Skip to Main Content

Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800): Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford seeking support in British and West European early modern history, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about printed and online resources (including ebooks, ejournals, databases), reference works (incl. biographical dictionaries) and special collections for this historical period.

Looking for books, journals, databases and more, held in Oxford libraries? 

Search Oxford Libraries Online (SOLO)

Looking for early modern and modern archives held in the Bodleian Libraries?

Search Bodleian Archives & Manuscripts

Key databases

Ways to access subscription resources off campus:

  1. Single Sign On. Sign on to SOLO, Databases A-Z or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 
  2. VPN (Virtual Private Network). Register with IT Services to log on to the network via VPN. Once logged on you can access all e-resources as if you were on campus.

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

Getting started

Finding books and journals

Use SOLO to search for books and journals held in Oxford libraries.

Use author and/or title searches to find books. If you are looking for books on a topic, type in useful subject terms.

E.g. Great Britain History Civil War. [more on subject searching]

Key journals

British journals

Western European journals

Period-specific journals

Finding journal articles

While you can search for journal articles in SOLO, if you are searching by subject it is actually best to use special databases.This is particularly true if you don't have any or only complete references to articles or journals. The recommended databases are:

  1. Historical Abstracts (c. 1450-current; world history excl. North America)
  2. Bibliography of British & Irish History (Roman Britain to current; British, Irish and Commonwealth countries) > IHR Resource Pack
  3. Index Religiosus (church and religious history)

More on how to find journal articles.

Looking for reviews of book, articles, textbooks and digital resources?

Reviews are typically...

  • published in history journals (e.g. Past & Present) or newspapers (e.g. Times Literary Supplement, New York Book Reviews, etc.)
  • indexed in a bibliograpical databases such as Bibliography of British and Irish History or Historical Abstracts (Oxford users only)
  • published in H-Net;
  • Reviews in History publishes reviews and reappraisals of significant work in all fields of historical interest.  The ejournals includes over 1000 reviews to date and new reviews appear regularly. You can browse reviews by type of review (digital reviews, textbooks, articles, books, etc.) or by subject, period or country.
  • Choice Reviews Online (Oxford users only): publishes annually more than 7,000 concise reviews of academic titles, including books and electronic resources. The reviews are organized by discipline and also feature bibliographic essays and lists of significant forthcoming titles.You can browse or search through the issue, going back to 1988.

Contact

Profile Photo
Rachel D'Arcy-Brown
Contact:
Upper Reading Room,
Room 2.03 (North / History end)
Bodleian Library,
Broad Street
Oxford,
OX1 3BG
01865 2-77294
Website

Get help with...

Recommend a purchase (SSO required)

Chat to our Live chat:

chat loading...