Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Media, IT and Communication

The Yearbook provides a wide range of statistical data on the four main industry branches of the audiovisual sector in Europe: the film industry; television; video/DVD; on-demand audiovisual services. The Yearbook provides three sub-sets of data, delivered progressively as it becomes available: Detailed tables and figures; country profiles; key trends reports. The figures are available in Excel tables and graphs, and the text is available in PDF version.

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.

Oxford has access is to the following geographical collections:

• Middle East and North Africa, 1974–1987
• Near East and South Asia, 1987–1996
• South Asia, 1980–1987
• Sub-Saharan Africa, 1974–1980 and Africa, 1987–1996
• Eastern Europe, 1974–1996
• Latin America, 1974-1996
• Soviet Union, 1974-1991
• Central Eurasia, 1992-1996
• Western Europe, 1974-1996

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.

FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.

Mobile Coverage Explorer is a representation of the area covered by mobile networks around the world. It is supplied as polygon data which has been created from submissions made directly to Collins Bartholomew or the GSMA from network operators who provide roaming detail for inclusion in the GSMA’s Roaming and Coverage Maps web application. This data is supplemented with coverage created from OpenCellID, the world's largest open database of cell towers.

This provides access to over 1 million newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines, from around the world and translated into English by the US Government. The service ceased in 2013.

World Press Trends Database is a primary source of data on the newspaper industry worldwide. It includes data from more than 70 countries, accounting for more than 90 per cent of the global industry's value. The data is available as individual country reports, and aggregated to reveal trends on circulation and readership. Users can generate custom reports, which can be downloaded as Excel files.