Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Economics & Finance

Alternative name: inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
 

ICPSR holds the world's largest collection of computer-readable social science data. In order to use this service you will need to create a MyData account.

Logging in with your MyData account and agreeing to the ICPSR Responsible Use Statement authorizes you to download data files from that point on. On subsequent visits to the site, when you begin to download a dataset, you will be asked to enter your e-mail address and MyData password.

The IMF elibrary provides online access to the complete collection of global economic content published by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) comprising more than 11,000 text publications and full access to the IMF's statistical databases. Access offers information and analysis on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice and poverty reduction.

Main Economic Indicators

The OECD produces annual, quarterly and monthly data for around 3,800 economic indicators. The variables cover national accounts, industrial production, employment, prices, business trends and trade. The dataset also includes the OECD's leading indicators (key variables that signal changes in the business cycle). Runs from January 1960 to the current month.

OECD Structural Analysis (STAN)

This portfolio includes four databases each useful at different units of analyses. The STAN indicatorsÆ industry list is based upon ISIC revision 3 and covers 65 sectors where detailed information varies across country, indicator, and coverage: STAN fills the gap between Industrial survey data (microdata) and National level aggregate statistics (macrodata). You can use STAN to analyse industrial structure and the evolution of industrial performance (e.g. import penetration, investment per employee, export market shares) within and across countries. The databases are updated on an annual basis and run from 1970 onwards.

OECD National Accounts

The OECD National Accounts presents a series of databases all containing data related to national accounts and its components including comparable statistics for key indicators. Countries covered vary but generally include OECD countries and a select group of non-OECD countries. The database is updated on a quarterly and annual basis and runs from 1955.

Main Science and Technology Indicators

The 149 Main Science and Technology Indicators provides final or provisional results and government forecasts covering such topics as resources devoted to research and development, patent families, the technology balance of payments, and international trade in highly Research and Development intensive industries.

Measuring Globalisation 2001

The Measuring Globalisation Statistics database contains figures on foreign affiliates (inward investment) by investing country in the manufacturing sector covering variable

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics. It is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data with online access provided for all publications and statistics released since 1998.

The iLibrary covers 17 key themes including development, economics, governance, trade and social issues, migration and health. As of March 2013 content includes 5 billion data points across 42 databases; 44,630 tables and graphs; 8,330 ebook titles; 30,280 chapters; and 1,920 key tables.

Please note, IEA statistics are not included in our subscription.

UKDS (UK Data Service) provides access and support for a range of international datasets (macro and micro) and the NS Time Series Databank. The service promotes and facilitate effective use of international datasets in research and teaching in social sciences.

The World Bank’s mission is to alleviate poverty, with a desire to foster public ownership, partnership and participation in development from a wide range of stakeholders. It provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalogue. Broad access to these data allow researchers, policymakers and advocacy groups to make well-informed decisions and measure improvements accurately.

The World Bank World Development Indicators (WDI) contain statistical data for over 600 development indicators for over 200 countries and 18 country groups running from 1960 onwards. The extensive collection of development data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators.

The Eurostat Database (formerly the Eurostat New Cronos Database) contains high quality macroeconomic and social statistics data, mostly organised into nine statistical themes: General and regional statistics; Economy and finance; Population and social conditions; Industry, trade and services; Agriculture, forestry and fisheries; International trade; Transport; Environment and energy; Science, technology, digital society.

More than 1400 Eurostat publications featuring the latest indicators, news releases, nomenclatures and other publications covering:

General Statistics - Economy and Finance - Population and Social Conditions - Industry, Trade and Services - Agriculture and Fisheries - External Trade -Transport - Environment and Energy - Research and Development.

Note that we only have a ONE user licence, so please logout as soon as you have finished.

Indiastat.com is the largest resource for Indian statistical data on health, higher education, agricultural production information, economic statistics and tourism related data et al. The site also contains information on sectors like bank and financial institutions, companies, cooperatives, crime and law, population, foreign trade, labour & workforce, housing, media, power, transport, urban and rural settlements in India and many more.

Landscan is a population database that maps geographical distribution of a populace within cells of one-kilometre resolution over a 24 hour period. This allows assessment, estimation and visualisation of populations reacting to disease outbreaks, social upheaval or natural disasters. The modelling process uses sub-national level census counts and other data for each country combined with high resolution imagery analysis.

