State papers 1560-1700
The Bodleian Library is a major centre for the study of 17th century history as it holds several major collections of state papers, mainly acquired before 1750. Together they form a remarkably rich source for the study of the Civil War, Interregnum and Restoration periods in British and Irish history. The papers of John Thurloe (d. 1668), Secretary of State to both Oliver and Richard Cromwell, are to be found among the Rawlinson manuscripts, where there are also to be found late 17th century Navy Board and Admiralty papers of Samuel Pepys (1633-1703). The Tanner manuscripts include the papers of William Lenthall, Speaker of the House of Commons 1640-55, 1659-60, and also those of William Sancroft, Archbishop of Canterbury 1678-90. The Carte papers contain the archive of James Butler, 1st Duke of Ormond, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland three times between 1644 and 1685, as well as papers of William FitzWilliam, Governor of Ireland 1571-5, 1588-94. The Clarendon manuscripts comprise the papers of Edward Hyde (1609-74), 1st Earl of Clarendon, Chancellor to Charles II. These collections have been supplemented by the papers of Sir John Bankes (1589-1644), attorney-general to Charles I.
-
Rawlinson Manuscripts
Dr Rawlinson's collection contains manuscripts on history, both English and international, and politics, including the state papers of John Thurloe and the papers of Samuel Pepys; theology, including sermons and liturgies; poetry; Classics; academica; statutes; numismatics; Essex. It also contains letters as well as collections that Rawlinson acquired and formerly belonged to Thomas Hearne (these include the manuscripts of Dr Thomas Smith, 1661-1709.)
-
Tanner Manuscripts
Tanner's collections contain much on the 17th-century Church, including correspondence of successive Archbishops of Canterbury, Gilbert Sheldon, 1663-1677, and William Sancroft, 1677-1690; and many papers relating to the Civil War and Interregnum, mainly correspondence of William Lenthall, Speaker of the House of Commons 1640-1660.
-
Clarendon State Papers
The Clarendon State Papers cover the whole period of the Civil War, the Commonwealth and the Restoration until Clarendon's impeachment in 1667. They are supplemented by many volumes in the hand of the 1st Earl, and by papers of Henry Hyde, 2nd Earl of Clarendon (1638-1709), Edward Hyde, 3rd Earl of Clarendon (1661-1723) and Henry Hyde, 2nd Earl of Rochester and 4th Earl of Clarendon (1672-1753) and of Henry Hyde, Viscount Cornbury (1710-1753).
-
Carte Papers (BOD MS Carte)
The Carte papers in the Bodleian Library comprise vast collections of original papers from various sources which Thomas Carte amassed in preparation for the publication of his biography of James Butler, 1st Duke of Ormond, in 1735-6. There are 276 large volumes, comprising Ormond, Fitzwilliam, Chichester, Sandwich, Wharton, Huntingdon and Nairn papers largely relating to the history of Britain and Ireland in the period 1560-1715.
-
Papers of Sir John Bankes
Official documents, 1634-40, mainly comprising copies of petitions to the king, with related papers, and warrants addressed to Bankes. There are bundles of papers relating to the American colonies; the granting of patents for monopolies and inventions, and charters of incorporation for boroughs and trades. There are bundles of draft proclamations; extracts from medieval records about the levying of contributions for the defence of the realm; recognizances and examinations in Star Chamber cases. There are also estate papers relating to Sir John Bankes's estates in North Lynn, West Lynn and Clenchwarton, Norfolk, c.1622-1650
Political papers 1700-1820
The Library's 18th and early 19th century historical papers, while not as extensive as those for the 17th century, are of great interest in a number of fields. The papers of the North family include those of Francis North, 1st Earl of Guilford (1704-90), containing much on the politics of the Court and the borough. The collection also includes about 60 volumes of official and financial papers of his son Frederick, Lord North (1732-92), the Prime Minister. The Harcourt family papers include the correspondence of Simon, 1st Earl Harcourt (1714-77), courtier and politician, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland 1772-7; and George Simon Harcourt, 2nd Earl Harcourt (1736-1809), including many letters from the royal family, and political and cultural figures.
The papers of the Tucker family of Dorset represent a different strand of 18th-century politics. The papers include much on local politics, the Portland stone business, and other mercantile interests of the family.
-
Archive of the North Family
The largest groups of papers in the collection are the estate and personal papers of Francis North, 1st Earl of Guilford, and Frederick, 2nd Earl of Guilford. There are smaller groups of personal papers of other members of the family ranging from Edward, 1st Baron North, in the 16th century, to William, 12th Baron North, in the late 19th century. Many of the title deeds and estate papers, and some correspondence (of the Doyle family) in the collection are papers of other families whose property came to the Norths by purchase or marriage. Some papers of John Stuart, 3rd Earl of Bute, of Sir Julius Caesar, and of Clementina Walkinshaw, mistress of the Young Pretender, are also in the collection.
-
Harcourt Estate and Family Papers
From late 12th cent.-1967. Includes personal papers, correspondence, diaries, deeds and estate papers, household accounts, maps and surveys, visitor's books, and papers of other families.
-
Tucker Family Papers
Papers of the Tucker family, including correspondence, accounts and deeds. The collection also includes some papers of the Gollop, Steward and Browne families. The greater part of this collection consists of the papers of Edward Tucker of Weymouth and Melcombe Regis, MP (d. 1737), and his two sons, John Tucker, MP (1701-79) and Richard Tucker (1704-77). Edward Tucker MP, and his son Richard consecutively held the office of surveyor of His Majesty's quarries in Portland, 1714-77. John Tucker was also cashier to the treasurer of the navy, 1744-9.
