Oxford LibGuides: International law: origins & history: Empires & Colonies

British, European and American imperialism: contemporary texts & commentary

LLMC-digital
Alternative names: LLMC ; Law Library Microfilm Consortium’s Online Service ; LLMC Digital

LLMC-digital is a collection of English language legal titles and government documents divided into ten major jurisdictional or subject areas:
US Federal Government; US States and Territories; Canada; United Kingdom; Germany federal; Germany state, kingdoms and free cities; Other Countries (Afghanistan to Zimbabwe); International Law and Organizations; Indigenous Law covering materials from various regions of the United States, Canada and Indonesia; and Special Focus Collections which includes British Empire Studies, Canon Law, Islamic Law, Military Law, Native American Collection, Roman law, etc.
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law (MPEIL)
MPEPIL has articles on both Colonialism & Decolonization
Alternative names: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) ; Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro)

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law combines the fully updated online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) (originally published in print between 1991 and 2001) with the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro) which has been published (online only) since September 2019. The peer-reviewed articles in both works are updated and added to monthly.

Colonialism: A Short History of International Law in Five Acts
Remote Access requires Oxford SSO
Philip Sands (2023) Volume 431 of Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law
ORE: African history
Remote access requires Oxford SSO. Part of ORE the Oxford Research Encyclopedia "Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History combines the speed & flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing."

International law -- History
Imperialism -- History

Imperialism, Sovereignty and the Making of International Law by Antony Anghie
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 0521828929
Publication Date: 2005
Print copy at Internat 500 A588a
Placing the Frontier in British North-East India: Law, Custom, and Knowledge by Reeju Ray
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780192887085
Publication Date: 2023
Print copy at Cw India 510 R263.7a
The Acquisition of Africa (1870-1914) : the nature of international law by Mieke van der Linden
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9789004319134
Publication Date: 2016
International Law and Empire: Historical Explorations by Martti Koskenniemi (Editor); Walter Rech (Editor); Manuel Jimenez Fonseca (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 0198795572
Publication Date: 2017
Print copy is at Internat 510 K86b
Legalist Empire : international law and American foreign relations in the early twentieth century by Benjamin Allen Coates
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 0190495952
Publication Date: 2016
Print copy is at Internat 510 C652.5a

Trans-Atlantic Slavery

Brattle Report Reparations for Transatlantic Chattel Slavery in Pro Bono Paper
Open access. June 2023 Prepared for The University of the West Indies and The American Society of International Law’s Second Symposium on Reparations Under International Law

The page in the Law Bod guide Legal History: Common Law Tradition may have some useful suggestions.

Serfdom, slavery & abolition

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Recommend a purchase

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Inter-library Loans Service Online Form
Use this form to request material not held by the Bodleian Libraries. Please check Oxford collections on SOLO and ensure that the item is not in stock, either in print or electronically.