Oxford LibGuides: Environmental Law: Climate change

Climate change resources and commentary

Climate Change: a Very Short Introduction by Mark Maslin
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780198867869
Publication Date: 4th edn 2021
Print copy is in Bodleian Social Science Library at QC981.8.G56.MAS 2021 if preferred

Climate Change and Law Collection
Remote access requires Oxford SSO
This comprehensive collection of climate change and law documents contains original source, non-edited and non-redacted “grey literature” (non-peer reviewed) in English, centered on climate change and the law. Incorporated in the category of ‘law’ is any discipline of law which addressed climate change, including corporate law, environmental law and human rights law. Materials in the collection originate from a wide range of organizations in the public and private sector, institutions, and/or individuals, world-wide.

Elgar encyclopedia of environmental law by Series editor: Michael Faure
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9781786436986
Publication Date: 12 volumes, published between 2016-2023
Volume I: Climate Change Law

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science
Remote access requires Oxford SSO. "Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, ..." See more
more...less...
"This encyclopedia engages both the global and the regional view. It structures the issues that “climate” presents into three threads, namely: (1) our understanding of, and response to, the geophysical and biogeochemical system, including the sensitivity of the system to external drivers and its natural variability. (2) The ubiquitous presence of communication and policymaking leads us to deal with different cultural framings of climate, as well as with the social process of climate science. (3) Finally economic and climate policy issues at the international and at the local level are considered.

A special feature is our plan to cover many regions of the world by interdisciplinary analyses of what climate, climate impacts, and perspectives on climate are as well as the options for, and the conditions and meaning of, societal response to climate"
The Paris Agreement and The Paris Rulebook
Part of official UN website - full text of both the above available as links from this webpage
Climate Change Laws of the World and Climate Change Litigation of the World
Open Access " ... [built] on more than a decade of data collection by the Grantham Research Institute at LSE and the Sabin Center at Columbia Law School.
... Laws of the World covers national-level climate change legislation and policies globally. The database covers climate and climate-related laws, as well as laws and policies promoting low carbon transitions, which reflects the relevance of climate policy in areas including energy, transport, land use, and climate resilience.
... Litigation of the World features climate litigation cases from over 40 countries." Excluding the USA

Some subject searches to try in SOLO:

Climatic changes -- Law and legislation

Climatic changes -- Research -- Law and legislation

Global warming -- Law and legislation

The following may also be helpful:

Climatic changes -- Government policy

Climatic changes -- Economic aspects

Climatic changes - Social aspects

Examples of books on topic

Research Handbook on Climate Change Mitigation Law by Geert Van Calster (Editor); Wim Vandenberghe (Editor); Leonie Reins (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 1839101598
Publication Date: 2nd edn 2022
International Climate Change Law by Daniel Bodansky; Jutta Brunnée; Lavanya Rajamani
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 0199664293
Publication Date: 2017
Print copy is at Internat 610 P666.2a
The Oxford Handbook of International Climate Change Law by Kevin R. Gray (Editor); Richard Tarasofsky (Editor); Cinnamon P. Carlarne (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 019968460X
Publication Date: 2016
Print copy is at Internat 610 C278.3a
Comparative Climate Change Litigation: Beyond the Usual Suspects by Francesco Sindico (Editor); Makane Moïse Mbengue (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 9783030468811
Publication Date: 2021
Litigating Climate Change in the Global South by Jolene Lin; Jacqueline Peel
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 9780192843890
Publication Date: 2024
Extinction Rebellion and Climate Change Activism by Oscar Berglund; Daniel Schmidt
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9783030483586
Publication Date: 2020

UN body assessing the science of climate change.

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
The United Nations body for assessing the science related to climate change.
more...less...
The IPCC was set up in 1988 by the World Meteorological
Organization (WMO) and United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) to provide policymakers with regular assessments of the scientific basis of climate change, its impacts and future risks, and options for adaptation and mitigation"

Ozone Protection

UNEP: Ozone Protection
Website of Secretariat. The Vienna Convention for the Protection of the Ozone Layer.
Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer

SIDs: small island developing states

FAO & SIDs
Official website
UN-OHRLLS UN Office of the High Rep for the least developed countries, landlocked developing countries, and small island developing states
Official website
UN's Sustainable development & SIDs
Official website
Barbados Programme of Action 1994 (BPOA)
Section of UN's Sustainable development knowledge platform "a 14-point programme that identifies priority areas and specific actions necessary for addressing the special challenges faced by SIDS."
Third International Conference on Small Island Developing States (Samoa 2014)
Section of official website