Oxford LibGuides: Environmental Law: Cases

Law reports online & in print

You will find reports of cases relating to environmental law in series with general coverage (national, foreign or international scope). There are also a small number of specialised reporters.

Lexis+ UK
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
Westlaw Edge UK
Includes link to Westlaw International
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
vLex Justis
Online access to International Law Reports (ILR)
vLex Justis offers access to a range of law reports, transcripts and legislation from the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the Caribbean, and the EU. For UK case research it has extensive information relating to where cases have been cited, etc including a precedent map.

In addition it includes the full text of the following: Aspinall's Maritime Law Cases, English Reports, State Trials, CCH Tax Cases, Immigration Appeal Reports, Inquest Law Reports, Mental Health Reports, Session Cases Archive, Irish Reports & Digest, Jersey Law Reports, Bermuda Law Reports, Cayman Islands Law Reports, The Singapore Law Reports, and the International Law Reports. Also included in the service is Justis Human Rights.

To access personalisation features please set up an individual profile on the platform using a unique id and password.

Please note that apart from the titles listed above, vLex Justis includes some abstracted materials for which you will need to refer to other online services or hard copy to obtain the full text.

vLex Justis includes content formerly available via JustisOne.
Oxford Reports on International Law
Alternative name: oril

Decisions from a number of international courts and tribunals including the International Court of Justice and Permanent Court of International Justice, International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, Nuremberg International Military Tribunal, the Special Court for Sierra Leone, the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, the UN Committee against Torture, the UN Human Rights Committee, European Court of Human Rights and the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights. In addition the "International Law in Domestic Courts" section includes decisions from domestic courts relating to international law from 60 jurisdictions.
BAILII
OA source of transcripts (not reports) of the decisions/judgments of courts and tribunals of UK and Ireland.
Alternative names: British and Irish Legal Information Institute ; British & Irish Legal Information Institute

Free access to British and Irish judgments. General coverage starts mid 1990s, though earlier key judgments are also included. Bailii also includes a subject arrangement of judgments. The judgments are transcripts and do not include arguments of counsel or headnotes. For a wider selection of Law Reports please see Justis, Lexis or Westlaw.

Environmental law reports
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 09662022
Publication Date: 1992-
Print copies on Level 2 at Cw UK 120 E70
International environmental law reports by 1999-
Call Number: Internat 100 I60
ISBN: 0521643473
Publication Date: V 1, Early decisions V2, Trade & env, V3, HR & env, V4, IEL in national courts; V5, IEL in international tribunals
Compendium of key international and national decisions relating to international environmental law,with notes and background materials.
Encompasses decisions from the late nineteenth century to the present day, presented in five comprehensively indexed themed volumes.

EU cases

Leading judgements of the ECJ on environment
Section of official website of European Commission - Environment
Curia (EU court judgments)
Free resource. Database for EU case law since 17/06/1997. For earlier caselaw, see EUR-Lex
EEL.2.0: European environmental law
Free resource. Since 1995, so for 25 years in 2020, this website provides news and background information on the European Union, the protection of the environment and sustainable development in Europe and elsewhere. The renewed website also features information about our legal advice and consultancy activities. It also features a renewed database with annotated environmental judgements of the Court of Justice of the European Union, the International Court of Justice, WTO Panels and the Appellate Body and some national judges. Furthermore, you can find an introduction on the EU environmental law in various languages. By following us on Twitter at @EurEnvlLaw, you will get the latest news, notably on important cases and other developments.

ECtHR: Climate Change case

Verein KlimaSeniorinnen Schweiz and Others v. Switzerland [GC]
Official legal summary Respondent State’s failure to comply with positive obligation to combat climate change: Article 8 applicable; violation (Application no. 53600/20)
CASE OF VEREIN KLIMASENIORINNEN SCHWEIZ AND OTHERS v. SWITZERLAND (Judgment)
Official website (Application no. 53600/20)

European Court of Human Rights

The HUDOC database [open access available to all with access to the internet] provides access to the case-law of the Court (Grand Chamber, Chamber and Committee judgments and decisions*, communicated cases, advisory opinions and legal summaries from the Case-Law Information Note), the European Commission of Human Rights (decisions and reports) and the Committee of Ministers (resolutions).

*Committee decisions appeared on HUDOC only as of April 2010. Decisions concerning single judge cases are not published. Commission decisions prior to 1960 exist in hard copy only in the Court Archives.

HUDOC: ECHR: database of case law
Search screen for database of decisions. Use the left hand column to set sensible filters or construct a search string

Looking for foreign or international court decisions?

Climate Change Litigation Databases (USA and Global)
Open Access. "This site provides two databases of climate change caselaw. The Global database includes all cases except those in the U.S. Cases in the databases are organized by type of claim and are searchable. For many cases, links are available to decisions, complaints, and other case documents."
more...less...
A collaboration of: Columbia Law School Sabin Center for Climate Change Law Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP
Climate Change Laws of the World: Litigation
Climate Change Litigation of the World features climate litigation cases from 25 countries. These cases raise issues of law or fact regarding the science of climate change and/or climate change mitigation and adaptation policies or efforts before an administrative, judicial or other investigatory body. The dataset does not include the United States – To access information about climate change litigation in the US, please use link below to go to the Sabin Center / Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer database
ESCR - Caselaw Database
Open access. This is a database of positive domestic, regional and international legal decisions from around the world regarding economic, social and cultural rights. These case summaries provide greater awareness about global ESCR issues, effective litigation strategies, progressive jurisprudence, and creative implementation tactics. Our case summaries are available primarily in English and Spanish, with a growing number also in French and Arabic.
more...less...
ESCR-Net Members —over 280 social movements, NGOs and advocates across 75 countries— “seek to build a global movement to make human rights and social justice a reality for all.” LGBTQI Rights is a Thematic focus.

Case law: online resources for common law countries
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Aug 20, 2024 8981 views this year
International law courts, cases & commentary
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Aug 23, 2024 1032 views this year
European Union Law
by Margaret Watson Last Updated Aug 2, 2024 1838 views this year