Oxford LibGuides: LGBTQ+ History Resources: Contemporary (1945–present)

Key Resources

ACT UP Oral History Project
This is a collection of interviews of people involved in ACT UP (AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power), an AIDS activist group founded in New York in the 1980s.
BFI: Queer Britain
This collection of films, produced by the British Film Institute, aims to showcase "screen representations of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender lives over the past century."
Bishopsgate Institute: Black Lesbian and Gay Centre
This is a collection of items, mostly newsletters and other ephemera, associated with the Black Lesbian and Gay Centre, an organisation founded in 1985 that aimed to address issues facing LGBTQ+ people of colour in particular.
The Demise of Queer Space? Resurgent Gentrification and the Assimilation of LGBT Neighborhoods
"In the past forty years, gay and lesbian populations have established a visible presence in many cities, but recent gentrification has put pressure on LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered) neighborhoods. This article uses a case study of the Atlanta metropolitan area to examine the effects of resurgent gentrification on LGBT neighborhoods."
European HIV/AIDS Archive
"The European HIV/AIDS Archive opens a space to preserve memories of living with HIV/AIDS, civil society engagements and AIDS policies in Europe, to share stories and to learn from a variety of voices and experiences. At the heart of the collection are oral history interviews on the history and present of individual, social and political engagements with HIV/AIDS."
In the Life
This is an online archive of material related to 'In the Life', an LGBTQ newsmagazine programme that ran from 1992 to 2012. The archive contains a number of episodes of the show, as well as further reading.
The lasting legacy of Dr Anonymous
An article from The British Psychological Society about the 1973 decision of the American Psychiatric Association to remove homosexuality from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.
Lesbians and Gays Support the Miners in the Nigel Young Archive
A collection of items (including meeting minutes, flyers, and other ephemera) associated with Lesbians and Gays Support the Miners, an LGBTQ+ activist group that supported The National Union of Mineworkers during the 1984–1985 miners strikes.
London Pride: 1990s
Pride & Prejudice - Discussing Clause 28 with Peter Tatchell, Lisa Power MBE, and Michael Cashman MEP
This is an audio recording of a talk and discussion, held at the Bishopsgate Institute, that focuses on "the resistance to Clause 28, which prohibited local authorities from presenting "homosexuality as a pretended family relationship". This was seen as a watershed moment in the long struggle for civil rights for LGBTQ+ citizens, bringing the community together around one cause."
Queer Asian American Collection (University of Illinois Chicago)
"The Queer Asian American Collection documents the rich and vibrant stories of the diverse lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, asexual, intersex, and gender non-conforming Asian Americans, Pacific Islanders, and South Asian communities in Chicago. The collection contains materials gathered by the Queer Asian American Archive, founded in 2014 by Dr. Laura Sachiko Fugikawa and liz thomson."
Queer Home Berlin? Making Queer Selves and Spaces in the Divided City, 1945-1970
This PhD thesis looks at the history of LGBTQ+ people in Berlin, from the end of WW2 to the 1970s. It focus on specific spaces, such as bars, homes, and prisons, exploring the influence they had on the lives of LGBTQ+ people during a very turbulent period of German history.

LGBTQ+ History Resources: Contemporary (1945–present)

Introduction

Key Resources

Video

Time Periods