This guide is intended for students and researchers studying the law and legal systems and traditons of the countries of Asia at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for Asian jurisdictions, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.
Comparative and multi-jurisdictional sources
The first group require Oxford SSO for remote access.
Law and legal institutions of Asia: traditions, adaptions and innovations by 
Secured Transactions Law in Asia by 
The Developing World of Arbitration : a comparative study of arbitration reform in the Asia Pacific by 
Routledge Handbook of Asian Law by The following are open access, free to all with access to the internet
The Law Bod's collection is shelved over four floors. An interest in Asian law may well see you visiting at least three! These floors are connected by both stairs and a lift. Please feel free to ask a member of staff for directions when you visit the Law Bod, but the following is designed to give you a basic understanding.
Level 1 (One), one floor below the entrance level, has the collections for individual Asian jurisdictions.
Level 2 (Two), the level at which you enter the library, has the comparative studies collections. The larger collection has shelf marks beginning General. A smaller collection, for books where the comparison is solely within members of the Commonwealth, can be found with shelf marks beginning Cw Gen.
Level 3 (Three), one floor above the entrance level, has the collections of public international law (including international economic law, world trade law, human rights) and private international law or conflict of laws. These collections have beginning Internat and Private Int. respectively.
Asia-Pacific Judiciaries : independence, impartiality and integrity by The Bodleian Law Library's holdings of both online and print resources can be discovered by search SOLO, Oxford's online catalogue
If you need help using our online catalogue via link above, there is an online guide available below:
Your searches in SOLO may well reveal other Bodleian Libraries have material which would support your research.
In most cases, if you have a current Oxford University Card or a Bodleian Reader's Card, you will already be able to access these libraries - however, please do check information on the other Libraries' own websites, particularly their location & opening hours.
SOAS University of London is the leading Higher Education institution in Europe specialising in the study of Asia, Africa and the Near and Middle East. Its library includes resources on the laws of these nations.
