Skip to main content

The Sainsbury Library: Key Business Resources: Company Information

Subjects: Business, Management

Annual Reports

Capital IQ

Capital IQ provides up to 12 years of annual reports.

Historical Annual Reports

Annual reports dating back to 1844 for US companies.

Mergent Archive

International market reports and Moodys corporate manuals.

 

Mergers and Acquisitions

Capital IQ

Capital IQ has details of M&A activity dating back up to 10 years.

Zephyr

Zephyr contains information on mergers and acquisition, IPO, private equity and venture capital deals.

Company and Analyst Reports

Aftermarket Research - a collection of full-text analysts’ reports from over 1,700 brokers and independent research providers around the globe, accessed via the Capital IQ platform. Email library@sbs.ox.ac.uk to request access if you don't already have a Capital IQ log-in.

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete has company reports with SWOT analysis from Marketline and Datamonitor.

To find them search for your company by name and change the Document Type setting on the search page to Company Report.

Thomson ONE

Thomson One has analyst reports on companies, industries and products from over 1,400 brokerages. Thomson ONE will soon be discontinued - please email library@sbs.ox.ac.uk to request access to Capital IQ for analyst reports.

UK Financial Data

FAME

Financial data for UK public and private companies.

European Financial Data

Orbis Europe

Financial data for European companies (public and private)

Global Financial Data

Bloomberg

Bloomberg Professional provides financial and economic data and is installed on three PCs in the Sainsbury Library. Non-SBS members of the university can access Bloomberg in the Social Science Library. Please ask at the library's information desk.

Bloomberg Getting Started Guide

Bloomberg Using Equity Screening Guide

Bloomberg - Installing the Excel Add-in

Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC) is an online tutorial that provides a good introduction to the basics of using Bloomberg. To access the tutorial log in to Bloomberg and type BMC to the top left of the Bloomberg screen and press the return key.

 

Capital IQ 

Global financial data for public and private companies. If you are staff or a postgraduate click here to register. Undergraduates may only access the database from within the library. Please ask at the library's information desk to be logged in. 

Datastream

Datastream provides company equities and accounting data as well as historical economic data from sources including OECD, IMF. Please note that Datastream will no longer be accessible after 31st July 2017, but an alternative will be available very soon.

Datastream is only available on PCs in the Sainsbury Library or Bodleian Social Science Library

Guides to Datastream can be found here.

Mergent Online

Mergent provides financial details of over 25,000 active and inactive global companies. It also has over 300,000 annual reports dating back 10 years and executive profiles.

Thomson ONE

A company information database containing news, financial information filings and company overviews for over a million global companies. Thomson ONE will soon be discontinued - please email library@sbs.ox.ac.uk to request access to Capital IQ for analyst reports, and Eikon for financial data. 

WRDS

WRDS is an interface provided by Wharton Business School, which allows access to a number of datasets for financial research and analysis.

Datasets available include: CISDM, Compustat NA, CRSP, CUISP, GovPX, I/B/E/S, NYSE TAQ, Thomson Reuters.

To register for WRDS click on the Register for a WRDS account link on the WRDS sign-in webpage. Please note that only academic staff and postgraduates may register for WRDS access.