Oxford LibGuides: LGBTQ+ History Resources: Transgender & Non-binary

Key Resources

Non-binary
Transgender

Gluck (b. Hannah Gluckstein)
This is a biography of Gluck (born Hannah Gluckstein; 1895–1978), an artist active in England in the 1920s and 1930s and known for her for her gender nonconformity and homosexuality. Gluck has been identified by some as non-binary, though this is controversial.
The Reclamation of Two-Spirit Identity
This is a transcript of a podcast that looks at the history of two-spirit Native American people. These are people who traditionally fulfilled a third gender role in Native American societies.
Two-Spirit Indigenous Americans: Fact not Fiction
"This paper examines the narratives of Two-Spirit Indigenous Americans who have been oppressed by heteropatriarchal norms of colonization. Two-spirit creation stories are explored to show the prevalence and importance of their identities prior to contact with Euro-American settlers and the evolution of violence, exclusion, and marginalization due to colonization."

Cross dressing in the 18th and 19th century Europe and America
This short blog post discusses the history of cross dressing and gender nonconformity in the 18th and 19th centuries. It contains a list of further readings that might be helpful for those researching this topic.
Digital Transgender Archive
"The DTA is an international collaboration among dozens of colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history."
FTM International
FTM International is an American organisation for transgender men, founded in 1986. This is a digital collection of publications by the organisation, including the FTM Newsletter, first published in 1987.
Indiana Transgender Rights Advocacy Alliance
This is a website from the late 2000s belonging to the Indiana Transgender Rights Advocacy Alliance (ITRAA). It contains stories about a number of issues affecting the transgender community, and provides an insight into the state of the community at this time.
Lili Elbe Digital Archive
Lili Elbe (1882–1931) was a Danish painter and transgender woman who was one of the first people in the world to receive gender-affirming surgery. This digital archive collects material related to her life and work.
Queer Norfolk: Transgender
This is an archive of material related to transgender people drawn from the Norfolk Heritage Centre's Norfolk LGBTQ+ Collection. Please not that some content is labelled as NSFW (not safe for work) and may not be appropriate for all audiences.
Transgender Crossroads
This is a transgender resource directory from the early 2000s. It includes lists of advocacy groups, books, and community events. It provides an insight into the way information was shared within the transgender community at the time.

LGBTQ+ History Resources: Transgender & Non-binary

Introduction

Key Resources

Topics