On this page you will find resources concerning sex and sexuality, as well as resources concerning a particular group defined by their sexuality (such as bisexual people or lesbians).
BiCon is a long running convention for bisexual people in the UK. This is a list of every BiCon since 1984. It contains links for the websites of more recent conventions.
"The Journal of Bisexuality is the first professional quarterly to publish both professional articles and serious essays on bisexuality and its meaning for the individual, the community, and society."
This is a blog written by Gregg Blachford, a British-Canadian gay man, about his life. In his posts he tells the story of his life as a gay man through "slides, photos/snapshots, films, letters, diaries, address books, postcards and other ephemera."
This is a collection of primary sources, compiled by researcher Rictor Norton, concerning homosexuality in 19th century England. Many of the resources are newspaper articles and reports of trials.
This is a collection of digital copies of Jeremy Magazine, a gay lifestyle magazine started in 1969. This magazine contained interviews with celebrities, reviews, articles on fashion, and reports on gay life in the UK.
This is a digital version of an exhibition held in Columbia University Libraries in 1994. It celebrates the 25th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots and uses a range of primary sources to explore gay and lesbian culture in the years before and after the riots.
This is a website dedicated to Anne Lister (1791–1840), sometimes described as 'the first modern lesbian'. It includes videos of Lister's home, excerpts from her diaries, and information about her romantic relationships.
"The "From a Whisper to a Roar" project (2019-2020) collected reminiscences from lesbian, bisexual, and transwomen over a period of roughly fifty years – from the time of the partial decriminalisation of homosexuality in 1967, when the focus was on men and the legal fight, to the modern day."
This article draws on material in The National Archives to tell the story of the Ladies of Llangollen, two Irish women from upper class families who lived together as a couple in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.
This is a collection of digital resources belonging to the collections of the Lesbian Herstory Archives, an archive that "exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities."
"The Archives’ periodical collection is broad and diverse, and includes national, regional, and local publications by, for and/or about Lesbians." This collection must be consulted in-person.
This article discusses the history of the prosecution of lesbians in England and Wales. While lesbians relationships were never illegal in the way that male homosexuality was, lesbians did face prosecution for their relationships on less direct grounds.
This webpage contains a collection of short articles about lesbians in the 20th century. Each story focuses on a different time period and is accompanied by an annotated bibliography of scholarly resources relevant to lesbians in that period.
This is a collection of digitised letters from "Ladies of Llangollen", two Irish women from upper class families who lived together as a couple in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.
This webpage highlights some of the "archive and museum resources that make up Glasgow Women’s Library’s LGBTQ Collections. The objects, publications and archive items you see here are drawn principally from GWL’s own home-grown collection of LGBTQ materials, as well as the Lesbian Archive and Information Centre collection, which is popularly known as ‘The Lesbian Archive’."
This is a transcript of an interview with Pat Bond, a lesbian who served in the US military during the Second World War and afterwards. It details her experiences of navigating both military and LGBTQ+ spaces.
"Tape recordings and transcripts of interviews with lesbians, mostly African-American and white, who lived in Detroit in the post-World War II period, 1947-1975."
"Oral history of Winifred Briggs, a California native and resident who discusses being a lesbian in World War II, as well as AA, US Army Nurses, and same sex relationships in the 1940s 1950s military, AA, US Army Nurses, relationships, 1940s, 1950s, World War II, lesbian."
"Founded in 1998, the Old Lesbian Oral Herstory Project (OLOHP) has gathered and preserved the life stories of hundreds of lesbians 70 years of age and older, told in their own words. Since the inception of the OLOHP, the Project has worked to gather, document and preserve the life stories of lesbians born in the early decades of the past century."
