From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection contains over 96,000 images of titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised edition. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, theology, art and music, politics, and the history of science and medicine.
EEBO Text Creation Partnership is an extension of the EEBO image resource. The project encodes the books in XML with a version of the TEI allowing researchers to do full text and other searches. Already there are around 1500 titles online and with several hundred being added each month it is an increasingly valuable resource. The aim of the EEBO TCP project is eventually to make 25,000 books available in this way.
Includes Ballow, Henry. A Treatise of Equity. London, 1737. Attributed to Ballow, though not certainly by him. Subsequently edited by John Fonblanque with addition of notes and references, five editions 1793–1820. An early systematic treatment of equity and a useful starting point for the development of modern doctrine
Alternative names: 18th Century Collections Online; ECCO
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm, available through its imprint Primary Source Microfilm. In the most ambitious single digitization project ever undertaken, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. When complete, the product will allow full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material, in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides research opportunities in ways previously unavailable to a wide range of data spanning all disciplines. It is one of the largest sources of rare materials ever collected in microfilm and electronic formats. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800. As the eighteenth century opened, the expiration of the strict controls that previously existed over printing, coupled with the birth of the Industrial Revolution, resulted in the proliferation of printing operations across the country and in turn, created an explosion of literacy. For the first time, a large segment of the population was exposed to a vast array of printed material. Social and economic criticism flourished; theories on man and society were set forth and debated.
Includes Saint German, Christopher. Doctor and Student. Edited by T. F. T. Plucknett and J. L. Barton. Selden Society Vol. 91. London: Selden Society, 1974 Guy, J. A. Christopher St German on Chancery and Statute. Selden Society supplementary series vol. 6. London: Selden Society, 1985. An edition of the anonymous Replication of a Serjeant at the Laws of England (a reply to St. German's Doctor and Student) and St. German's riposte in A Little Treatise concerning Writs of Subpoena, with a substantial introduction. Unlike Doctor and Student, these two short tracts consider particular cases of conscience in detail.Find this resource:
Alternative names: Hein Online ; HOL
HeinOnline includes five major collections:
The Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.
The Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.
The U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports
The Federal Register 1936-1995, and indexes to the register.
Legal Classics Library. Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833). Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.
To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Ballow, Henry. A Treatise of Equity. London, 1737. Attributed to Ballow, though not certainly by him. Subsequently edited by John Fonblanque with addition of notes and references, five editions 1793–1820. An early systematic treatment of equity and a useful starting point for the development of modern doctrine
Alternative names: MOML ; The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
The Making of Modern Law comprises over 21,000 works from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. It covers nearly every aspect of law, encompassing a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical literature, some very rare. The monographs and materials in Legal Treatises include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches. The collection covers domestic and international law, legal history, business and economics, politics and government, national defence, criminology, religion, education, labour and social welfare, and military justice.
Alternative names: LLMC ; Law Library Microfilm Consortium’s Online Service ; LLMC Digital
LLMC-digital is a collection of English language legal titles and government documents divided into ten major jurisdictional or subject areas: US Federal Government; US States and Territories; Canada; United Kingdom; Germany federal; Germany state, kingdoms and free cities; Other Countries (Afghanistan to Zimbabwe); International Law and Organizations; Indigenous Law covering materials from various regions of the United States, Canada and Indonesia; and Special Focus Collections which includes British Empire Studies, Canon Law, Islamic Law, Military Law, Native American Collection, Roman law, etc.
Potential sources of early editions on the free web
Holders of an Oxford SSO can sign in to get extended access, but some editions are in the public domain and available to all.
Alternative name: Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaboration of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. The HathiTrust Digital Library preserves and provides lawful access to some of those digitized items, specifically the 4 million which are in the public domain. The majority of the collection is in Humanities subjects.
University members: on the HathiTrust website, log in with your Single Sign On to download whole volumes of public domain items.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout