Hertford Library is currently offering remote services while the library is inaccessible.
One-to-one support is available:
We're buying access to new ebooks on request and, in some cases, can buy print books and have them delivered directly to you. We may also be able to arrange a scan of a specific chapter and postal loans of books from the Library. You can request these services using our online request form.
If you have a reading list for the coming term please share it with us. We'd love to know what you need so we can help you get it! Please send any lists to library@hertford.ox.ac.uk.
The principal legal databases for those studying or researching English law at Oxford are available via the links below. Note: For licensing reasons all require an Oxford SSO so are not available to visiting readers.
To discover the full range of subscription databases for law available to holders of an Oxford SSO, together with some reliable, freely accessible online resources, please explore the Law Bod's collection of online guides via the tabs at the top of this guide, or use the links below
The entire collection in the Law Bod is reference only: we do not lend; no one may borrow!
The vast majority of our collection is immediately available on open shelves which readers are welcome to browse. The collection is on 4 floors - all accessible by either stairs or the lift. Please do ask a member of staff for more specific directions around the collection once you are in the library!
Looking for a Reading List title?
If the result in SOLO describes at as being Reserve Collection please ask for this book at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please bring your University Card or Bodleian Reader's Card with you as these high demand titles are issued to you for reading in the library. You may keep them for the rest of that day's opening hours. When you have finished with them please return them to the Enquiry Desk.
If any of the Law Library's materials you wish to read has (locked) at the end of its shelf mark, please ask for assistance at the Enquiry Desk or email bll-enquiries@maillist.ox.ac.uk in advance of your visit.
The Bodleian guides below should help you make efficient use of SOLO - and understand a distinctive feature of reading in a Legal Deposit library: electronic (or non-print) legal deposit materials.
Considering Studying Law?
Ebooks are being bought and added to SOLO daily.
To search exclusively for ebooks that are available to access from home, see our guide on limiting searches to accessible ebooks.
University members also have access to some other ebook sources that are not included in SOLO, details of these are listed below.
You can request new ebooks for purchase by filling in the books request form for the Bodleian Law Library or contacting Hertford Library on library@hertford.ox.ac.uk.
Th
e Internet Archive has freely available online books that are out of copyright. This means older editions of literary texts are often available there.
The Internet Archive has also made a number of 20th century academic books available to borrow through their Lending Library. To use this service you need to set up a free user account. These books are still in copyright so the authors may request that they are removed from the website. If you find a useful resources in the Lending Library then use them quickly and take very detailed notes - you might not be able to access them again in a few weeks.
You can still request books for purchase (as ebooks or in print) using your Mayer Brown Law Textbook Fund. Email library@hertford.ox.ac.uk to make a request or check how much money you have left in your allowance. The Fund is available to all Law BA, BCL and MJur students at Hertford.
