Oxford LibGuides: Asia : guide to legal resources: Pakistan

Pakistan legal materials online

Oxford Constitutions of the World
Alternative names: OCW ; Constitutions of the countries of the world, Constitutions of dependencies & territories

English translations of the constitutions and constitutional documents of the world’s nations and sub-national jurisdictions.
Pakistanlawsite
- This link opens in a new window
Extra username and password are required for this resource. See Username and password webpage for details
Alternative name: Pakistan law site

Provides access to cases, statutes and rules relating to Pakistan. Also includes essays, other legal documents and various journals.
Manupatra
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily an Indian legal database, but it makes available judgments from neighbouring jurisdictions
Alternative name: Manupatra - Indian Law and Business

Indian legal and business information.
Please use one username and password set from the options. If it does not work please try the other. Each allows single user access only - so please remember to log off properly when you have finished your session in Manupatra.
Provided through the generosity of global law firm, Baker & McKenzie.

Senate of Pakistan
Official website. House Business link gives access to Hansard, Daily Journal, etc
National Assembly of Pakistan
Official website.
Acts of Parliament (currently from 1973 onwards) Pakistan
Part of official website of National Assembly
Government of Pakistan: official web gateway
Official website Includes information services, ministries and divisions, and departments.
Federal Shariat Court (Pakistan)
Official website The Court was established on 26th May,1980 by the President’s Order No.1 of 1980 as incorporated in part VII of the Constitution of Pakistan, 1973 chapter 3A "empowers the court and entrusts it with the responsibility to examine and decide the question whether or not any law or provision of law is repugnant to the injunctions of Islam as laid down in the Holy Qur'an and the Sunnah of the Holy Prophet (peace be upon him) . "Law" is defined in article 203 B( C ) of the Constitution and includes any custom or usage having the force of law but does not include the Constitution, Muslim personal law, any law relating to the procedure of any court or tribunal."
Supreme Court of Pakistan
Official website Includes free access to some leading judgments from 2003 onwards.
Lahore High Court
Official website. Case information, reported judgements etc
Peshawar High Court
Official website Jurisdiction, judgements, judges.
High Court of Sindh Karachi
Official website. Includes library of judgments
Punjab Laws Online
Official website. Maintained by the Provincial Assembly of the Punjab ".. all the Laws of Punjab from 1860 to date. The database will be updated regularly as soon as the new Laws are passed or the previous ones are amended."
Federal Board of Revenue (Pakistan)
Official website
Privatisation Commission of Pakistan
Official website. Banking and fincance, oil and gas, transport, power, industry, insurance, and real estate.
Law & Justice Commission of Pakistan
Official website. Federal Government institution.
Human Rights Commission of Pakistan
Official website
National Response Centre For Cyber Crime (Pakistan)
Official Federal Investigation Agency website
Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (PEMRA)
Official website. PEMRA has been established under PEMRA Ordinance 2002 to facilitate and regulate the private electronic media. It has mandate to improve the standards of information, education and entertainment and to enlarge the choice available to the people of Pakistan Including news, current affairs, religious knowledge, art and culture as well as science and technology.
Pakistan Telecommunications Authority (PTA)
Official website
Internet Policy Observatory Pakistan
"iPOP (Internet Policy Observatory Pakistan) conducts public interest research on ICT policy and regulation in Pakistan. It provides researchers, governments, regulators, operators, multilateral institutions, development agencies and community organizations with the information and analysis required to develop innovative and appropriate policies for modern age digital technologies. iPOP contributes to the gathering of up to date ICT data and establish repository of information for furthering research and policy formulation on Internet Regulation, Surveillance, Privacy, Net-Neutrality, Media Regulation and Freedom of Expression. The Observatory also aims to promote interaction between researchers, activists, academics and institutions for conducting public interest ICT policy research and campaigns"
Digital Rights Foundation (Pakistan)
National Centre for Dispute Resolution (NCDR) Pakistan
Official website
Pakistan Research Repository
PhD theses based repository hosted by the Higher Education Commission of Pakistan. Full text copies of doctoral theses produced in the country in a wide range of academic disciplines are hosted on this site. The interface is in English and contains RSS feeds to alert users to new content.

Monographs

Print Collection

The Law Bod's monographs for Pakistan are shelved on Level 1.

Books with shelfmarks beginning Islamic are on Level 3.

SOLO searches may bring up useful titles which are only available via electronic legal deposit (eLD). These are available to all readers - but you have to be logged on to a Bodleian Library Computer (provided in all Bodleian reading rooms) to be able to access them.

Pakistan's Experience with Formal Law by Osama Siddique
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 1107038154
Publication Date: 2013
Print copy is at Cw Pakistan 510 S568.5a
Cases on Muslim Law of India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh by Alamgir Muhammad Serajuddin
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 0199457611
Publication Date: 2015
Print copy is at Islamic S482c
Gender Justice in Islamic Law: homicide and bodily injuries by Musa Usman Abubakar
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 1509915095
Publication Date: 2018

Resolving Environmental Disputes in Pakistan: The Role of Judicial Commisions
2018 work by Dr. Parvez Hassan available as a free pdf download from this page on LUMS Gad and Birgit Rausing Library's official website.

Arbitration Law of Pakistan by Ikram Ullah
Call Number: Cw Pakistan 510 U41.2a
ISBN: 9789403517025
Publication Date: 2021
Family Laws in Pakistan by Muhammad Zubair Abbasi (Editor); Shahbaz Ahmad Cheema (Editor)
Call Number: Cw Pakistan 510 A122.7a
ISBN: 9780199408689
Publication Date: 2019
The Islamization of the Law in Pakistan (RLE Politics of Islam) by Rubya Mehdi
Call Number: Cw Pakistan 510 M498.5a
ISBN: 0415830842
Publication Date: 2013
Precedent in Pakistani Law by Muhammad Munir
Call Number: Cw Pakistan 510 M966.5a
ISBN: 0199068240
Publication Date: 2014