Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800): Dutch sources

Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts is a leading bibliography for historical study in the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in EBSCO's 'America: History and Life'). It is a database of annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square - over half a million entries in all. Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.

Full transcription of the Particular Synods of South Holland in the 17th century, originally published 1908-16.

The Dutch refugee church in London was of great importance for the development of Protestantism in the Netherlands. Acta of its consistory.

Notarial documents related to overseas travel from Amsterdam to Archangel and other places in northern Russia from 1594 to 1724. Of interest to students of maritime history and the history of trade and/or foreign affairs.

Conference proceedings.

Correspondence of the princes of Orange and counts of Nassau, as conserved at the Royal Archives in The Hague. Runs 1552-1789. Originally published 1835-1915.

Report of archival research in Sweden, Denmark and several German cities on the Baltic Sea regarding their historical relations to the Netherlands.

Correspondence between Béatrix de Cusance (1614-1663), duchess of Lorraine, and Dutch civil servant Constantijn Huygens (1596-1687).

Diplomatic, military and correspondence documents related to Dutch maritime wars with England (1652-1654; 1665-1667; 1672-1674); Sweden (1656-1660); France (1672-1674) and Spain (1676).

Correspondence between Dutch statesman Simon van Slingelandt (1664-1736) and Sicco van Goslinga (1664-1731), Dutch ambassador to the French crown.

Correspondence of Constantijn Huygens, secretary to multiple seventeenth-century stadtholders and counts of Orange.

Correspondence of seventeenth-century lawyer, philologist, exegete and historian Hugo Grotius (Hugo de Groot).

Correspondence of William of Orange/ William the Silent (1533-1584), who led the Dutch revolt against the Spanish Habsburg dynasty leading to independence of the northern Netherlands. More than 13000 documents included.

Correspondence of international merchant and diplomat Daniël van der Meulen (Antwerp 1554 - Leiden 1600).

Correspondence of novelist, playwright and essayist Belle van Zuylen aka Isabelle de Charrière (1740-1805)

Transcribed decisions of the governing bodies of the University of Leiden, a leading educational institution in early modern Europe.

Documents, largely from the archives of the Dutch United East India Company (VOC), related to the Company's activities in Persia up to 1638.

Two-volume edition mainly on the history of the Exchange Bank in Amsterdam, founded in 1609, based on statistical data from its archive, including ledgers, annual audited accounts, lists of various financial records etc.

As complete a survey as possible of documents connected to Leiden's textile industry from the beginning of the 14th century until the end of the 18th century.

Documents related to Dutch trade with England, Scotland and Ireland from the beginning of the 12th century until 1585, including deeds, official papers and court records, as well as invoices.

Published sources relating to Dutch shipping and trade through the Straits of Gibraltar with countries situated around the Mediterranean, based on the archive of the Levant Trade Authority, the archive of the States-General, and the archives of Dutch envoys in Constantinople.

Quantitative and qualitative sources on 17th-century Dutch trade in the Baltic area, based largely on the Koningsbergen toll-registers and notarial freight contracts from Amsterdam and from Holland’s Northern quarter.

Documents on the history of Amsterdam's business community and guilds drawn from the municipal record office in Amsterdam, totalling 4645 items.

Sources on the history of Middelburg and wider Zeeland 1217-1574.

Sources on the life and work of D.V. Coornhert 1541-1590, etcher and engraver, printer, lawyer, poet and writer, advocate of religious freedom, and architect of a new, more humane penal system.

Sources on the history of Rijnsburg Abbey 1140-1620. The two-volume documentary edition contains a list of abbesses, roll-books of important contracts concluded between 1140-1620, a register detailing fiefs of the abbey between 1383-1463, and excerpts from bills issued from 1375-1500.

Minutes of the classis (clerical assembly at mid-level between the local church councils and the provincial synods) of the Dutch reformed church from 1573 to1620

Correspondence of the wives of William of Orange, 1552–1617, and of the wives of the Dutch and Frisian Stadtholders, 1605–1759. Includes letters of Anna van Egmond (1533–1558), Anna von Sachsen (1544–1577), Charlotte de Bourbon (1546/7–1582), Louise de Coligny (1555–1620); Amalia von Solms-Braunfels (1602–1675), Mary Stuart, Princess Royal and Princess of Orange (1631–1661), Mary II Stuart, future Queen of England, Scotland, and Ireland (1662–1694); Sophia Hedwig von Braunschweig-Wolfenbüttel (1592–1642), Albertine Agnes van Oranje-Nassau (1634–1696), Henriette Amalia von Anhalt Dessau (1666–1726) and Anne of Hannover (1709–1759).

Five volumes of correspondence between William III, prince of Orange and later King of England, and Hans Willem Bentinck, first Earl of Portland.

A large selection of material from Egbert Alting's journal, First Secretary to the town of Groningen in the latter half of the 16th century.

