Oxford LibGuides: Environmental Law: Agroecology & Food production

Agroecology, sustainable agriculture, and feeding the world

Agricultural pollution -- Law and legislation
Agrobiodiversity conservation -- Law and legislation
Food law and legislation
Food safety measures - law and legislation
Right to food
Food security

Soil conservation -- Law and legislation

Agrobiodiversity and the Law: regulating genetic resources, food security and cultural diversity by Juliana Santilli
Call Number: Internat 610 S235.5a
ISBN: 1849713723
Publication Date: 2011
Food Law : European, domestic and international frameworks by Caoimhín MacMaoláin
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 184946670X
Publication Date: 2015
Print copy is at KN185.2.MAC 2015
Rethinking Food Systems: structural challenges, new strategies and the law by Nadia C. S. Lambek (Editor); Adrienna Wong (Editor); Roberta L. Brilmayer (Editor); Priscilla Claeys (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 9789400777774
Publication Date: 2014
The Right to Food and the World Trade Organization's Rules on Agriculture by Rhonda Ferguson
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 9789004345072
Publication Date: 2018
Routledge Handbook of Food As a Commons by Jose Luis Vivero-Pol (Editor); Tomaso Ferrando (Editor); Olivier De Schutter (Editor); Ugo Mattei (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 9781315161495
Publication Date: 2018
Two chapters are available open access from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/37614
Plant Genetic Resources and Food Security : stakeholder perspectives on the international treaty on plant genetic resources for food and agriculture by Christine Frison (Editor); Francisco Lopez (Editor); Jose Esquinas-Alcazar (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9781849712064
Publication Date: 2011
A print copy could be requested from closed stacks if preferred
Unraveling the Nagoya ProtocolA Commentary on the Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit-sharing to the Convention on Biological Diversity by Elisa Morgera; Elsa Tsioumani; Matthias Buck
Call Number: Open access title available to all online via title link
ISBN: 9789004217171
Publication Date: 2014

Land degradation, Soil Erosion, Desertification etc

Soil conservation -- Law and legislation

Drafting Legislation for Sustainable Soils by Ian Hannam; John Scanlon (Foreword by); Ben Boer
Call Number: Internat 610 H243b
ISBN: 2831708133
Publication Date: 2004

Desertification

'land degradation in arid, semi-arid and dry sub-humid areas’ as defined by UNCCD

Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law (MPEIL)
Remote access requires Oxford SSO. See entry Desertification by Ulrich Beyerlin
Alternative names: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) ; Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro)

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law combines the fully updated online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) (originally published in print between 1991 and 2001) with the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro) which has been published (online only) since September 2019. The peer-reviewed articles in both works are updated and added to monthly.

United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification in those countries experiencing serious drought and/or desertification, particularly in Africa. (UNCCD)
EIF 26 December 1996
2010-2020 UN Decade for Deserts & Fight against Desertification
Official website

Genetic Modification

Genetically modified foods -- Law and legislation
Transgenic organisms -- Law and legislation

Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law (MPEIL)
Remote access requires Oxford SSO. See entry Genetically Modified Organisms by Markus Böckenförde
Alternative names: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) ; Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro)

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law combines the fully updated online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) (originally published in print between 1991 and 2001) with the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro) which has been published (online only) since September 2019. The peer-reviewed articles in both works are updated and added to monthly.

Genetically Modified Organisms (EU Commission)
Official website with quick links to essential legislative provisions

The Regulation of Genetically Modified Organisms by Luc Bodiguel (Editor); Michael Cardwell (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 0199542481
Publication Date: 2010
Print copy is at General 510 B667a
International Trade in GMOs and GM Products : national and multilateral legal frameworks by Simonetta Zarrilli; United Nations Conference on Trade and Development Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Open access title available to all online via title link
ISBN: 9211126525
Publication Date: 2005
Online is Open Access. Print copy in Official Papers on ground floor at O.UNCTAD per.19 (no.29)

Useful sites on the free web

CBD: Convention on Biological Diversity
Official website. Includes texts of both Cartagena & Nagoya Protocols

Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture
Full text in brochure from FAO. Official citation 2400 UNTS 303

International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture
Part of official FAO website
AgroecologyLex (FAO)
Open access. AgroecologyLex is a specialized database on different legal frameworks, policies and programmes concerning agroecology in different countries. It was created in coordination with FAOLEX, which is the largest database on policies and legislation related to agriculture and renewable natural resources in the world.
more...less...
This database is constantly updated. The information provided by the database allows users to have the complete text of the document as well as a detailed abstract of the contents, focused primarily on the purpose and specific objectives, institutional frameworks and main forms of support, in order to support transitions from conventional agriculture to agroecological approaches.
Codex Alimentarius: International Food Safety
European Soil Data Centre (ESDAC)
Official website "[ESDAC's]... ambition is to be the single reference point for and to host all relevant soil data and information at European level. It contains a number of resources that are organized and presented in various ways: datasets, services/applications, maps, documents, events, projects and external links."
FAOLEX database
Open Access. "FAOLEX is a comprehensive and up-to-date legislative and policy database, one of the world's largest online repositories of national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management. Users of FAOLEX have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each text, as well as to the full text of the legislation and policies contained in the database."
more...less...
The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO)
Official website
Food Security (UN)
Food security and nutrition and sustainable agriculture
Goal 2 for UN Sustainable Development Goals
Food Sovereignty (IPC)
"International Planning Committee for Food Sovereignty (IPC) is an autonomous and self-organised global platform of small-scale food producers and rural workers organizations and grass root/community based social movements to advance the Food Sovereignty agenda at the global and regional level"
Global Soil Partnership
Official website "The Global Soil Partnership was established in December 2012 as a mechanism to develop a strong interactive partnership and enhanced collaboration and synergy of efforts between all stakeholders. From land users through to policy makers, one of the key objectives of the GSP is to improve the governance and promote sustainable management of soils."
IUCN: Ecosystem Management
IUCN Conserving healthy soils in brief
The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) is a membership Union uniquely composed of both government and civil society organisations. It provides public, private and non-governmental organisations with the knowledge and tools that enable human progress, economic development and nature conservation to take place together
Regional Partnerships on Soil Protection
Explanation & Links from FAO official website. "Each RSP is composed of 5 working groups, one for each of the GSP pillars. They focus on the development of activities under the Regional Implementation Plan. The Regional Steering Committee (SC) provides strategic direction to the RSPs and advise the Chair regarding decision-making and reporting to the GSP. The Chair is elected by the Regional Focal Point and participates at sessions of the GSP Plenary Assembly to report on regional activities."
Right to Food
Sustainable Development Goal 15 of the 2030 Agenda
Includes "to halt and reverse land degradation "
UN Convention to Combat Desertification
Official website of the Convention's Secretariat. Convention 1954 UNTS 3 (EIF 26 December 1996)
World Food Programme
World Health Organisation: Food Safety
World Soil Charters
Section of official FAO website where you can download the 1981 & 2015 charters
Zero Hunger - Goal 2 of UN SDG programme
Official website