Skip to main content

Commonwealth Studies: Getting started

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford seeking support in Commonwealth Studies, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books, special collections and online resources for Commonwealth Studies, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

LibGuide to Commonwealth Studies

This 'Getting Started' page gives you links to key resources and information for Commonwealth Studies. The tabs above lead to more in-depth information about different types of resources including archives, books, journals, theses, film, news sources, and official papers.

The Commonwealth and African collections, together with those for Oriental manuscripts, are now available in The Charles Wendell David Reading Room in the Weston Library.  Other related collections are held in the Bodleian Social Science Library, the Indian Institute collections (currently in the Bodleian Oriental Institute Library), the Bodleian Law Library and the History Faculty Library.  A full listing of all Bodleian Libraries is available.

Contact Lucy McCann, Archivist for the Commonwealth collections at the Weston Library.  You may also contact Sarah Rhodes, African and Commonwealth Subject Consultant, for subject enquiries.

How to find things

Search SOLO, Oxford Libraries' catalogue, to find books, documents and journal titles.

Use Databases A-Z to search bibliographic databases/online resources and individual e-journals.

Remote access

For information on how to access the Bodleian Libraries resources offsite go to remote access guide.

Subject Librarian

Sarah Rhodes's picture
Sarah Rhodes
Contact:
Bodleian Social Science Library,
University of Oxford, Manor Road Building,
Oxford,
OX1 3UQ
+44(0)1865 2-85998