This guide is intended for students and researchers studying commercial arbitration at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for commercial arbitration, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.
Databases for English and Welsh arbitration and dispute resolution studies
Both Lexis +UK and Westlaw Edge UK will provide holders of an Oxford SSO with relevant primary sources (legislation & case law) and some commentary, in the form of journal articles and some practitioners' texts as well .For example Westlaw's books include the current edition of Redfern and Hunter Law and Practice of International Commercial Arbitration
For cold start English legal research, the English legal encyclopedia Halsbury's Laws of England (commonly called Halsbury's) is available to holders of an Oxford SSO via LexisLibrary.
Ebooks
In addition to the practitioners' texts available via the databases above, SOLO searches will help you find a large number of books on this topic from student textbooks to advanced research monographs. Some of these will also be available in print, again SOLO will tell you where.
Arbitration: a Very Short Introduction by 
International Arbitration: Law and Practice by 
Arbitration under International Investment Agreements by 
The Oxford Handbook of International Arbitration by 
Rethinking Investment Law : Perspectives & Prospects by Resources on the free web
Print collection in the Law Bod.
Chapters on the resolution of commercial disputes will often be included in general works on commercial law. Use a subject search Commercial law + the name of the jurisdiction that you are interested in.
You can browse works on English commercial law at the shelfmark KN250 on Level 2.
Monographs on international commercial arbitration are in other parts of the LawBod, in particular
Please ask a member of staff for directions when you visit the Law Bod.
Below are some examples of titles on open shelf on Level 3
An Introduction to International Investment Law by 
International Investment Law and Arbitration by Initial subject search terms to try in SOLO
International commercial arbitration
Arbitration agreements, Commercial
Arbitration and award +/- name of jurisdiction eg Arbitration and award England
Arbitration (International law)
Arbitration and award, International
Arbitration agreements, Commercial
Conflict of laws - Arbitration and award
Dispute resolution law
The books below are examples of titles available both in print and online ( for holders of an Oxford SSO)
The Oxford Handbook of International Adjudication by 
The Oxford Handbook of International Investment Law by Adjacent to the Bodleian Law Library, is the Bodleian Social Science Library. Researchers may find that it holds useful material in related disciplines such as economics.
