This article explores the shifting perceptions of masculinity and male sexuality throughout the eighteenth century. It uses objects from the V&A collection to examine changing attitudes toward effeminacy and homosexuality in popular culture, fashion, theatre, and art.
This article discusses a number of items that are contained within the collections of The Camden Lesbian Centre and Black Lesbian Group’s archive collection.
"This post acknowledges and discusses important—but often overlooked—aspects of premodern life, relationships, and identities that existed beyond the gender binary (female and male) or heteronormative couplings (a man and a woman). As curators of and specialists in medieval and Renaissance illuminated manuscripts (books made and painted by hand), our focus will be objects from the Getty collection that were produced in premodern Europe from about 1200 to 1600."
This short blog post discusses the history of cross dressing and gender nonconformity in the 18th and 19th centuries. It contains a list of further readings that might be helpful for those researching this topic.
This blog post, published by The National Archives, draws on archival material to piece together the lives of Fanny and Stella, two cross dressing Victorian theatrical performers who were arrested for buggery.
This blog post, published by the Hampshire Archives Trust, discusses Hampshire's LGBT History. The author discusses some archives where material related to this area of history can be found.
This article, published by the Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History & Culture, discusses the queer aspects of the Harlem Renaissance, a period of African-American cultural revival in New York in the 1920s and 1930s.
This blog post explores what the material housed in The National Archive's collections can tell us about attitudes towards LGBTQ+ people in the 19th and 20th century.
This blog post is about a 'molly house' in London in the 18th century. Molly houses were coffee houses or taverns in which gay men could meet and socialise. They formed part of a gay subculture at a time when homosexual acts were illegal.
This blog post, published by the Museum of English Rural Life, explores what archival material can tell us about the history of LGBTQ+ people in rural England, especially farmers and others working in an agricultural setting.
