Oxford LibGuides: Commercial Arbitration: Trade

Finding commentary

IA Reporter
Remote access requires Oxford SSO
Alternative names: Investment Arbitration Reporter ; IAR

A news & analysis service specialising in cross-border commercial arbitrations. Includes database of case summaries.
Investment Claims
Remote access requires Oxford SSO
Investment Claims draws together various materials on international investment law and arbitration. It contains arbitration awards and decisions; bilateral investment treaties (BITs); multilateral treaties; monographs; journal articles; and arbitration laws.
Kluwer Arbitration
Remote access requires Oxford SSO
Alternative names: KLI Arbitration ; Kluwer Arbitration ; Kluwer Arbitration Practice Plus

Resources on commercial international arbitration including: conventions, legislation, rules, bilateral investment treaties, case law, journal articles and commentary.
The Bodleian Libraries’ subscription to Kluwer Arbitration now includes the Practice Plus add on. This provides access to practice notes and answers; allows comparison of different jurisdictions; and provides information on arbitrators.
Norton Rose is delighted to sponsor this product.
Lexis+ UK
Requires Oxford SSO
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
TradeLawGuide
Remote access requires Oxford SSO
Alternative names: Trade Law Guide ; TLG

A database of GATT & WTO law: jurisprudence, procedural documents, fully annotated texts of six principal WTO Agreements and documents relating to the negotiations behind them. Special search tools and "Noting up"/Shepardizing" facility.
Westlaw Edge UK
Requires Oxford SSO and personal registration on initial visit
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is provided through a generous donation by Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP
Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
World Trade Law
Remote access requires Oxford SSO
Alternative names: World Trade Law Net ; WorldTradeLaw.net

The WTO Dispute Settlement Commentary (DSC) service is a comprehensive legal research tool for WTO dispute settlement. Features include summary/analysis of all reports/arbitrations; up-to-date keyword index; and a database of dispute settlement tables/statistics.

World Trade Review
Remote access requires Oxford SSO.

Finding books on SOLO

Regional Trade Agreements

FTAs (Free Trade Agreements) and PTAs (Preferential Trade Agreements) - there may be guidance on our areas guides

Asia : guide to legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 74 views this year
Africa: sub-Saharan jurisdictions
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 118 views this year
European & Scandinavian/Nordic countries: legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 4, 2024 143 views this year
Latin American Jurisdictions
by Kathryn Tyne Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 717 views this year
Middle East, North Africa & Turkey : legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 3, 2024 738 views this year

Private International Law/Harmonization

UNIDROIT: Principles of International Commercial Contracts
From official website of UNIDROIT. 2010 & earlier versions, related background information. "To facilitate comparison, the new edition contains a Table of Correspondence of the articles of the three editions of the UNIDROIT Principles."
A guide on the harmonization of international commercial law
Free resource. By Duncan Alford. (2009) Updated by Matthew Novak (2016) Part of Globalex.
UNILEX: UNIDROIT Principles & CISG International Case Law & Bibliography
Open Access. Founder of UNILEX and Honorary Editor-in-Chief:Michael Joachim Bonell "UNILEX is an “intelligent” database of international case law and bibliography on the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts and on the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) – two of the most important international instruments for the regulation of international commercial transactions."
more...less...
UNILEX
contains:
detailed abstracts of the most important cases decided under both instruments by courts and arbitral tribunals worldwide; the full text of each decision in its original language (when available);
the complete texts of the UNIDROIT Principles and the CISG;
a status report on the state of ratifications of the CISG, including reservations and declarations by States parties to the Convention;
a comprehensive bibliography for each instrument.
UNILEX
provides access to the decisions and arbitral awards by:
- date
- country or arbitral tribunal
- article number of the instrument
- specific issues listed under each article
and with respect to the decisions and arbitral awards relating to the UNIDROIT Principles also by:
- type of contract involved
- nationality of the parties
- domestic law involved
- international law invoved
UNILEX
provides access to the bibliography by:
author;
article number of the instrument;
area.
Disclaimer:
THE EDITORS DO THEIR BEST TO ENSURE THE ACCURACY OF THE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN THE UNILEX DATA BASE BUT DO NOT CLAIM TO PROVIDE A SURVEY OF ALL DECISIONS RENDERED WORLDWIDE WITH RESPECT TO THE UNIDROIT PRINCIPLES Of INTERNATIONAL COMMERCIAL CONTRACTS OR THE CISG AND ASSUME NO LIABILITY FOR ANY LOSS USERS MIGHT INCUR IN RELYING ON INFORMATION THAT MIGHT PROVE TO BE INCOMPLETE OR INACCURATE.
UN Audio Visual Library of International Law: Lecture Series
Open Access. Growing library of lectures by eminent scholars - grouped by subject area which you can select in the left hand column. The mini-lecture stream is decided to give you an overview of the topic as a whole.
It is worth clicking on Read More for Related Materials
more...less...
Official website maintained by UN's Legal Office.