Oxford LibGuides: International law: origins & history: Religions

Religions & development of international law

Subject searches to try in SOLO

Religion and law
Religion and international relations

See Chapter 12 of Oxford Handbook of the History of International Law for useful overview

The Oxford Handbook of the History of International Law by Simone Peter; Daniel Högger; Bardo Fassbender; Anne Peters
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 0199599750
Publication Date: 2013
Print copy in Bodleian Law Library at Internat 510 F249.5a; lending copy in Bodleian Social Science Library at KZ1242.OXF 2012

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
Alternative name: OIELH

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is the online version of the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (edited by S.N. Katz et al) published by OUP in 2009.
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law (MPEIL)
Alternative names: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) ; Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro)

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law combines the fully updated online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) (originally published in print between 1991 and 2001) with the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro) which has been published (online only) since September 2019. The peer-reviewed articles in both works are updated and added to monthly.

Religion and International Law by Mark W. Janis (Editor); Carolyn Evans (Editor)
Call Number: Internat 500 J33e1a
ISBN: 9004138307
Publication Date: 2004 (expanded ed)
This is an expanded edition of: The influence of religion on the development of international law / Mark W. Janis, Martinus Nijhoff, 1991 and contains the original 11 essays and is supplemented by 11 more - intr.

Christianity & natural law tradition

St Augustine

V Hrabar ‘La doctrine de droit international chez Saint Augustin’ (1932) 3–4 Archives de philosophie du droit et de sociologie juridique 428–46 Journal in Law Bod at Jurisp 300 A60

Christian Love and Just War : moral paradox and political life in St. Augustine and his modern interpreters by William R. Stevenson
Call Number: Lower Gladstone Link Open Shelves (UBHU) M90.E01815
ISBN: 0865542724
Publication Date: 1987
The Oxford Handbook of Christianity and Law by John Witte (Editor); Rafael Domingo (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780197606759
Publication Date: 2023

St Thomas Aquinas

ST 2–2, qu. 40

Summa Theologica Secunda Secundae Quaestio 40

Treatise on The Theological Virtues (Second Part of Second Part of ST) Question 40

Summa Theologica (translated into English) by Thomas Aquinas Translated by Fathers of the English Dominican Province.
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 1607782502
Publication Date: 1265-1274
There is no shortage of other editions available in print in other parts of the Bodleian
Thomas Aquinas's Summa Theologiae : A Guide and Companion by Brian Davies
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 9780199380633
Publication Date: 2014
Print copy could be requested from Closed Stacks to read in the Law Bod, or visit the BPTFL to find volumes at BX1749.T6.D38 DAV 2014
Narrative, Nature, and the Natural Law : from Aquinas to international human rights by C. Fred Alford
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 0230622798
Publication Date: 2010
Print copy is at Jurisp 510 A389a Note this is on Level 2 of the Law Bod