Coverage is global. The archive of data is available as far back as 2000. Access via a web-based application allows general browsing and visualisation.

Deeper analysis is possible using Web Map Service (WMS) or Web Coverage Service GIS applications. The username and password required to access the data in this form is provided on the Username and password webpage.

Regional Trends was a comprehensive regular source of official statistics for the Statistical Regions of the UK (Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Government Office Regions within England) published until 2011. It included a wide range of demographic, social, industrial and economic statistics, covering aspects of life in the regions.

Designed to optimize searching and browsing of statistical data, Universal Database of Statistical Publications covers Russian- and English-language publications, reports and data sets from State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Features searching within reports, tables and graphs, transliteration option, tables of contents in English, etc.

Coverage includes:

* National and regional level socioeconomic indicators

* Statistical yearbooks and monthly analytical reports

* Annual statistical abstracts on national accounts, population, labor, public health, transportation, industrial output, and related socioeconomic measures

Global Finaeon contains stock market, economic, and financial time-series data covering up to 200 countries and over 20,000 historical or current data series. Historic data includes stock markets from 1690, exchange rates from 1590, interest rates from 1700, commodities from 1500, and inflation from 1264. Data can be downloaded in ASCII or Excel formats.

A database that records the flow of goods, services and finance between an economy and the rest of the world. The IMF BOPS database contains over 200 countries and regional groups. It contains over 100,000 quarterly and annual time series data. Where the data are available, the annual entries generally begin in 1967 and quarterly entries begin in 1970. The period for which data are available varies from country to country, but most countries’ data extend from the mid-1970s to the present.

Access is available through the IMF data portal (https://data.imf.org/BOP) and further user manuals and support are provided. Regular deposits into the UK Data Archive of this database means the UK Data Service may also be used as an alternative access point (https://beta.ukdataservice.ac.uk/datacatalogue/studies/study?id=4963) and will be useful for researchers already using the UKDS.Stat analytical tool or other UKDS collections.

The IMF elibrary provides online access to the complete collection of global economic content published by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) comprising more than 11,000 text publications and full access to the IMF's statistical databases. Access offers information and analysis on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice and poverty reduction.

The IMF Government Finance Statistics (GFS) database is updated quarterly and is the standard reference source on governments of IMF member countries. Annual data is supplied from 1990 onwards on revenue income by source (tax, lending, bonds, etc.), and expenditure by sector (defence, education, health, etc.) for all levels of government. Data are in local currencies with the major components and expenditures on education, health, social security and agriculture shown also as a percentage of gross domestic product (GDP) Historical data is also available as far back as 1972 although coverage will vary.

Access is available through the IMF data portal (https://data.imf.org/GFS) and further user manuals and support are provided. Regular deposits into the UK Data Archive of this database means the UK Data Service may also be used as an alternative access point (https://beta.ukdataservice.ac.uk/datacatalogue/studies/study?id=4994) and will be useful for researchers already using the UKDS.Stat analytical tool or other UKDS collections.

The principal statistical publication and database of the IMF which is the standard source for all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports time series data on exchange rates, balance of payments, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, national accounts and population. The database contains over 67,000 monthly, quarterly and annual time series data. Most annual data begin in 1948; quarterly and monthly data generally begin in 1957; most balance of payments data begin in 1970. Selected data, including data on Fund accounts, international reserves and international trade, are also aggregated into regional and world tables. Data are reported in a mixture of indexes, national currencies, US Dollars and SDRs (the basket currency the Fund uses as a unit of account).

Access is available through the IMF data portal (http://www.imf.org/external/data.htm) and further user manuals and support are provided. Regular deposits into the UK Data Archive of this database means the UK Data Service may also be used as an alternative access point (https://www.ukdataservice.ac.uk/use-data/guides/dataset/ifs) and will be useful for researchers already using the UKDS.Stat analytical tool or other UKDS collections.

A database that contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, presenting IMF staff analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. his database can be used to find data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the IMF. Updated twice a year, annual data are available from 1980 to the present and projections are given for the next five years. Data is presented for approximately 180 countries.

