page of this guide for more titles.

Some of the key databases for Japanese studies are:

• 朝日新聞クロスサーチ

            To search Asahi newspaper articles published from Meiji period to to-date.

• Cambridge History Online

            Cambridge Histories is the essential reference collection spanning 350 volumes in 10 subject areas.

• JapanKnowledge
  JapanKnowledge Lib is an online web archive that boasts the largest corpus of encyclopedia, dictionaries, reference compilations, and periodical resources in Japan.
   
• Resource guide for Japanese Studies and Humanities in Japan
  Collection of links to useful websites and resources pertaining to Japanese studies and humanities in Japan. It includes scholarly societies of Japan, GLAM and other institutions that house Japan related materials, overseas Japanese research institutions, and humanities databases.
   
• Databases A - Z : Japanese Studies

            Most useful databases for Japanese studies can be found here.

• SOLO

            Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for databases available at Oxford. 

            You can filter by topic, language and more.

• Art and Architecture: Asia 
• China and Inner Asia 
• Humanities
• Social Sciences    
• Modern Languages for Continuing Education

• Japanese Library 

  The Japanese Library houses the University’s main research and teaching collection for Japanese studies.

• Weston Library 

  The Weston Library is the home of the Bodleian Libraries’ special collections. It is a working library and research centre, as well as a public event and exhibition space.

• K B Chen China Centre Library 

  KB Chen China Centre Library is the specialist hub library for Chinese studies at the University of Oxford.

• Nizami Ganjavi Library 

  The Nizami Ganjavi Library is based in the Oriental Institute and holds wide range of subjects related to Oriental studies.