Oxford LibGuides: Legal history: England & common law tradition: Judicial Committee of Privy Council

The Judicial Committee of The Privy Council (JCPC)

JCPC Archive and Published Judgments & Papers

Judicial Committee of the Privy Council 2009 onwards
Official website. Transcripts of decided cases from 31 July 2009 onwards. Free access to earlier decisions available via BAILII
Judicial Committee of the Privy Council 1999-2009
Links to Judgments of the JCPC 1999-2009 which are now on an archived site.
Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (BAILII)
Open Access From 1809 onwards, but only complete from 1996 onwards. Prior to that it has "selected historical decisions." Case papers from the IALS collection from 1930 -1985 (effectively a full paper set from 1950 to 1985) and some selected papers from earlier judgments of special interest to researchers have been included in the project. The digitised papers (case for the appellant, case for the respondent, record of proceedings, factums and appendices) are available as searchable PDF files alongside the judgment texts
Privy Council Papers Online 1792-1998
Open access "This website presents the first digital catalogue of the 'Printed Papers' of Appeals to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (JCPC), which was the final court of appeal for the British empire and later, for several countries of the Commonwealth. [see More]
more...less...
The 'Printed Papers in appeal' are detailed 'case-records' associated with appeal cases heard by the JCPC, which supplement the judgements. This catalogue contains key details for 9,368 cases, decided between 1792-1998, links to full-text judgements from BAILII where available, and the full text Printed Papers for 6 cases."
Records of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council 1738-2010 (PCAP at TNA)
National Archives description & search tools.
NOTE: PCAP 6 or Printed Cases in Indian and Colonial Appeals (1792 to 1878) and Printed Papers in Appeals (1873 to 2004) are not at Kew. See BL guide below for guide to their collection
British Library's Guide to Judicial Committee of the Privy Council appeal cases
NB British LIbrary has Privy Council appeal case papers from 1861–2007 (shelfmark P.P.1316) Use online catalogue to request cases from 1900–52 for delivery to the British Library's SSRR. For other years ask British Library staff for assistance.
Lincoln's Inn Library: Judicial Committee of Privy Council
Lincoln's Inn has JCPC case papers from 1795–2008 (1795–1847 Indian and Jamaican appeals only) PLEASE Apply for access to the Librarian in advance of any visit librarian@lincolnsinn.org.uk
USA: Appeals to the Privy Council from the American Colonies
Database made freely available by the Ames Foundation. An Annotated Digital Catalogue: Part 1 compiled by: Sharon Hamby O’Connor and Mary Sarah Bilder with the assistance of: Charles Donahue, Jr.

Commentary on the JCPC

Guardian of the Treaty : the Privy Council Appeal and Irish sovereignty by Thomas Mohr
Call Number: KL432.2.I5.MOH 2016
ISBN: 9781846825873
Publication Date: 2016
In 1935 the Irish Free State was recognized as the first part of the empire to abolish the appeal to the Privy Council. This book examines the controversial Irish appeal to the Privy Council in the wider context of the history of the British Empire in the early 20th century.
Imperial Justice : Africans in empire's court by Bonny Ibhawoh
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780199664849
Publication Date: 2013
Cw Gen 510 I12.5a
The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council, 1833-1876 by P. A. Howell; John H. Baker (Contribution by)
Call Number: Legal Hist H859a
ISBN: 0521221463
Publication Date: 1979

JCPC's continued role

"The Judicial Committee of The Privy Council (JCPC) is the court of final appeal for the UK overseas territories and Crown dependencies, and for those Commonwealth countries that have retained the appeal to Her Majesty in Council or, in the case of Republics, to the Judicial Committee."

Judicial Committee of Privy Council
Official website See below for quick link for the sources of the appeals it hears
Judicial Committee of Privy Council: From which courts/jurisdictions does it still hear appeals?
Official website - lists details of these categories
United Kingdom appeals
Crown dependencies
Commonwealth appeals
Overseas territories and sovereign base appeals
Appeals to local head of state
In civil cases only, an appeal lies to the Judicial Committee from the Court of Appeal of Brunei to the Sultan and Yang di-Pertuan.

Privy Council Practice by Lord Mance; Jacob Turner; Jonathan Mance
Call Number: KM113.MAN 2017
ISBN: 0198798490
Publication Date: 2017
The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (JCPC) is the court of final appeal for jurisdictions including the British Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies, and for those Commonwealth countries that have retained the appeal to Her Majesty in Council.