Oxford LibGuides: International law: origins & history: China

China

Suggested starting point: chapter 29 of Oxford Handbook of the History of International Law

The Oxford Handbook of the History of International Law by Simone Peter; Daniel Högger; Bardo Fassbender; Anne Peters
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 0199599750
Publication Date: 2013
Print copy in Bodleian Law Library at Internat 510 F249.5a; lending copy in Bodleian Social Science Library at KZ1242.OXF 2012

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
Alternative name: OIELH

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is the online version of the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (edited by S.N. Katz et al) published by OUP in 2009.
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law (MPEIL)
Alternative names: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) ; Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro)

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law combines the fully updated online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) (originally published in print between 1991 and 2001) with the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro) which has been published (online only) since September 2019. The peer-reviewed articles in both works are updated and added to monthly.

Subject searches to try in SOLO

International law -- China -- History
China - foreign relations
China - history

Great Britain -- Colonies -- Asia -- History
Great Britain -- Territorial expansion -- History

Jacques deLisle 'China's Approach to International Law: A Historical Perspective' (2000) 94 Proceedings of the Annual Meeting (American Society of International Law) 267 at Internat 300 A110 (Holders of an Oxford SSO can access online via link for the journal below.)

First Opium War (1839-1842) ended with the western powers and China signing "unequal" treaties of "Peace, Amity and Commerce"
such as the Nanking Treaty of 1842 between China & GB (93 CTS 465) and that of 1844 between China & US (97 CTS 105)

Second Opium War (1856–1860)
Tientsin Treaties 1858 such as that of "Peace, Friendship and Commerce" between China & GB 119 CTS 163

International law in China : historical and contemporary perspectives Requires Oxford SSO for remote access. E-version of 1990 work by Tieya Wang, v 221 of Recueil des Cours aka Collected courses of the Hague Academy of International Law. Print copy is in the Law Bod at Internat 300 A20
Proceedings of the ... Annual Meeting of American Society of International Law. Requires Oxford SSO for remote access. Find this article China's Approach to International Law: A Historical Perspective by Jacques deLisle 94 (2000), pp. 267-275
Chinese journal of international law Requires Oxford SSO for remote access. Print copy is at Internat 300 C45.
The First Opium War
Free resource. Essay by Peter C Perdue. A section of MIT's Visualizing Cultures platform "Founded in 2002 by MIT Professors John Dower and Shigeru Miyagawa, Visualizing Cultures exploits the unique qualities of the Web as a publishing platform to enable scholars, teachers, and others to: (1) examine large bodies of previously inaccessible images; (2) compose original texts with unlimited numbers of full-color, high-resolution images; and (3) use new technology to explore unprecedented ways of analyzing and presenting images that open windows on modern history."
CC : Colonial Cases portal
Free resource. Maintained by Macquarie University "This site is devoted to uncovering the hidden case law of the British empire's colonial and consular courts. The overall aim is to encourage the development of a comparative legal history of the British empire. The more we study the case law of the empire's courts, the more we see that it was characterised by a pluralist web of influence rather than one way traffic from London downwards" For some jurisdictions eg China & Japan you will find help with European and United States consular courts as well.

Diplomacy and Trade in the Chinese World, 589-1276 by Hans Bielenstein
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9004144161
Publication Date: 2005
Or a print copy could be requested from Closed Stack if preferred.
China among Equals : the Middle Kingdom and its neighbors, 10th-14th centuries by Morris Rossabi
Call Number: China Centre: KB Chen Library W 2662 Ros
ISBN: 0520045629
Publication Date: 1983
Unequal Treaties and China by Wang, Jianlang
Call Number: KB Chen Library DS775.7 WAN 2016
ISBN: 9781623201180
Publication Date: 2015
translated by Li Tong. 2 volumes
Grounds of Judgment : extraterritoriality and imperial power in nineteenth-century China and Japan by Pär Kristoffer Cassel
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 0199792054
Publication Date: 2012
A print copy could be Requested from Closed Stacks if preferred.
International Law as World Order in Late Imperial China : translation, reception and discourse, 1847-1911 by Rune Svarverud
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9004160191
Publication Date: 2007
Or If preferred a print copy is the China Centre: KB Chen Library W 4842 Sva

Bodleian's China Library

Research in this topic may well lead you to discover the
Bodleian K B Chen China Centre Library
Dickson Poon Building
Canterbury Road
Oxford OX2 6LU
This is about a mile (20 mins walk) from the Law Bod, to the north (away from the city centre).

Bodleian KB Chen China Centre Library
Official website - check here for opening hours etc.