Skip to Main Content

Arbitration: BITs

Subjects: Law, Law: Arbitration

Bilateral Investment Treaties (BITS)

Finding the treaty text
Commentary on investment treaties

Kluwer Arbitration

Alternative names: KLI Arbitration ; Kluwer Arbitration ; Kluwer Arbitration Practice Plus

Resources on commercial international arbitration including: conventions, legislation, rules, bilateral investment treaties, case law, journal articles and commentary.
The Bodleian Libraries’ subscription to Kluwer Arbitration now includes the Practice Plus add on. This provides access to practice notes and answers; allows comparison of different jurisdictions; and provides information on arbitrators.

Electronic Database of Investment Treaties (EDIT)
Open access. FIlters in left hand column

more... less...

The Electronic Database of Investment Treaties (EDIT) is a new comprehensive full text database of international investment agreements (IIAs). Its goal is to facilitate informed public discourse, evidence-based reform, and academic study of the international investment regime by providing unprecedented access to the most extensive set of IIA texts to date.

As a fully machine-readable database, EDIT allows for efficient search through all IIAs, including through pre-defined content categories. All texts have been standardized and are now available in one single language (English) and format (XML). In addition, EDIT embraces a Wiki model whereby users can correct and help improve the data.

Read more...
Investment Policy Hub: International Investment Agreements Navigator
Free resource. Search UNCTAD's database of Bilateral Investment Treaties (BITs) and Treaties with Investment Provisions (TIPs)
Model BITs via Investment Treaty Arbitration (ITA)
Open Access

more... less...

Editor in Chief Professor Andrew Newcombe
Professor Andrew Newcombe is Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

The Law of Investment Treaties by Jeswald W. Salacuse
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.

ISBN: 9780198850953

Publication Date: 3rd edn, 2021
Treaty Interpretation in Investment Arbitration by J. Romesh Weeramantry
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link

ISBN: 9780199641475

Publication Date: 2012

Print copy available a t Internat 590 W398.5a
Commentaries on Selected Model Investment Treaties by Chester Brown; Devashish Krishan
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link

ISBN: 0199645191

Publication Date: 2013

Print copy at Internat 590 B877.4a

Investment Treaty Forum (ITF) (British Institute of International and Comparative Law)
Offers collection of its publications as open access downloads.
Please note: neither Oxford nor the Bodleian is a member

more... less...

The Investment Treaty Forum (ITF) was founded in 2004 to serve as a global centre for serious high-level debate in the field of international investment law.

The Forum is a membership-based group, bringing together some of the most expert and experienced lawyers, business managers, policy advisers, academics and government officials working in the field. Like BIICL itself, the Forum has a reputation for independence, even-handedness and academic rigour. The Forum membership is by invitation only.

The Forum members regularly meet within the framework of larger conferences and also smaller events hosted by members. Members also conduct research projects and take part in BIICL's training initiatives and other activities.

Guidance on particular topics

Various aspects of commerical arbitration are considered on other pages on this guide: content includes guidance on books in our collection.

National arbitral bodies
ICC. ICCA, ICSID, WIPO
Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA)
A page in our guide on public international courts
International Invesment Law
A page in this guide
Sport
A page in this guide
World trade (GATT, WTO,UNCITRAL,UNCTAD)
A page in this guide

Last Updated: Aug 18, 2025 5:24 PM
URL: https://libguides.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/law-arb
Print Page

Subjects: Law, Law: Arbitration

Tags: electronic legal resources, legal resources

Website feedback

Accessibility Statement - https://visit.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/accessibility

Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

© Bodleian Libraries 2021. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence