Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800): Newspapers

(Oxford, OUP, 1936) An annotated catalogue with details of newspapers which are not catalogued in SOLO. [LRR B1.1202]

Guidance on finding and using newspaper resources, including lists of relevant databases and electronic repositories.

Bodleian research guide

Digitization of the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library. It includes pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from across the period and offers a broad range of material from around 1,400 individual titles. Allows researchers to explore events and debates of the day, and chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it

Features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian Library. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737, have been digitized. This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th and 18th century England.

British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. On completion this unique digital archive will consist of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled record of more than two centuries of British history and culture.

Provides access to the full-text of nearly 460 British popular and literary periodicals published from the 17th century to the early 20th century. Includes amongst others the Anti-Slavery Reporter, London Review, Royal Magazine or Gentleman’s Monthly Companion, some religious titles such as The Wesleyan-Methodist Magazine. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, architecture, drama, the fine arts and the social sciences.

A collection of rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. The holdings of eight different libraries have been digitized and published on the website. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

An online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. With more than 12.5 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. All articles included are displayed as digital page images and all allow full-text searching.

The Irish Newspaper Archive provides access to the archive of over 23 Irish national and regional newspapers. It includes for instance Irish Independent (1905-2001), Leitrim Observer (1904-1998) and The Munster Express (1908-2004) but also historic newspapers such as the Freeman’s Journal (1763-1924), Nation (1840-1900) and Leinster Journal (1767-1828).

Includes 100+ titles covering a broad sweep of nationalist, republican, feminist and socialist publications covering mostly the revolutionary period 1913–23. This collection will also be useful to researchers of post-independence Ireland.

Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Founded originally as a moderate Protestant Irish nationalist newspaper, The Irish Times was predominantly Unionist until the 1930s. It is an important source for studies on Irish history and culture, but also Irish views on international events.