Oxford LibGuides: Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Public Opinion

Polls and Surveys

British Polling Council (BPC)
An association of polling organisations that publish polls to assist journalists, and through them, the general public and politicians, in the understanding, interpreting and reporting of polls.

Gallup Analytics
Please note: the Bodleian subscription does not cover microdata i.e. unaggregated person level data.
A searchable resource of unique public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed in the United States since 1935. Analysis of new data and historical trends at country, state and city levels is available via the Gallup World Poll, Gallup Daily Tracking and Gallup Brain databases in aggregated form. There is no access to microdata. Topic areas include:
- economic confidence
- employment
- entrepreneurial energy
- confidence in leadership
- confidence in military and police
- religion
- food access
- corruption
- freedom of media
- life evaluations
Global tracking data is also available from outside the United States since 2005 for an additional 160 countries. Users are able to create custom tables and export data.
Subscription is limited to only one user at a time, please close your browser when finished to allow others to connect.

International Social Survey Programme (ISSP)
A cross-national collaboration programme conducting annual surveys on diverse topics relevant to social sciences.
Ipsos MORI
Looks at public attitudes to key public services, and so informing social policy on issues such as identity, social cohesion, physical capital and the impact of place on attitudes.
more...less...
English translations of opinion polls - data from major media organizations and other agencies in Japan, Korea and China.
Levada-Center
Operates in Russia as a non-governmental research organisation - conducts sociological research.
more...less...
Levada-Center specialises in the field of sociology, political science, economics, psychology, market research, and public opinion polls.
Pew Research Center: Global indicators database
Public opinion surveys conducted by Pew around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day.
more...less...
The database contains data from 64 countries.
PollingReport.com
An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.

Roper iPoll
This resource requires you to register before use.
Roper iPoll is the most comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion available today. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question-level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. NOTE: You will need to create an account for yourself the first time that you use the service.

VCIOM: Russian Public Opinion Research Center
A state-owned polling institution conducts weekly nationwide representative opinion polls (Omnibus type of survey conducted face to face), daily telephone surveys and regular online studies.
UKDS surveys collections
The large-scale UK, cross-national and cohort & longitudinal surveys are key data resources for understanding population structure and change.
YouGov
An international research data and analytics group
WorldPublicOpinion.org
An international collaborative project by a consortium of research centers studying public opinion on international issues in their respective countries with the aim to present public opinion around the world on international issues.

Global and regional barometers

Afrobarometer
An African-led series of national public attitude surveys on democracy and governance in Africa.
AmericasBarometer
A periodic study of 34 Latin American countries, with stratified nationally representative samples drawn in each country, a common questionnaire core, and country-specific modules.
Arab Barometer
Arab Barometer surveys are conducted in 12 countries in the Middle East region. The first round of surveys began in 2006/07 and the latest (Wave 3) from 2012-2014.
Asian Barometer
The Asian Barometer Survey (ABS) is an applied research program that aims to gauge public opinion on issues such as political values, democracy, and governance across Asia.
more...less...
Our regional survey network encompasses research teams from 13 East Asian states (Japan, Mongolia, South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Mainland China, the Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Singapore, Indonesia, and Malaysia), and 5 South Asian countries (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Nepal).
Eurasia Barometer
Its main aim is to monitor political, social and economic transformations in the countries of post-communist Europe and post-Soviet Eurasia in the opinion of their populations.
Eurobarometer
The polling instrument used by EU institutions and agencies to monitor regularly the state of public opinion in Europe on issues related to the EU as well as attitudes on subjects of political or social nature.
Global Barometer Surveys (GBS)
The first comprehensive effort to measure, at a mass level, the current social, political, and economic atmosphere around the world.
more...less...
It provides an independent, non-partisan, multidisciplinary view of public opinion on a range of policy-relevant issues.
Latinobarómetro
An annual public opinion survey that involves some 20,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries.