Environmental Law: Books

When you are studying English environmental law, most of the books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. The Reserve Collection is also on Level 2 but is shelved as a discrete run. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library.
Note.  The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course)

An example of a text in the Law Reserve is below:

A simple SOLO search will find both books and ebooks (where these are available) easily - except those ebooks which are on one or other of the legal databases below. We advise holders of an Oxford SSO to sign into both the following, to check if either hold titles which will be of use to your research.

The majority of the physical books on English environmental law will be on open shelf on Level 2, the floor at which you enter the Library.

KN 94 Environmental law (including Climate Change)
KN 95 Environmental protection (including eg conservation, biodiversity)
KN 96 Planning
KN 97 Environmental Health (including eg pollution, recycling)
KN 98  Agricultural law (including eg soil conservation)
 

But there may be useful texts in other parts of the K classification. Such as the following

Which foreign jurisdiction(s) are you interested in?
On Level 2, the floor at which you enter the law library, books in the shelf marks KN 94 to KN 98 may include works from the following
Australia  - books on Australian environmental law will have A8 at third line of shelf mark
Canada - indicated by C1 in shelf mark
Ireland -  I5
New Zealand - N4
USA - U4

On Level 3, one floor above the entrance level, you will find books from the countries of Europe. And in a separate run, with shelf marks beginning Euro Comm, books about European Union law.

On Level 1, one floor below the entrance level, are books relating to the remaining jurisdictions of the world

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General. 
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions. 

If all the countries being compared are (or were) members of the Commonwealth, the book should have a shelf mark beginning Cw Gen. This collection is also on Level 2, but separate from General.

Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.

Note: If the title is on an Oxford Reading List it may be in the Law Reserve Collection which is on Level 2, the floor at which you enter the library.
In this case the shelf mark will begin KW

The majority of the Law Library's collection of European Union books have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm. These are available on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the Bodleian Law Library.

Looking for a Reading List title?

The most heavily used titles on Oxford RL may well be in the Law Reserve Collection which is shelved on Level 2, the floor at which you enter the Library. Note that these will have shelf marks beginning KC.

SOLO subject search

For general overviewss use exact phrase
Environmental law, International 

Most books on this topic are shelved at Internat 610, which is on Level 3 - one floor above the entrance level to the law library

But do take careful note of shelf marks in SOLO results, as their might be useful titles in other sections of Internat

Please check the links in the box in the right hand column in case there is another page in this guide more specifically on the topic or aspect of environmental law you are interested in.

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp (short for jurisprudence) where we shelve books on legal philosophy and theory. Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.

As the Law Library moves to the Moys Classification Scheme, you may find legal philosophy books with shelf marks beginning KA .
KA titles are probably described on SOLO as being in the Law Reserve Collection. Please ask for these books at the Law Enquiry Desk - and remember to bring your University or Bodleian Reader's card with you, as these heavily used titles are issued to you for use in the Library. You can keep reading them for the rest of day if you like - but we do ask that you return them to the Enquiry Desk as soon as possible after you have finished consulting them. 
KA books not held in the Law Reserve collection are on Level 2 - but a few shelves away from those with shelf marks beginning Jurisp.

The Enquiry Desk on Level 2 is also the place to come if you are having any difficulties finding the books you need: we will be happy to help!