Oxford LibGuides: Legislation: Australia: states

State legislation online

Westlaw AU (selected content only)
This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO again at the homepage.
Coverage: includes all in force principal Acts, Regulations and Rules for all Australian state/territory jurisdictions:
Australian Capital Territory
New South Wales
Northern Territory
Queensland
South Australian
Tasmania
Victoria
Western Australia
Selected additional important subordinate legislation, referred to in our secondary sources, is also included.
Once a piece of legislation is repealed, it remains in the collection and a signifier [Repealed] is added to the end of the legislation title.
Alternative names: Westlaw Australia ; Australian Law Resources Online ; Legal Online ; West Law AU

Australian Legal Database containing many law reports, journals, legislation, case digests and citators, encyclopaedias and commentary including the Laws of Australia.
Please note we do not have access to all content in this database.
Lexis+ UK
To find out which Australian resources Lexis has click International link on home page.
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included

There are also authoritative sources of legislation on the free web
Austlii has specific sections for state/territory resources (see the menu on the left of the homepage).

The following are links to official government portals for state/territory legislation-

Australian Capital Territory legislation
Official website
New South Wales legislation
Official website
Northern Territory legislation
Official website
Queensland legislation
Official website
South Australia legislation
Official website
Acts of the Parliament of South Australia 1837 - 2002
Free resource. Digitisation project undertaken by Flinders University.
Tasmania legislation
official website
Tasmanian Government Gazette 2008 -
Free resource. Librarians may find the more advanced search options most useful. Go to the following page:
http://www.gazette.tas.gov.au/editions
And scroll right down past all the browse options to narrow the search by Gazette type and/or date range.
Victoria legislation
Official website "The primary source for Victorian legislation. Find Bills considered by Parliament, Acts of Parliament and statutory rules."
Western Australia legislation
Official website

Historic Legislation

LLMC-digital
Alternative names: LLMC ; Law Library Microfilm Consortium’s Online Service ; LLMC Digital

LLMC-digital is a collection of English language legal titles and government documents divided into ten major jurisdictional or subject areas:
US Federal Government; US States and Territories; Canada; United Kingdom; Germany federal; Germany state, kingdoms and free cities; Other Countries (Afghanistan to Zimbabwe); International Law and Organizations; Indigenous Law covering materials from various regions of the United States, Canada and Indonesia; and Special Focus Collections which includes British Empire Studies, Canon Law, Islamic Law, Military Law, Native American Collection, Roman law, etc.

Historic New South Wales
Free resource. From IALS. Scans of 3 Volume work : Proclamations, government and general orders : made and published by the several Governors in Chief of the territory of New South Wales 1786-1823

Our print collection of Australian legislation (both federal & state) is historic only - most series ending the early 2000s. There are some bound collections of acts on Level 1. More is kept off site.

Should you wish to consult a printed volume which is Offsite, you can order them online via the Hold & Request sytem on SOLO.

Please ask a member of staff for assistance.