Oxford LibGuides: Legal history: England & common law tradition: Case Law in Ms

Finding Aides

English legal manuscript project (handlist) by Project edited by J.H. Baker
Call Number: Ref Bibl. Cw UK B168a
Publication Date: 1975-1987
The Law Bod has the 2 volume catalogue to the Microfiches with annotations indicating which Microfiche box holds which.
English legal manuscripts in the United States of America : a descriptive list by Baker, John Hamilton
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
Publication Date: 1985-1990
Print copy is at Ref Bibl Cw UK B168b
Catalogue of English Legal Manuscripts in Cambridge University Library by J. H. Baker (Editor); J. S. Ringrose (Editor)
Call Number: Weston Gallery Open Shelves R.Cat. 115a OR BHFL West Gallery ReferenceA 135 Bake
ISBN: 9780851153766
Publication Date: 1996
English legal manuscripts formerly in the collection of Sir Thomas Phillipps by compiled by Sir John Baker.
Call Number: Legal Hist S464.4c
ISBN: 9780854231317
Publication Date: 2008
A catalogue of the legal manuscripts of Anthony Taussig by compiled by Sir John Baker and Anthony Taussig.
Call Number: Legal Hist S464.4c
ISBN: 9780854232055
Publication Date: 2007

Early Case Law In Manuscript

A microfiche project of the last quarter of the 20th century means that is possible to read reproductions of the manuscripts held by

Bodleian Library - Harvard Law School -Inns of Court - Yale Law School

English legal manuscript project by Project edited by J.H. Baker
Call Number: Microfiche resulting from Project
Publication Date: 1975-1987
Sign into SOLO then Request that the required boxes of Microfiches are delivered to the Reading Room. Consult the catalogue shelved at Ref Bibl Cw UK B168a to help you determine which box will contain the fiche you need.

Principal Collections in England

Having completed special admission requirements it is usually possible to consult the originals. Major collections are held at

Manuscript Collections in the British Library
Online guides
Manuscript Collection of the Inner Temple
Manuscript Collections in Cambridge University Library
Online guide, admission details etc
Lincoln's Inn Collections
Manuscript Collections Middle Temple
Gray's Inn: Special Collections

Finding Manuscripts held across England

Consulting works such as the following can help direct you to where manuscripts have survived in the collections of descendants or have been given to the care of the relevant record office, museum etc.

The Order of Serjeants at Law : A Chronicle of Creations, with Related Texts and a Historical Introduction (ed Baker, SS Supl)

Archives Hub
Use the Archives Hub to find unique sources for your research, both physical and digital. Search across descriptions of archives, held at over 350 institutions across the UK.