Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Art & culture

The online edition of the International Database of Artists is the world's most contemporary, reliable and extensive reference work on artists and contains information on visual artists from A as in ANDERS A. to Z as in ZZÜRCHER, from the classical era up to the present, from every country in the world: the database covers painters, graphic designers, sculptors, architects, designers, photographers, calligraphers, craftsmen and many more.

NOTE : You need to search under the German spelling of the artist – e.g., Tizian, NOT Titian.

NOTE : Full-text is incomplete:

The database makes the complete articles from all published volumes of the Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon (AKL) incl. the supplementary volumes searchable, plus giving access to short biographical information from A to Z, based on the entries from the editorial content management system of the AKL, the Thieme-Becker and Vollmer and the AKL's Bio-Bibliographical Index A-Z (second edition 2007-2009).

Updates are permanently made and displayed as "Addenda" underneath the original articles.

NOTE : Entries are not just in German:

The database now provides approx. 5,300 original manuscripts (PDF) of non-German writing AKL authors to improve accessibility for our foreign-language users. You can open these PDF files by clicking the link "Original article by the author ()" above the AKL fulltext. We will continously extend the number of these articles.

NEW: due to the print-oriented kind of the full text articles many abbreviations are used. To ease the understanding of the texts we now provide the meaning of these abbreviations in a separate browser window. You can reach them by clicking the links.

The database contains over 1 million artists entries, among them with fulltext.215,000 articles from the AKL volumes 1-63 with supplementary volumes 1-3 and 4,000 articles from the Künstlerlexikon der Antike (Dictionary of Artists of the Classical World)

Based at the University of York the aim of the Archaeology Data Service (ADS) is to collect, describe, catalogue, preserve, and provide user support for digital resources that are created as a product of archaeological research. The ADS also has a responsibility for promoting standards and guidelines for best practice in the creation, description, preservation and use of spatial information across the AHDS as a whole. For those classes of archaeological data where there are existing archival bodies the role of the ADS will be to collaborate with the appropriate national and local agencies to promote greater use of existing services.

Coverage dates: Indexing 1984-, Abstracting 1994-

Full Text 1995 -

This database offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications as well as full-text to over 300 periodicals - now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Subjects Covered

Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video.

Arts on Film Archive offers on-line access to a large range of films on art produced in the United Kingdom since the 1950s, and is a unique record of British and international post-war art, as well as of documentary film-making in the UK. Many titles in the collection contain rare material about individual artists, while others offer definitive coverage of their subject. The archive is an invaluable primary research resource for a wide range of scholars in arts and humanities. Its films contain valuable source material for biographies, monographs, and many other forms of research in art history and documentary film-making.

ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data and the tools to actively use those images.

The ARTstor Library is a collection of collections. It is the product of a growing number of collection development partnerships with individuals and institutions in the US and abroad. The ARTstor Library may be searched as an integrated whole or by its constituent collections.

Users of ARTstor may not use the content in ARTstor for any commercial purpose, including incorporating content in print or electronic publications distributed through a press (whether commercial or non-commercial). Additionally, users may not distribute widely ARTstor content, such as through unrestricted websites.