Estate papers 1500-1800
Many of the families mentioned above owned extensive estates, with records of ownership stretching back into the Middle Ages. The North, Harcourt and Dashwood family papers have particularly complete collections of estate records.
-
Archive of the North Family
The largest groups of papers in the collection are the estate and personal papers of Francis North, 1st Earl of Guilford, and Frederick, 2nd Earl of Guilford. There are smaller groups of personal papers of other members of the family ranging from Edward, 1st Baron North, in the 16th century, to William, 12th Baron North, in the late 19th century. Many of the title deeds and estate papers, and some correspondence (of the Doyle family) in the collection are papers of other families whose property came to the Norths by purchase or marriage. Some papers of John Stuart, 3rd Earl of Bute, of Sir Julius Caesar, and of Clementina Walkinshaw, mistress of the Young Pretender, are also in the collection.
-
Harcourt Estate and Family Papers
From late 12th cent.-1967. Includes personal papers, correspondence, diaries, deeds and estate papers, household accounts, maps and surveys, visitor's books, and papers of other families.
-
Archive of the Dashwood Family
Papers of the Dashwood family of West Wycombe, Bucks., including papers of John, 7th Earl of Westmorland and the Sandys family of Ombersley, Worcs.
War and peace, 1640-1815
Britain's relationship with other European states is represented in extensive holdings of diplomatic papers. There is much among the state papers of the 17th century mentioned above. Later accessions include numerous small groups of papers relating to the diplomacy that ended the War of the Spanish Succession, adding to a large collection of papers of John Robinson (1650-1723), and plenipotentiary for the peace negotiations at Utrecht to be found among the Rawlinson manuscripts. The papers of the Earls of Clarendon of the 2nd creation (Clarendon dep.) include those of Thomas Villiers (1709-86), 1st Earl of Clarendon, envoy to Saxony-Poland, Austria and Prussia, 1738-46. Another larger diplomatic collection is that of William Henry van Nassau van Zuylestein, 4th Earl of Rochford (1717–81), envoy to Turin 1749-55. The papers of James Bland Burges (1752-1824) include his correspondence with envoys all over Europe and in the United States as under-secretary at the Foreign Office during the revolutionary upheavals in France, 1789-95.
The state paper collections contain a great deal about military operations during the Civil Wars in Britain and Ireland 1638-53. The Carte manuscripts include detailed accounts of the war that followed the Irish Rebellion of 1641 in the correspondence of James Butler, later 1st Duke of Ormond, who at that time was commander of the royal army in Ireland.
Britain's military contribution to the Napoleonic Wars is encompassed by some notable collections relating to the Peninsular War. The Napier family papers include correspondence of Sir William Napier (1785-1870) relating to his controversial History of the War in the Peninsula (1828-40), including letters and memoranda from army officers, and information supplied by among others the Duke of Wellington. The North family collection includes papers of General (Charles) William Doyle (1770-1842) who acted as a liaison officer to various Spanish Juntas 1808-11.
-
Rawlinson Manuscripts
Dr Rawlinson's collection contains manuscripts on history, both English and international, and politics, including the state papers of John Thurloe and the papers of Samuel Pepys; theology, including sermons and liturgies; poetry; Classics; academica; statutes; numismatics; Essex. It also contains letters as well as collections that Rawlinson acquired and formerly belonged to Thomas Hearne (these include the manuscripts of Dr Thomas Smith, 1661-1709.)
-
Papers of the Earls of Clarendon (2nd Creation)
Comprises working, family and personal correspondence; journals; working, financial and estate papers; official and personal printed material and ephemera including ephemera for many royal events; genealogical papers; photographs; and objects belonging to the Villiers family, the Earls of Clarendon (2nd Creation) and their immediate predecessor, Viscount Cornbury.
-
Diplomatic Correspondence of William Henry Zuylestein
Diplomatic correspondence of William Henry Zuylestein during his Turin embassy.
-
Archive of Sir James Bland Burges
Mainly 1772-1824, with papers of the Burges and Head families.
-
Carte Papers (BOD MS Carte)
The Carte papers in the Bodleian Library comprise vast collections of original papers from various sources which Thomas Carte amassed in preparation for the publication of his biography of James Butler, 1st Duke of Ormond, in 1735-6. There are 276 large volumes, comprising Ormond, Fitzwilliam, Chichester, Sandwich, Wharton, Huntingdon and Nairn papers largely relating to the history of Britain and Ireland in the period 1560-1715.
-
Archive of the Napier Family
Papers of Sir William Napier and his wife Caroline, 1801-1861; correspondence of H.E. Fox and H.S. Fox, 1786-1842; papers of Col. George and Lady Sarah Napier, 1780-1874; papers of Sir Charles James Napier, 1800-1853; papers of other members of the Napier family, 1788-1933.
-
Archive of the North Family
The largest groups of papers in the collection are the estate and personal papers of Francis North, 1st Earl of Guilford, and Frederick, 2nd Earl of Guilford. There are smaller groups of personal papers of other members of the family ranging from Edward, 1st Baron North, in the 16th century, to William, 12th Baron North, in the late 19th century. Many of the title deeds and estate papers, and some correspondence (of the Doyle family) in the collection are papers of other families whose property came to the Norths by purchase or marriage. Some papers of John Stuart, 3rd Earl of Bute, of Sir Julius Caesar, and of Clementina Walkinshaw, mistress of the Young Pretender, are also in the collection.
