The Annual Register is a year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. It is a valuable source of contemporary opinion, historical context and biographical information. The online version of The Annual Register includes every volume published and will be updated with the latest volume each year. It was first written in 1758 under the editorship of Edmund Burke. The first half of the book comprises articles on each of the world’s countries or regions, while the latter half contains articles on international organisations, economics, the environment, science, law, religion, the arts and sport, together with obituaries, a chronicle of major events and selected documents.
A uniquely exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. With new content uploads occurring on a weekly basis, the database offers a constantly growing treasury of theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, and polemical treatises written by more than 300 Protestant authors.
Like their Protestant counterparts, Catholic authors of the 16th and 17th centuries took advantage of print technology to create a vast treasury of published documents--a legacy that to this day has been but selectively sampled and appreciated. The Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation makes the documentary riches of this era more accessible than ever, adding powerful functionalities that maximize the flexibility with which researchers can search, view, organize, and manipulate this historically important source material. With new content uploads occurring on a regular basis, the database offers a constantly growing treasury of documents, including papal and synodal decrees, catechisms and inquisitorial manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises and systems, liturgical writings, saints' lives, and devotional works.
Providing access to almost 25,000 rare and often unique books, Early European Books (EEB) is a key resource for those with a strong research interest in the period from 1450 – 1700, delivering a wide variety of primary sources from one of the most fascinating and influential periods in Western history. It provides access to European collections of historic and bibliographic importance.
All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of EEB, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield. EEB builds upon and complements Early English Books Online (EEBO) and is largely concerned with non-Anglophone materials; however, books in English or printed in the English-speaking world that are already represented in EEBO are not omitted from EEB where they form an integral element of the predominantly non-Anglophone collections that have been made available for digital capture.
Collection 1 offers access to access to over 2,600 largely pre-1601 works held in Det Kongelige Bibliotek (Royal Library, Copenhagen). Selection of works is based on L. Nielsen's Dansk Bibliografi 1482–1600 and its supplement (1919–1996). All of the Royal Library's Danish and Icelandic imprints produced in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries fall within its scope.
Collection 2 contains early printed volumes from the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (BNCF)(Florence, Italy), and covers specifically Nencini Aldine Collection, Marginalia, Incunabula and Sacred Representations (sacre rappresentazioni, popular verse plays depicting Biblical scenes).
Collection 3 and 4 contains works from 5 different libraries: BNCF, Koninklijke Bibliotheek (Den Haag, Netherlands), The Wellcome Library (London, UK), Det Kongelige Bibliotek (Copenhagen, Denmark), Bibliothèque nationale de France (Paris, France).
EMLO is a combined finding aid and editorial interface for basic descriptions of early modern correspondence: a collaboratively populated union catalogue of sixteenth-, seventeenth-, and eighteenth-century letters. Currently it is possible to search ‘Catalogues‘— where correspondences are listed in alphabetical order by the name of the individual correspondent or by name of the collector or collection — or to view groups of correspondences clustered according to ‘Themes‘. Catalogues may be viewed and selected also under ‘Contributor‘, where they are ordered by the name of the contributing scholar, project, institution, or publisher. Future improvements include chronologically or geographically searches, or by holding institution.
Electronic Enlightenment has as its foundation major printed editions of correspondence centred on the "long 18th century". From the correspondence itself, the supporting critical apparatus and additional research, the project has developed a set of information categories that creates an intricate network of connections between the documents and enriches Electronic Enlightenment as a digital academic resource. Through such interconnecting and contextualizing categories, Electronic Enlightenment is able to offer the user an unrivalled range and depth of approachs to the documents and people included here.
To date, most of the content of Electronic Enlightenment has been provided by printed editions of correspondences from academic presses worldwide; nevertheless, it is not simply an aggregation of these editions. Rather it is a database of individual letters and correspondents that can be searched or browsed as a complete collection. This is one of the great strengths of Electronic Enlightenment.
The content of Electronic Enlightenment is planned to grow by several thousand letters a year: additional content will include both new print editions and correspondence never previously edited. The network of external links to leading resources, from Chambers' Cyclopaedia to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, will continue to expand. The functionality of Electronic Enlightenment will also be enhanced in line with developments in online database technology.
"The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850" provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout