This guide is intended for students and researchers studying arbitration & the law of arbitration at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for arbitration, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases. The emphasis is on international/commercial arbitration.
Arbitration: a Very Short Introduction by 
The Jackson ADR Handbook by Domestic (English and Welsh) arbitration and dispute resolution
The primary statute is the Arbitration Act 1996 recently amended by the Arbitration Act 2025.
Holders of an Oxford SSO will find both Lexis+ UK and Westlaw Edge UK will provide the texts of acts, relevant court judgments and commentary (articles and chapters).
For cold start English legal research, the English legal encyclopedia Halsbury's Laws of England (commonly called Halsbury's) is available to holders of an Oxford SSO via Lexis+ UK
For an introduction/overview to arbitration in other jurisdictions, holders of an Oxford SSO could start with Arbitration World available via Westlaw Books.
Online resources available to all with access to the internet
Holders of an Oxford SSO may find the following useful starting points:
Ebooks
In addition to the practitioners' texts available via the databases above, SOLO searches will help you find a large number of books on this topic from student textbooks to advanced research monographs. Some of these will also be available in print, again SOLO will tell you where.
The Oxford Handbook of International Arbitration by 
International Arbitration: Law and Practice by Some resources available to all with access to the internet
Mediation is another alternative dispute resolution route which tries to avoid the costs and delays which can occur with litigation and arbitration.
The Jackson ADR Handbook by 
Negotiating Peace : a guide to the practice, politics, and law of international mediation by Print collection in the Law Bod.
Chapters on the resolution of commercial disputes will often be included in general works on commercial law. Use a subject search Commercial law + the name of the jurisdiction that you are interested in.
You can browse works on English commercial law at the shelfmark KN250 on Level 2.
Monographs on international commercial arbitration are in other parts of the LawBod, in particular
Please ask a member of staff for directions when you visit the Law Bod.
Below are some examples of titles where the print copy is on open shelf on Level 3
An Introduction to International Investment Law by 
International Investment Law and Arbitration by 
The Oxford Handbook of International Adjudication by Adjacent to the Bodleian Law Library, is the Bodleian Social Science Library. Researchers may find that it holds useful material in related disciplines such as economics.