Nineteen volumes containing the full correspondence left by Anthonie Heinsius (1641-1720), Grand Pensionary of Holland. Following the death of Stadholder King William III in 1702, Heinsius took charge of foreign policy within the Republic of the United Provinces, and was a key partner of the Duke of Malborough against France and Spain during the War of the Spanish Succession.

Daily registers of the Dutch settlement on the island of Taiwan, Fort Zeelandia, between 1629 and 1661, which acted as the hub of all VOC trade in the South China Sea.

Ten exit reports and instructions concerning the Malabar command post of the United East India Company (VOC), set up after Cochin was captured from the Portuguese in 1663.

Prosopographic data of more than 14.000 people in the Amsterdam elite, based on the 460 members of its city council between 1578 en 1795.

The letters provide an insight into the relations between England and the Republic of the United Provinces, particularly concerning Charles II’s attempts to have France’s territorial claims to the Southern Netherlands ratified.

Digitised edition of Die Chronyk van Hollandt, Zeelandt ende Vriesland (Leiden, 1517) by humanist scholar Cornelius Aurelius, usually known as the 'Divisiekroniek'. The book deals with the history of Holland from the earliest times to the year 1517, and also contains a history of the world, a popular subgenre in the Middle Ages.

Between 1595 and 1795 the Dutch East India Company (VOC) and its predecessors before 1602 equipped more than 4,700 ships to sail from the shores of the Netherlands bound for Asia. More than 3,400 ships made the return voyage home. The reference work Dutch-Asiatic Shipping has classified these voyages on which Dutch trade between Europe and Asia was founded in a systematic survey, drawn from the logbooks kept at the VOC archive.

A guide to archival sources on the Dutch colonies in the Caribbean World, covering collections in the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Curaçao, Suriname and Guyana, in addition to a summary of the relevant laws and regulations of the period.

Documents seized by British navy and privateers from enemy ships in the period 1652-1815, including ship’s journals, lists of cargo, accounts, plantation lists and interrogations of crew members, as well as approximately 38,000 business and private letters originating from all social strata of society.

Brings together datasets related to recruitment and shipping in the East-India trade (mainly 18th century) and in the shipping of the northern provinces of the Netherlands (mainly 19th century).

Platform giving access to around 20,000 letters that were written by and sent to 17th century scholars who lived in the Dutch Republic. Enables visualizations of geographical, time-based, social network and co-citation inquiries.

Data concerning personal effects and real estate in the Netherlands in the 16th century. Contains a a selection of documents that were drawn up by the trustees of personal effects confiscated during the reign of the Duke of Alba. between the years 1567-1570, from those thought to have participated in the Dutch Revolt.

Annual letters through which the Governor-General and Committees of the United East India Company sent a general report to the Gentlemen XVII (the 17-member board of the United East India Company) with details of the company's activities in Asia and South Africa.

Releases the available key figures regarding the Dutch Republic's public finance prior to 1795. Includes quantitative data for the provinces Overijssel, Drenthe, Groningen, Holland, Utrecht, Friesland and Zeeland.

E-book monograph on the archiving activites of the States-General 1576-1796

Eighteen final reports (Relazioni) written by envoys in The Hague between 1607 and 1713 for the Senate of Venice.

Reference work on Dutch diplomats and consulate officials who represented the interests of the Republic of the United Netherlands, the Batavian Republic and the Kingdom of Holland abroad, as well as of foreign diplomats and consulate officials stationed on Dutch soil during the period 1584-1810

Compendium of office holders and civil servants 1428-1861: a searchable database, of information on the highest-ranking officeholders and members of the most important institutions of a representative, administrative and judicial nature on present-day Dutch territory. Records more than 12,000 individuals and approximately 25,000 official appointments.

Resolutions of the States General, both ordinary and secret, from the period 1576 to 1630 that have been opened up for historical research.

Resolutions of the States General of the United Provinces from 1 January 1626 to 15 May 1630.

Project reconstructing the meetings of the Estates of Holland in the late Middle Ages and the earlier meetings between the count and the towns and the towns among themselves.

Letters from Dutch envoys to the imperial court in Vienna, among whom the most important were Coenraad van Heemskerck, Jacob Hop, Adolf Hendrik van Rechteren-Almelo and father and son Hamel Bruynincx.

The Sound Toll Registers (STR) are the accounts of the toll which the kings of Denmark levied on the shipping through the Sound, the strait which is the main connection between the North Sea and the Baltic Sea. They have been preserved (with gaps in the first decades) for the period from 1497 to 1857, when the toll was abolished. From 1574 on, the series is almost complete. The STR are being kept by the Danish National Archives (Rigsarkivet) in Copenhagen.

The STR contain data on 1.8 million passages through the Sound. The officials of the tollhouse at Elsinore recorded in principle the following data of each passage:
- the date
- the name of the shipmaster
- the place of residence of the shipmaster
- the port of departure
- the port of destination (from the mid-1660s)
- the composition of the cargo
- the toll.