Access is available through the IMF data portal (https://www.imf.org/en/Publications/SPROLLS/world-economic-outlook-databases) and further user manuals and support are provided. Regular deposits into the UK Data Archive of this database means the UK Data Service may also be used as an alternative access point (https://beta.ukdataservice.ac.uk/datacatalogue/studies/study?id=5761) and will be useful for researchers already using the UKDS.Stat analytical tool or other UKDS collections.

Alternative name: WRDS
 

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) is a cross-database financial research tool, developed by the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Individual accounts for WRDS are available for all members of the University of Oxford, and faculty can request the setup of classroom accounts for teaching purposes. Click on Register to request an account setup. Please contact library@sbs.ox.ac.uk with any enquiries.

Subscription includes Boardex, Compustat, CRSP, Execucomp, IBES, IvyDB US (OptionMetrics), Mergent FISD, FTSE Russell, Refinitiv Insiders Data, Refinitiv Institutional Holdings, Refinitiv Mutual Fund Holdings, RepRisk, Reuters DealScan, SDC Mergers & Acquisitions and New Issues, and SNL Banking and FIG Data. 

The Annual Report on Exchange Arrangements and Exchange Restrictions (AREAER) tracks the exchange rate and trade regimes of all members of the International Monetary Fund and three territories (Aruba, Hong Kong SAR, and Curaçao and Sint Maarten—formerly the Netherlands Antilles).

AREAER Online provides direct access to the data used to create the yearly reports from 1999 onwards. Data may be searched across years, countries, or via a data query. The published yearly reports and separate chapters for each country and territory for each year can be viewed online or downloaded as PDFs. Each country chapter is presented in a tabular format that tracks more than 250 categories. Information is provided on the structure of exchange rates and how they are set, monetary frameworks, arrangements for payments and receipts, procedures for resident and non-resident accounts, the operation of foreign exchange markets, and controls on international trade. The report also includes descriptions of controls on capital transactions and measures implemented in the financial sector, including prudential measures.

BACI is the World trade database developed by the CEPII at a high level of product disaggregation.

Original data are provided by the United Nations Statistical Division (COMTRADE database). BACI is constructed using an original procedure that reconciles the declarations of the exporter and the importer. This harmonization procedure enables to extend considerably the number of countries for which trade data are available, as compared to the original dataset.

A database that contains data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between a listed country and all its trading partners.Total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports are aggregated at national or regional group level. For each reporting country or group, all the trading partners are listed. The corresponding monetary values of total imports and total exports are then provided as time series for each country/trading partner pair. All exports are valued Free on Board (f.o.b.). Imports are usually reported Cost including Insurance and Freight (c.i.f.) although a small number of countries report imports f.o.b.. Area and world aggregates showing trade flows between major areas of the world are presented as well. Reported data are supplemented by estimates whenever such data are not current or are not available in monthly frequency.

Access is available through the IMF data portal (https://data.imf.org/?sk=9D6028D4-F14A-464C-A2F2-59B2CD424B85) and further user manuals and support are provided. Regular deposits into the UK Data Archive of this database means the UK Data Service may also be used as an alternative access point (https://beta.ukdataservice.ac.uk/datacatalogue/studies/study?id=4745) and will be useful for researchers already using the UKDS.Stat analytical tool or other UKDS collections.

Commodity Price Statistics from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development provide monthly free-market prices and price indices starting in January 1960 for selected commodities that concern commodity-dependant countries. Price indices are provided for commodity groups (including food, tropical beverages, vegetable oilseeds and oils, agricultural raw materials, minerals, ores and metals), and for all groups in current dollars and SDRs. Additional features include: instability indices and trends in prices; annual maximum and minimum values of monthly price averages; and Commodity Price Bulletin in PDF format.

The University of Oxford's subscription provides access to the UN Comtrade Database premium service. This includes the facility for users to bulk download data which is denied those using the UN Open Data portal.

UN Comtrade contains detailed import and export flow data for over 200 countries listed by commodity and partner country. These data are processed into a standard format with consistent coding and valuation. All values are converted into US dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade. Where possible quantities are converted into metric units. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and all go up to the most recent completed year.

