A selection of five items from the LSE exhibition 'Social Revolution: Women’s Liberation and Gay Liberation in the 1970s and 80s', which ran from January to April 2020.
This is a collection of items associated with Edward Carpenter (1844–1929), a socialist writer and campaigner for homosexual equality. It contains his personal library, as well as his own writings (including letters and manuscripts). This collection must be consulted in person.
A collection of items (including meeting minutes, flyers, and other ephemera) associated with Lesbians and Gays Support the Miners, an LGBTQ+ activist group that supported The National Union of Mineworkers during the 1984–1985 miners strikes.
"Objects relating to Lesbians and Gay Men Support the Miners (LGSM) from Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales' collection. LGSM were a campaign group formed on the 30 June 1984, by Mark Ashton and Mike Jackson, during the 1984–85 Miners’ Strike."
"On this page you’ll find some coverage of lesbian and gay groups in Scotland supporting the striking miners (1984-85), inspired by the original LGSM [Lesbians and Gays Support the Miners] movement. Also included is coverage of related left groups and discussions of union-related events and news."
This is a collection of articles written by gay journalist and activist Terry Sanderson (1946–2022), for his Mediawatch column which ran from 1983 to 2007. The articles examined the way LGBT issues were covered by the British mainstream media.
This is a collection of papers relating to the work of Frank Kameny (1925–2011), an American gay rights activist who lost his job as an astronomer for the U.S. Army's Army Map Service due to his sexuality. This archive must be consulted in person.
"The Gay Peoples Union (GPU) was the most important gay and lesbian rights organization in Milwaukee during the 1970s. Beginning as a student organization at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, the group gradually became a resource for the entire Milwaukee community ... The Gay Peoples Union Collection presents digital copies of primary source materials documenting GPU and Milwaukee's gay liberation movement."
"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries ... The LGBT collection contains 25 publications that chronicle the birth of the Gay and Lesbian movements in the United States."
This contains several issues of the Mattachine Review, all published in the 1960s. The Mattachine Review was published by The Mattachine Society, an early gay rights organisation founded in Los Angeles in the 1950s.