Commodities are classified according to Standard International Trade Classification (SITC) and the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System (HS). The original data are also converted and stored in alternative classifications

NOTE: To access the premium service please register with an .ox.ac.uk email address.

EMIS delivers news, company and financial data direct from more than 70 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Africa. It gives emerging market specialists worldwide one-stop Internet access to mission-critical information straight from the local markets and from over 10,500 publications. Whether they are looking for current news, hard-to-get company and industry information, financial markets data or macroeconomic analysis, EMIS offers the definitive solution for convenient access of emerging markets business intelligence.

Updated daily, our sources are categorized, archived, indexed and fully searchable via a uniquely intuitive and customizable interface. Supporting 20 languages, the service is designed for speed and ease of use. Over 2250 institutional clients rely on EMIS every day to research companies, investigate industries and track developments that impact their business.

FAME is a database that contains information for companies in the UK and Ireland. FAME contains information on 3.4 million companies, 2.4 million of which are in a detailed format.

For the top 2.4 million companies the reports typically include: contact information including phone, e-mail and web addresses plus main and other trading addresses, activity details, 29 profit and loss account and 63 balance sheet items, cash flow and ratios, credit score and rating, security and price information (listed companies only), names of bankers, auditors, previous auditors and advisors, details of holdings and subsidiaries (including foreign holdings and subsidiaries), names of current and previous directors with home addresses and shareholder indicator, heads of department, shareholders, news plus access to the scanned image of the latest annual returns and reports. In addition to the existing ratios you can also create your own that you can display in the reports and also use in your searches and analyses.

IBISWorld is a market research database providing access to both UK and global industry reports. Also includes Canada Industry Reports (NAICS).

UK database of market reports in key areas of retail, leisure and finance.

Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) is an integrated online information system providing business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It includes statistics, full market reports and comment on emerging industry, country and consumer trends.

Alternative name: Formerly known as Zephyr.
 

ZEPHYR is a database of M&A, IPO and venture capital deals, with pan-European transactions dating back to 1997 and US deals from 2001.

Historical Statistics of the United States has long been the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. It has not been revised, however, since the Bicentennial Edition, which was published in 1975 and provided data through 1970. The period since then has witnessed an explosion of quantitative scholarship and the general expansion of the government's statistical record keeping. By one estimate, more than three fourths of the data output of the U.S. government and more than 80 percent of the historical data series generated by scholars have been produced since 1970. No subject area and few data series have remained untouched by this phenomenal growth of the American quantitative record.

The revised, updated, and expanded Millennial Edition contains considerably more information than its immediate predecessor: five volumes rather than two, more than twice as many pages of data and documentation, and a tripling of the number of data series: 37,339 in the new edition. This expansion occurred along several dimensions. Most series from the previous edition were extended by roughly thirty years, and the coverage of most topics was enhanced. More than a dozen new topics were added: American Indians, slavery, outlying areas, poverty, non-profit organizations, and the Confederate States of America, to list a few examples. Finally, the chapters in the new edition are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer expert advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation.

A collection of British Historical Population Reports.

The Online Historical Population Reports (OHPR) collection provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.

The collection goes far beyond the basic population reports with a wealth of textual and statistical material which provide an in-depth view of the economy, society (through births, deaths and marriages) and medicine during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

These 200,000 pages of census and registration material for the British Isles are supported by numerous ancillary documents from The National Archives, critical essays and transcriptions of important legislation which provide an aid to understanding the context, content and creation of the collection.

In digitising this resource the OHPR has enabled Browsing through the collection by date or geography, or Searching the content directly. Documents relating to the digitization and web development process may be accessed via the Project tab.

OHPR is an AHDS History project, funded as part of the JISC Digitisation programme and is hosted by the UK Data Archive at the University of Essex.

The International Historical Statistics (IHS) series is a key resource providing access to statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. It is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts dating back to 1750. This edition provides updated statistics to 2010 – covering 260 years and cover Europe, The Americas, but also Africa, Asia and Oceania. There are vital statistics and statistics for population, labour force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport and communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Statistical analysis can be conducted across both time and geopolitical boundaries. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.

The collection is an interdisciplinary resource. It will be of interest to academics, researchers and students in sociology, politics, history, economics, business, environment, international relations, geography and statistical studies.